Community discussions

 
User avatar
ViREnG
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Yekaterinburg

Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Fri Apr 09, 2010 8:56 am

Hi Friends
i have a radio , i think That's need Power too , i Connect That with a "50V" PoE.
That's :
1x RB600 with a Daughter-board
4x XR2 MiniPCI
4x XR5 MiniPCI
i'm Using 45 Meters Network Cable with Power on that

in Past is Work Successfully , Like 6~7 Month.

what's This Need Power !!?

Log Image :
Image
1~2 min , 10~18 min or 25~30 min work , will Get Shutdown and Rebooted , Showed on Log !
Updated the RouterOS from 3.28 to 4.6 but , The Problem No Fixed!
Where's Problem ?
Check all That's , Network Cables , PoE , Disable all wlans and Other :?
Anyone Know ??
Last edited by ViREnG on Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:36 pm, edited 6 times in total.
 
User avatar
ViREnG
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Yekaterinburg

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Fri Apr 09, 2010 1:06 pm

#Dump
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Fri Apr 09, 2010 7:28 pm

do not belive those boards will support the number of high-power radio cards you are using.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
User avatar
ViREnG
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Yekaterinburg

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Fri Apr 09, 2010 7:48 pm

~Anyone Know ? :?
 
User avatar
siscom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:37 pm
Location: Malta, EU.
Contact:

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Fri Apr 09, 2010 9:09 pm

Hi,

Can you set ROS to make an auto supout file (System/Watchdog)?

This might help out with some diagnostic but my gut feeling is that you have a combination of power/heat problems if this is in an outdoor enclosure.

Rgds,
Mark.
 
User avatar
ViREnG
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Yekaterinburg

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:10 pm

hm... Think Problem is not for Heat , i'm Using it in Cold Weather Now , But Problem is Too :?:
it's My the RB600 WathDog :
Image
but what's Changing ?
 
User avatar
siscom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:37 pm
Location: Malta, EU.
Contact:

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:35 am

Hi,

That should give you a supout file which you can then view via the Mikrotik site when your unit goes down, maybe giving you better diagnostic info.

If it's not heat (although I would still not rule this out as sometimes you can be borderline there) then it's probably power.

Having -
4 x XR2 each at 1.2A = 4.8A
4 x XR5 each at 1.8A = 7.2A
1 x RB600 at ~9w

This is quite a power draw. If you are feeding this via PoE that might be your problem right there. You might check your power supply and see it's rating.

You might also try via the DC jack directly and see if it makes a difference.

Rgds,
Mark
 
lllxlllvijaylllxlll
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 3:32 pm

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:39 am

use high wats poe adaptor and change ur network cable Use Cat 6 otherwish u upgrade ur Borad bootloader and reinstall router Os
 
User avatar
ViREnG
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Yekaterinburg

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:36 pm

i'll Testing it with DC Jack & Shorter PoE Network Cable , i'm Questioned from one of My Friends , he Sad in This Solution you Must work with a 1 or 2 Meters PoE Network Cables & Power amps is Problem !

i'm using it about 8Month Using it with a PoE " 50V/1.0A".
in 2~3 Month of Started Service , The Signal's Nice work , but After That the Signals Going to Low !
and Now , That's Problem ... :?
Last edited by ViREnG on Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:45 pm

What type PoE injector are you using? The RB600A supports PoE over data lines. Are you using that type injector? If not, maybe you should. The "unused pairs" type use two of the 24ga CAT5 wires for power and two for ground. At that distance and power draw, it will cause a serious voltage drop.
 
User avatar
ViREnG
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Yekaterinburg

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:56 pm

What type PoE injector are you using? The RB600A supports PoE over data lines. Are you using that type injector? If not, maybe you should. The "unused pairs" type use two of the 24ga CAT5 wires for power and two for ground. At that distance and power draw, it will cause a serious voltage drop.
i'm using with "PoE 50V/1.0A" About 8Month ...!
But Now ...
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 4:07 pm

Ah......my bad. You mean NOW! So your network traffic has slowed over the last few months? Not mine. I had a single 85 watt solar panel on a unit that was fine last year. Ah, but NOW that is not enough. My radios are transmitting almost constantly with the additional traffic. That puts a much higher load on the power supply, especially with high power radios. NOW it takes two 135 watt panels to keep up. Whew! Good thing they are cheap. NOT!! :(
 
User avatar
ViREnG
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Yekaterinburg

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 6:08 pm

i Shorter the PoE Network Cable from 45 to 22 , but Problem is Too !!
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 6:23 pm

Is there any pattern at all to the failure? Time of day? Day of the week? Weather? Traffic peak?

With those radios, your power requirement will change radically as those radios start to transmit.
Having -
4 x XR2 each at 1.2A = 4.8A (add: 4.8A x 3.3v = 15.84w)
4 x XR5 each at 1.8A = 7.2A (add: 7.2A x 3.3v = 23.76w)
1 x RB600 at ~9w
This is transmitting. When idle, they don't use nearly that much. But note that the radios use over 38 watts if they are all transmitting.

ADD: I interpret the user guide for the RB600A as maximum power is 35W total and 25W to the extension cards. I see the '+' after the values in the user guide specs, but I don't think they meant 38 watts to the extension cards would be ok.
 
User avatar
ViREnG
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Yekaterinburg

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 7:01 pm

Well with this situation, how s my problem resolved?
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:04 pm

Well with this situation, how s my problem resolved?
In this situation, it isn't. Your extension cards still use more than 25 watts when transmitting. You must find a way to keep your radios at or under 25 watts (approx 7.5A@3.3v). The four XR5's use almost all that.
 
User avatar
ViREnG
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 217
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Yekaterinburg

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:29 pm

if , i'm Change The RouteBoard MiniPCI's , from :
1x RB600 with Daughter-board.
4x XR2 Mini PCI
4x XR5 Mini PCI
to :
1x Rb600 without Daughter-board.	 |
2x XR2 Mini PCI							|-> 19.8W for Cards
2x XR5 Mini PCI							|
and ...
1x RB433AH						        |
2x XR2 Mini PCI							|-> 13.9W for Cards
1x XR5 Mini PCI							|
i'm Removed one of My XR5 and Separate the Mini PCI's in Other Router
in This Work , Not Get Problem ?
Last edited by ViREnG on Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Power Need !!? System Cretical Error ~Shutdown.

Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:32 pm

That should be fine. Any four of those cards should be ok,

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 66 guests