Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
olmi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:58 pm

4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:23 pm

I use the processor with 4 kernels, at loading in 300 pptp sessions loading CPU of 25 percent, at 500-600 sessions loading CPU same. Why MT uses only one kernel!!!!! When it will be corrected to work not probably!!!

[admin@VPN2] > system resource print
uptime: 23h8m56s
version: "3.30"
free-memory: 982700kB
total-memory: 1026540kB
cpu: "Intel(R)"
cpu-count: 4
cpu-frequency: 2996MHz
cpu-load: 24
free-hdd-space: 920228kB
total-hdd-space: 974264kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 63490
write-sect-total: 63490
architecture-name: "x86"
board-name: "x86"

It seems to me it is time to make a label, Mikrotik for house use or for smal\home office.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:29 pm

One process can use only one core, if you will run many things in paralel, they will be split to other cores
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:32 pm

Official word form MT is they are working on this but may not see till v5

If you turn off change mms this will help.

I have 3ghz single core and max cpu each night with 1100 pptp tunnels
Duel core was worse because only use 1 core for pptp


:-)
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:34 pm

would pppoe server run on different core to pptp?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24317
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:35 pm

they both use ppp, so it will be one core.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
olmi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:47 pm

When there is 5 version? it is impossible to work!
 
ayufan
Member
Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:56 pm

olmi:
You can try using "virtual load balancing". Use kvm to create four virtual RouterOS machines where each terminates your tunnels. Then create firewall nat rule which will load balance connections between virtual machines. That way You will be able to use all four cores because each core will run separate RouterOS instance. Overhead of using virtualization shouldn't be that large.

ayufan
hAP AC, TP-Link Archer C7 v2, RB951G, RB450G, RPI2, RPI zero
 
ayufan
Member
Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:03 pm

One process can use only one core
one process can use many cores with many threads, but one thread can use only one
hAP AC, TP-Link Archer C7 v2, RB951G, RB450G, RPI2, RPI zero
 
olmi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:09 pm

Excellent way out, start of the virtual machine ! Can attach still the fan to Mikrotik let flies?
 
aban222
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:23 pm

I have to agree about the propeller unfortunately...

Virtualization is a great option, but can I avoid the freezes that I was seeing once the
load goes over 500 people (versions 3.23 up to 4.4). Sending a bunch of files to support
produced no results. They suggested to install a debug package, which wasn't quite what we wanted.
It's difficult to blame the hardware because we've tried about five different systems with
different configurations from Xeon on Supermicro to P4 with 3GB on asus.

As for the processor load on one of the cores,
we have a system (Quad Core ~ 2.8) with a good example:

It's running NAT, ~40 queue tree items. The traffic is ~220-250 Mbit/s, over 50 kpps.
As soon as we hit the performance limit of one core we get a drop in traffic on this router.
I'm not even talking about quality of service or high speeds in clients' tests.

How can this situation be resolved without switching to another platform?

When can we expect version 5 to come out?

is your software not meant for high loads? many have paid extra money to keep working on your platform!

P.S. we are using licenced copies of version 5
 
aban222
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 2:26 pm

Dear colleagues, if you have had similar issues in the past - please share your experience.
 
olmi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:23 pm

up
 
olmi
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: 4 kernels, and work only one!!!

Wed May 19, 2010 5:16 am

If it is started a little pppoe servers on different VLAN is will be considered as different processes?? And whether it will be scattered processes on kernels?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 89 guests