Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
uwe_guenther
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:41 pm

Web Proxy sends wrong HTTP Version number to the WebServer

Mon Jul 12, 2004 10:22 pm

Hello at forum.mikrotik.com,

I use Mikrotik 2.8.11 with transparent web proxy. Some costumers have problems with some webshops (e.g. neckerman.de). So I disable the transparent web proxy for this costumers.

Further I did some investigetion and I figured the following out:

If the WebBrowser did the Following Request:

GET / HTTP/1.1
Accept: text/*
Host: http://www.abcdefg.de


The WebServer sees:

GET / HTTP/1.0
Accept: text/*
Cache-Control: max-age=259200
Connection: keep-alive
Host: http://www.abcdefg.de
Via: 1.1 my.proxy.net:3128 (squid/2.5.STABLE4)
X-Forwarded-For: 10.0.0.2



Can some one explain me why web proxy changes the HTTP Version from 1.1 to 1.0? Is this a BUG or a Feature?

--
Best Regards Uwe
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24361
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:44 am

This is because the Mikrotik Webproxy uses squid.

Squid is HTTP 1.0 compliant, but understands most HTTP 1.1 headers for
cache control. And HTTP version number is peer-to-peer dependent and not end-to-end.
 
Bill
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:24 pm
Location: Nevada

Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:45 pm

Are they using Internet Explorer? Under the Advanced Tab for Internet Options is a check box to use HTTP 1.1 with web proxies. It is about half way down the list. Check that and see if it helps any.
 
uwe_guenther
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:41 pm

Tue Jul 13, 2004 8:21 pm

Hello Bill,

the Browser doesn't know about the proxy. I use the transparent proxy feature with dst-nat rule. Say the MT Router will redirect all Port 80 requests to the internal web proxy of the MT Router. So you doesn't have to setup the browser for a proxy usage.

--
Thanks Uwe
 
uwe_guenther
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:41 pm

Tue Jul 13, 2004 8:23 pm

Hello Normis,

I am right in reading your answer, that Squid doesnt support HTTP/1.1?

--
Thanks Uwe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chris72, CZFan, Google [Bot], Kombat1978, mkrz, MSN [Bot] and 109 guests