Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
meverest
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Geelong, Australia
Contact:

DHCP *AND* static address on the same interface?

Wed Jul 13, 2005 4:35 am

Hello everyone,

Just wondering if it is possible to have a dhcp assigned ip address *and* a static ip address on the same (ethernet) interface?

Thanks in advance, Mike.
 
pedja
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 5:37 am

Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:49 pm

Sure it is.
 
User avatar
meverest
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Geelong, Australia
Contact:

Thu Jul 14, 2005 2:41 am

[quote="pedja"]Sure it is.[/quote]

;-) thanks for that response. I am sure it is correct, but I guess I should have worded my original question a little differently:

"How can I set up an interface so that it receives a DHCP address AND allow me to assign a static address as well."

Regards, Mike.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3820
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Thu Jul 14, 2005 3:08 am

Setup the DHCP client to pull down its address as usual. Then go into /ip address add and put whatever static ip you wish. They can both co-exist, you'll simply see a 'D' next to the ip entry that came in dynamically. If you need you can setup the static with a /32.

Sam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AdooMTB, didis81, Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], mkx and 102 guests