Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
LinuxLoader
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:42 pm

Performnce

Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:27 pm

What is the maximum traffic that someone puts true router with MT for PPPoE with rate-limit from radius


not RB , when using x86 based PC.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Performnce

Thu Jan 28, 2010 5:09 pm

RouterBOARD 1000 can provide you with extremely high traffic,
http://www.routerboard.com/pdf/routerbo ... _tests.pdf
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8390
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Performnce

Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:29 pm

What is the maximum traffic that someone puts true router with MT for PPPoE with rate-limit from radius


not RB , when using x86 based PC.
it depends on active session count. if you have hundreds of dynamic simple queues, performance will degrade
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
LinuxLoader
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:42 pm

Re: Performnce

Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:11 pm

Maximum count will be 1000+ current is about 400-500 active sessions traffic is ~500mb max with speed per PPPoE subscriber 12/36/48mb is the speed from the radius server that is set , i stopped the multi-cpu and got much more high cpu load 80-90% load but latency is fine , with multi cpu i got loss and high latency.
 
User avatar
warach
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Performnce

Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:55 pm

Maximum count will be 1000+ current is about 400-500 active sessions traffic is ~500mb max with speed per PPPoE subscriber 12/36/48mb is the speed from the radius server that is set , i stopped the multi-cpu and got much more high cpu load 80-90% load but latency is fine , with multi cpu i got loss and high latency.
Hi,
Why multi CPU make problem? I think multi core should be better than single core.
What's wrong?

How can you stop multi core cpu and run only single core?

Please advise,
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8390
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Performnce

Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:39 pm

How can you stop multi core cpu and run only single core?
/system hardware set multi-cpu=no
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
LinuxLoader
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:42 pm

Re: Performnce

Mon Feb 01, 2010 6:03 pm

I did some other tests , everything is fine , until pppoe session reaches ~500 active sessions with
xeon 1,6 ( 5030 think was the model ) and MB some Supermicro with 2G ram traffic is max 300mb , until session coun tis ~400 is fine but if it reaches more , all goes down , high latency and lot of loss.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cbpapi and 89 guests