Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:53 pm

Hi,

I can't upgrade firmware/bootloader on my RB433AH. I tried all three methods described in Wiki article http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Bootloader_upgrade, but no success at all. ROS version is 4.7, but the same was with earlier versions. After 'upgrade' command everything looks good, but after reboot old version of firmware is still installed:

[admin@DITO] > /system routerboard print
routerboard: yes
model: "433AH"
serial-number: "xxx"
current-firmware: "2.20"
upgrade-firmware: "2.25"
[admin@DITO] > /system routerboard upgrade
Do you really want to upgrade firmware? [y/n]
y
firmware upgraded successfully, please reboot for changes to take effect!
[admin@DITO] > /system routerboard print
routerboard: yes
model: "433AH"
serial-number: "xxx"
current-firmware: "2.25"
upgrade-firmware: "2.25"
[admin@DITO] > /system reboot
Reboot, yes? [y/N]:

Any suggestions ?

Regards, Grzegorz.
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
User avatar
kleku
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:51 pm
Location: Poland, Dabrowa Gornicza

Re: RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Thu Apr 22, 2010 12:59 am

Blah, my 433AH just died after downgrading to 4.7 from 5.0beta1...
Maybe something is fucked up...
#mikrotik-pl @ IRCnet
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:29 pm

Hi,

@kleku
Bad luck :-(

I tried every option, even I removed all radio cards and microSD card, but still the same.
Before ROS ver. 4.5 there was no problem with firmware upgrade, so I believe that hardware is OK.
Maybe MT staff knows the answer...
Normis, where are You? :D

Regards, Grzegorz.
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
User avatar
tgrand
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:57 am
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Re: RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:37 pm

Have you tried a serial cable to log into the bootloader?
If you can do this, then set it to boot from ethernet, and use netinstall to install OS.
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:53 pm

Hi,

As I wrote in my first post, I tried serial cable.
Firmware upgrade process have finished without errors, but after reboot old version still exist :(
Maybe I'm wrong, but I don't know how RouterOS (which works fine) reinstallation via Netinstall can solve my problem ?

Regards, Grzegorz.
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert
 
User avatar
kleku
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:51 pm
Location: Poland, Dabrowa Gornicza

Re: RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:28 pm

My 433AH is ok after netinstall.
Upgrading bootloader from 2.25 to 2.26 also works.
#mikrotik-pl @ IRCnet
 
akosenko
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 8:56 am
Location: Lipetsk, Russia

Re: RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:18 am

confirm the problem with updating the firmware on my RB493 after installing RouterOS 4.7 and try to update RouterBOOT, after a reboot there is an old firmware version, is this a BUG?
 
User avatar
kleku
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:51 pm
Location: Poland, Dabrowa Gornicza

Re: RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:26 am

Looks like upgrading from earlier ( <2.23 ) versions doesn't work.
#mikrotik-pl @ IRCnet
 
akosenko
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 8:56 am
Location: Lipetsk, Russia

Re: RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Tue Apr 27, 2010 6:08 pm

problem is solved as follows:

/system routerboard settings set focre-backup-router=no

/system routerboard upgrade
/system reboot



P.S. big thanks to Sergejs from MikroTik Support
 
ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 841
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna
Contact:

Re: RB433AH - can't upgrade firmware

Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:23 pm

Hi,

Confirmed, it works! :D

Thanks a lot.

Regards, Grzegorz.
Grzegorz | MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCSE | konsultacje MikroTik Warszawa
It is a book about a Spanish guy called Manual. You should read it. - Dilbert

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DigitalOye, lilpri, mkx, mrtrca and 162 guests