Community discussions

 
User avatar
eben
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:37 pm
Location: Somerset West, South Africa
Contact:

Connecting a routerboard to a UPS

Wed Mar 17, 2010 9:53 pm

Hi Guys,

Imagine if you will, the following scenario.

RB433AH connected to an APC UPS,
Ether 1 - Ether 6 on the RB433AH are all connected to RB411Rs that are in integrated enclosures - making up a rather large access point.
All 7 routerboards are powered via the UPS.

What I'd like is for the RB433AH to get a signal from the UPS if there are power problems and to then let the other RBs know about it and when the time comes, they all shut down if the UPS reaches the end of it's run.

How can I do this?

Thanks in advance
Eben
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: Connecting a routerboard to a UPS

Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:00 am

Hello Eben.

Interesting question. It seems like a nice setup, but why do you need the shutdown?? Even if the power gets disconnected abnormally the config of the APs is OK when the power is restored..

Maybe this setup you are asking can be done with scripting, but i don't see the point of it..
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: Connecting a routerboard to a UPS

Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:21 am

Why not keep it simple: on RB493AH script turns on/off firewall rule blocking icmp (script could also disable/enable interface etc) depending on ups state. Script on each RB411 pings RB493AH - if unreachable x number of times (or interface off) - script shuts off the board.
 
User avatar
matrot2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 12:34 pm

Re: Connecting a routerboard to a UPS

Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:43 pm

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 119 guests