Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
meverest
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Geelong, Australia
Contact:

flapping link or icmp problem of some kind

Thu Jul 15, 2004 12:32 pm

Hi folks,

My router has a strange problem, look at this ping from my workstation to router:

C:\Documents and Settings\mike>ping -t 192.168.1.126

Pinging 192.168.1.126 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time=699ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time=556ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time=414ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time=270ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time=128ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time=986ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time=841ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time=700ms TTL=64
Reply from 192.168.1.126: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

Ping statistics for 192.168.1.126:
Packets: Sent = 15, Received = 15, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 986ms, Average = 306ms
Control-C
^C
C:\Documents and Settings\mike>

this result is over ethernet, but I get exactly the same thing over wifi interface connection.

any suggestions how i might diagnose further or what i should be looking for?

thanks & regards, Mike.
 
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 920
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Re: flapping link or icmp problem of some kind

Sat Jul 17, 2004 12:57 am

Tell us what Hardware you have and your relevant config. Guess work is boring. ;)

_// Sten Daniel Sørsdal
 
User avatar
meverest
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Geelong, Australia
Contact:

Sat Jul 17, 2004 3:29 am

Yes, guesswork can be that way <ahm> :lol:

The hardware is ECS p6lx-a+ mainboard with PII 350. 3x PC-100 32M ram, one netgear wg311 and one rtl8029 generic brand ethernet.

the only other thing is some unidentified agp video adapter.

i haven't even started swapping out bits as i was kinda hoping someone might be able to give me a clue or 2. i haven't come across this sort of thing before, and i am (of course) quite unfamiliar with this router OS as it is my first eval copy.

thanks for the response!

regards,. Mike.
 
User avatar
meverest
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Geelong, Australia
Contact:

Sat Jul 17, 2004 4:12 am

hey,

what's really wierd, is that when i log on to the router terminal and ping back to the workstation, i get this:

Terminal vt102 detected, using multiline input mode
[admin@Hoth] > ping
address: 192.168.1.1
192.168.1.1 64 byte ping: ttl=128 time=2 ms
192.168.1.1 64 byte ping: ttl=128 time=2 ms
192.168.1.1 64 byte ping: ttl=128 time=2 ms
192.168.1.1 64 byte ping: ttl=128 time=2 ms
192.168.1.1 64 byte ping: ttl=128 time=2 ms
192.168.1.1 64 byte ping: ttl=128 time=2 ms
192.168.1.1 64 byte ping: ttl=128 time=2 ms
7 packets transmitted, 7 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 2/2.0/2 ms
[admin@Hoth] >

looks just fine from that end - now i'm completely confused! how can it be?

regards, Mike.
 
User avatar
meverest
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 3:27 pm
Location: Geelong, Australia
Contact:

Sat Jul 17, 2004 1:31 pm

OK!

I swapped out that netgear 54g card for an older 11b, and now it all works fine again.

I assume that there was some driver problem with that card - it loaded up as atheros, but i suppose it was no good.

cheers, Mike.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fposavec, gastonet, mohkhalifa and 93 guests