Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Multiple PPPoe clients behind one Client Radio

Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:35 pm

I have 1 client radio on an office building with multiple customers.

I have the radio plugged into a hub then from the hub it goes to each customers router and the routers are using PPPoe to auth.
This was working fine when I had only 1 customer using pppoe and 1 using hotspot to login, I added a 3rd customer and they will use pppoe. But now the ones using pppoe keep lossing there connection. 1 may work for a few hours and the other for a few minutes and they keep reconnecting.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Steve
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Tue Aug 02, 2005 1:48 am

yeah, what kind of bridging is involved with the station/client?

see, if it does any kind of mac address masquerading/nat then it wont work. period. this is the client and protocol limitation, not routeros limitation.
you would need to use layer 2 bridging which in routeros context often means wds.

understand thy protocols.
 
UniKyrn
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 9:27 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Tue Aug 02, 2005 5:22 pm

Did you happen to turn on the "One Session per Host" setting on the PPPoE server?
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Tue Aug 02, 2005 5:31 pm

No I did not turn that on. And I double checked to make sure it was not on.

Thanks
 
UniKyrn
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 9:27 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Tue Aug 02, 2005 5:50 pm

Did you catch the place in the PPP profile labled "Only One" also? I'm not sure what that's doing, but it might also limit you to one pppoe session per mac address. We run with one session limit turned on and your description matches what we see pretty closely.
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Tue Aug 02, 2005 5:54 pm

"only one" is not checked. however what is "Change TCP MSS"

Thanks
 
UniKyrn
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 9:27 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Tue Aug 02, 2005 6:12 pm

Max Segment Size. A normal Ethernet Frame is 1500 bytes, but with the PPPoE header added, you have to change that to 1492. That option quietly turns on a mangling rule to modify TCP headers to adjust the MSS on connections as they are created.
 
tiagom
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:48 pm
Location: Ariquemes - Rondonia - Brasil
Contact:

Wed Aug 03, 2005 4:16 am

For customers who use plates wireless as customer of a server mikrotik in pppoe. which the best configuration for MTU and MRU, and also which is the best configuration of TCP MSS? I have many you doubt on this. If they will be able to help, I am thankful me.
Tiago Matias
Wireless - Mundo sem Volta.
 
ofasa
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:42 pm

Re: Multiple PPPoe clients behind one Client Radio

Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:00 pm

I have 1 client radio on an office building with multiple customers.

I have the radio plugged into a hub then from the hub it goes to each customers router and the routers are using PPPoe to auth.
This was working fine when I had only 1 customer using pppoe and 1 using hotspot to login, I added a 3rd customer and they will use pppoe. But now the ones using pppoe keep lossing there connection. 1 may work for a few hours and the other for a few minutes and they keep reconnecting.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Steve
What are you using as the CPE? If it's Mikrotik, I think you could solve this by using EOIP tunneling between the CPE and the NAS.
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Thu Aug 04, 2005 12:28 am

CB3 Seno board
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:05 am

It is the CB3's fault that it doesnt work with more than one person. You need to perform true l2 bridging to permit more people. CB3 doesnt know how to handle that second session of PPPoE traffic coming from the NAS. Who should it forward it to? Remember the CB3 does "mac nat" (translates outgoing packets over the radio to the radio mac address).
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:06 pm

What client radio would work for this?
 
sdrenner
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:03 pm
Contact:

Thu Aug 04, 2005 4:48 pm

How would I set this up on both the AP and Client?

Does the AP need to be running WDS?
If so does this affect the other clients out there?
 
User avatar
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:37 am

How would I set this up on both the AP and Client?

Does the AP need to be running WDS?
If so does this affect the other clients out there?
AP and client? Refer to documentation.
AP needs to run WDS yes.
No, it does not affect the other clients (unless you misconfigure it).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 77 guests