Community discussions

 
nhalachev
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:02 pm

I have one RB433 running 3.30 and i try to upgrade to v4.

1. Update the Bootloader if using a RouterBOARD
Done

2. If already running RouterOS v3.25 or newer, Update your RouterOS license
I have tried, but without success before and after actual ROS upgrade.
"Update license keys" fail with following message:
"failed: key for specified software ID not found"

3. If you will use Netinstall for installation, make sure you have the latest version of Netinstall
I use combined package to upgrade.

After upgrade i get a message saying "Licence valid for 72 hours, please upgrade" and when i click on the 'upgrade licence' button, i get:

Licence updating: failed: key for specified software ID not found

I'have e-mail support@mikrotik.com with attached supout.rif file from upgraded ROS v4. I have open ticket [Ticket#2009101366000602] but no answer from support yet.

..
Nachko Halachev
Last edited by nhalachev on Thu Oct 15, 2009 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Thu Oct 15, 2009 4:43 pm

It's not just me then. I don't know whether that's a relief or not.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
nhalachev
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:45 pm

I'have e-mail support@mikrotik.com with attached supout.rif file from upgraded ROS v4. I have open ticket [Ticket#2009101366000602] but no answer from support yet.
Well, can anyone from mikrotik support help me ?
 
nhalachev
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sat Oct 17, 2009 12:59 pm

Well, i successfully downgrade to ROS v3.30 (everything about licensing OK), then tried upgrade to new 4.1, still no luck:

After upgrade i get a message saying "License valid for 72 hours, please upgrade" and when i click on the 'upgrade license' button, i get:

License updating: failed: key for specified software ID not found

And still no answer from support !
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:54 pm

have you tried to upgrade the license in 3.30?

have you tried 'Request key' option to request your old key to your account at mikrotik.com?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sat Oct 17, 2009 5:07 pm

Just curious. Have you tried a newer Winbox program?

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
nhalachev
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:15 pm

have you tried to upgrade the license in 3.30?
Yes. But "Update license keys" fail with following message:
"failed: key for specified software ID not found"
have you tried 'Request key' option to request your old key to your account at mikrotik.com?
Yes. Key not found!
 
nhalachev
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sat Oct 17, 2009 6:33 pm

Just curious. Have you tried a newer Winbox program?
Yes. Still no go:

"License updating: failed: key for specified software ID not found"
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:20 pm

hmmm... when have you bought your RB?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sun Oct 18, 2009 11:00 pm

I had exactly this problem. In my case, the guys at MT were kind enough to furnish a new (correct) key.

They seemed to think that the router had a different SoftID to the one it was displaying in the licence mananager so somewhere, something is changing the SoftID and causing problems.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:30 am

NAB, your problem was that you actually had pushed the button "Update License" way back in June, when we only added this button to RouterOS. At that time, there were still some issues with the new SoftID generation, so - after you upgraded from v3.24 to a newer version, the SoftID changed and stayed this way until you upgraded to v4. Only now you noticed this.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
nhalachev
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:39 am

hmmm... when have you bought your RB?..
Actually, this RB is from Mikrotik ROS training from Prague 2009.
 
nhalachev
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:43 am

Normis, what about my problem ?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:44 am

that's funny - gift RBs are not in the database? )))
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:48 am

forum can't help you with MT database issues. email sales @mikrotik .com
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
abu
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 7:40 pm

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Thu Oct 22, 2009 7:56 pm

Here is my experience with RB133C SW ID issue: Every nand format process over terminal always cause changing "new" 9 digit Software ID (XXXX-XXXX). When you install old versions of RouterOS, like 2.9.51 or 3.13, problem doesnt appear, because these versions work with former 8 digit SW IDs (XXXX-XXX). So you need to Update SW ID only when you install new ones like 3.30 or 4.1. Then you have to access (after click update license via Winbox) your new licence hash for new 9 digit SW ID in you account at mikrotik.com. From now NEVER USE "format nand" over serial terminal, because this procedure change your 9 digit SW ID and there is only one chance to "upgrade" licence from the old one to new type of SW ID! Every further "format nand" procedure always causes changing 9 digit SW ID!
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:46 am

why would you even try to Format NAND? You should never use it, unless instructed by MT Support. It's documented that Format destroys the license.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:29 am

NAB, your problem was that you actually had pushed the button "Update License" way back in June, when we only added this button to RouterOS.
So I shouldn't have done that?
At that time, there were still some issues with the new SoftID generation, so - after you upgraded from v3.24 to a newer version, the SoftID changed and stayed this way until you upgraded to v4. Only now you noticed this.
What was there to notice? As far as I was concerned, the licence upgrade had worked - certainly the RB was working properly with all the features enabled. How on earth was I to know that something was wrong. What, exactly, should I have noticed?

Am I right in understanding that it was your code which caused the problem? If so, I can only wonder why you think that I should have noticed something.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:34 am

You don't understand :) I don't blame you. I said - back then, there was a bug in SoftID generator. It was then fixed, so your SoftID changed AFTER you already had upgraded the license.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:44 am

OK. Thank you. Your apology is accepted.

I must admit that I was rather upset that MT's support policy on the matter seemed to be to prove that I was at fault rather than to try and diagnose the problem. The fact that you only recently mention the SoftID has, I am afraid to say, reinforced that opinion.

However, I am glad you have managed to find and fix the bug.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:46 am

Didn't you get this same text in your suppot ticket a while ago? It seems you either missed our email, or our email didn't get delivered.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:02 am

The last response I received said
"we will try to figure it out."
I have checked our mail server log and can confirm that we haven't received anything further :-(
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:04 am

The last response I received said
"we will try to figure it out."
I have checked our mail server log and can confirm that we haven't received anything further :-(
Sorry for that, I will see why. At least you got it here
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2285
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Oct 26, 2009 12:14 pm

When released version 3.32 which was seen on the demo? Or is the latest version 3.30? Thanks
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Oct 26, 2009 12:21 pm

When released version 3.32 which was seen on the demo? Or is the latest version 3.30? Thanks
v3.30 is the latest one
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ttaiw
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:48 pm

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:34 pm

I found same this problem in my rb1000.
now I downgrade to version 3.30 via netinstall
it working fine in version 3.30 but cannot upgrade license.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sat Nov 14, 2009 10:22 pm

but cannot upgrade license.
and what does it say?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
ttaiw
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 5:48 pm

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:03 am

my step.
I'm update my rb1000 from version 3.3 to 4.2
after reboot it show "ROUTER NEEDS A NEW LICENSE"
I connect my rb1000 with winbox
and click update license
it show error message
"failed: key for specified software ID not found!"
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Sun Nov 15, 2009 5:02 pm

try to request/import your current key in your account: https://www.mikrotik.com/client/index.php
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:05 am

VERY IMPORTANT:

Make sure your Winbox PC (not the router) is connected to the internet, no antivirus/firewall is running on it, and that you don't have any Proxy or Hotspot for internet usage, so that Winbox can connect to the mikrotik.com server and get your key.

If it says "Key not found" you have to send your Supout.rif file to support and they will tell you why the upgrade failed. This is a special case, mostly found in RouterBOARDs that were sold to somebody, who provided an invalid or non existing mikrotik.com username.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:01 am

Normis, isn't it possible to simply export a key in your Ecom account?

https://www.mikrotik.com/client/index.p ... quest_keys
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Nov 16, 2009 11:02 am

yes, but it's not possible to upgrade your key there. I didn't get your point ? :?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Nov 16, 2009 1:36 pm

'key not found' means, there's no old soft-id on the server, right? after you export it manually, you can upgrade it via winbox =) no?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:01 pm

no, if "key not found" it means that it is not found on "ANY" account :)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:33 pm

so, 'export' can only copy a key from another account?.. you cannot export new key?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24134
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:08 pm

Yes, the "Request key" link searches all the key DB for the given SoftID. If it finds it, it puts it in your account. If the key is not in the DB, some problem probably happened during this RB installation, and we need Supout.rif file and Serial Number to find it.

Just because this key is inside the RB doesn't mean we have it in the key DB
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
preacherx
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:05 am

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Wed Mar 10, 2010 8:24 pm

Gentlemen,

I recently had this issue with a RB433 that I received at the MUM/Training. What I determined was the problem, was that I had never input my key to my account. After logging into ecom I requested my 1 prapaid key. This was provided with my training package. Once this was requested with my RB433's softID, I was able to click upgrade in winbox.
 
User avatar
mikrostart
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2013 10:31 am

Re: Licence updating failed after upgrade ROS 3.30 to ROS v4

Mon Sep 02, 2013 10:00 pm

ok another one "bites the dust" :)

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=44230

issues with updating old installations are still a threat form many users.
my problem is even smaller than this: I have updated the key I got a messaghe "done" but the router board' OS can't "understand" it :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests