Community discussions

 
sojicmk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 4:32 pm

Nubmer of pppoe users

Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:10 pm

Xeon, Quad core, 2.4 GHz - 1000 pppoe users, using around 100mbps - CPU usage around 60%

I think that maxiumum will be around 1500 pppoe users on this configuration.

Can we "tune" this and increase number of users (or decrease cpu ussage)?

I need 5000 users (in the moment) using around 3gbps? What kind of configuration I need?
 
sojicmk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 4:32 pm

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:59 pm

Any response?
 
netrat
Member
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:05 pm

Are you using any queue or firewall mangle rules?
 
sojicmk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 4:32 pm

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:49 pm

Yes, Radius server response to mikrotik for rate limit.

There is speed limitations and trafic measuring for each pppoe user.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:08 am

dynamic simple queues are evil. on the setup like your switching to static PCQ queues (using dynamic address lists) gains about 1.5-2 times liwer CPU usage

p.s. do you have multi-cpu=yes?.. 60% for 4 cores is high enough :)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
sojicmk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 4:32 pm

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Tue Mar 02, 2010 9:30 pm

Is there 64 bit version of Mikrotik? I have Xeon, Quad core, 2.4 GHz and CPU usage is about 60%. Also there is 4 x 1Gbit lan, and users can not use them more then 100MBit.

As I say... there is about 1000 active pppoe users.

Can somebody help me to improve the speed?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:38 am

there won't be x64 version of RouterOS in near future. because RouterBOARDS don't support x64 :)

p.s. why don't you answer my questions? :(
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:36 am

There is a lot more too just sticking a 4 port NIC card in a PC to get actual throughputs. I have lots of customers call asking why their 4 port NIC in this nice Quad Core system don't give more then 40-50 meg throughput. There is buss limitations, there are irqs and interrupts etc. Making a system that can even move close to a GigE takes more than 300 bucks worth of PC hardware.

As far as PPPoE Users, some of our small boxes we have seen upwards of 300 meg with 2600 PPPoE sessions with properly tuned systems. That is on our low end unit with only a dual core P4 in it! We also have seen 5k users on some of our larger boxes, though these systems were moving a bit over 200 meg on their 20 GigE ports.

I would suggest that you use supported and tested hardware. If the RouterBoard can not handle what you are doing, hit up the Made for MikroTik program. I'm sure you can find something that you can pull out of the box, and power on! Thats what we do.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
sojicmk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 4:32 pm

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Fri Mar 05, 2010 5:56 pm

Chupaka

Sorry, what is your question?
 
sojicmk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 4:32 pm

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:00 pm

gmsmstr: where we can buy this hardware?
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:10 pm

You can see our site at http://www.mikrotikrouter.com. We have thousands of installations all over the world doing everything from PPPoE servers, to BGP, and web caching. All based on RouterOS. Several distributors in the US, Europe, and Africa can assist getting your units.

Fiber Interfaces are supported as well as Caching drives. We can go from 7 Copper GigEs and 2 Fibers to up to 20 Fiber and 2 Copper if necessary!
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Fri Mar 05, 2010 6:20 pm

do you have multi-cpu=yes?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
sojicmk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 4:32 pm

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:53 pm

Where can I set multi-cpu=yes?

In System->resources there is CPU Count = 4
 
sojicmk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 4:32 pm

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:05 pm

Yes, I just set ./system hardware set multi-cpu=yes... still same.

Should I restart the server?
 
sojicmk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 4:32 pm

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:22 pm

By the way... the server is HP Prolian ML 110G5
 
User avatar
exe
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:47 am

gmsmstr,

From your screenshots on your website I see that you have 8 cores enabled in ROS.

How that can work correctly and stable when there are problems when multi-cpu=yes ?

That can work when you test bandwidth: ) but for stable work there will be only problems right now.

You say properly tuned, hmm what is there to tune?

Can you attach some screenshots with 8 cores and uptime with more than 10 days with constant 500Mbit/sec of traffic through that router of your ?
Serbian Mikrotik Distributor - exeshop.rs
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:16 pm

Don't know what you mean by problems with current SMP support. Its not perfect, but with properly designed hardware you should not have any issues with multi-core.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:58 pm

stability depends on used functionality. for example:
Clipboard01.gif
average traffic per day is ~600 Mbps
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
exe
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 83
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Mon Mar 15, 2010 11:44 pm

Chupaka,

What is purpose of this router, bgp, pppoe or ?
Serbian Mikrotik Distributor - exeshop.rs
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:04 am

just a router, with ospf and firewalling =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
omidkosari
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 4:18 pm
Location: Iran , Karaj
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:21 am

it is not so busy :D
 
User avatar
nickb
Member
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Southeast Kansas
Contact:

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Thu Mar 18, 2010 1:11 am

dynamic simple queues are evil. on the setup like your switching to static PCQ queues (using dynamic address lists) gains about 1.5-2 times liwer CPU usage

p.s. do you have multi-cpu=yes?.. 60% for 4 cores is high enough :)
This man speaks truth. I have migrated my systems from dynamic simple queues to PCQ queue trees with dynamic address lists. It results in a much more fair distribution of bandwidth between users, and significantly lower CPU usage on the system.
 
820
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:23 pm

Re: Nubmer of pppoe users

Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:29 pm

Message for "sojicmk" - did you find a solution to your problem as my company are looking for a hardware platform that can support 5,000 PPPOE users (using 1 device if possible). Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 45 guests