Community discussions

 
ibeeby
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 8:49 am
Location: Matlock, England
Contact:

Anyone using a Mikrotik router with FON?

Sat May 15, 2010 8:16 pm

I'd like to be able to add a FON virtual AP to one of my routers - has anyone any experience of doing this?

The reason is not to make money but to enable public access without having to go to the trouble of controlling the public.

Any thoughts and constructive suggestions very welcome...

Ian
 
mcb
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:24 am

Re: Anyone using a Mikrotik router with FON?

Mon Jul 05, 2010 10:11 am

Foneira has routing possibility itself. It knows how to seperate private and public network.
Can you explain WHAT you are trying to do?
 
ibeeby
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 8:49 am
Location: Matlock, England
Contact:

Re: Anyone using a Mikrotik router with FON?

Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:17 pm

I'm trying to avoid using a FON router on my network to support FON service for visitors to the area - I want to have FON functionality WITHIN the Mikrotik (I presume that this includes access to their radius server for authentication etc and suitable partitioning of the traffic to avoid risk to my network).

Its not the money - the wireless spectrum is cluttered enough around here and I don't have room for any more boxes.

Ian
 
skynetbbs
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:00 am

Re: Anyone using a Mikrotik router with FON?

Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:01 am

Perhaps more information on how to make other routers "fon"compliant is explained in this tutorial :
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/FON_Hotspot

eg -> How to configure Chillispot to use the FON radius server so you can use a "fon" account to logon
and a Heartbeat to be on maps.fon.com
 
ibeeby
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 8:49 am
Location: Matlock, England
Contact:

Re: Anyone using a Mikrotik router with FON?

Mon Jul 19, 2010 5:41 pm

Thanks for that - now follows a lenghty break while I try to get my head around the FON documentation and put it into a Mikrotik context. I was rather hoping to avoid having to do this ;-)

Ian
 
skynetbbs
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 10:00 am

Re: Anyone using a Mikrotik router with FON?

Mon Jul 19, 2010 6:14 pm

Thanks for that - now follows a lenghty break while I try to get my head around the FON documentation and put it into a Mikrotik context. I was rather hoping to avoid having to do this ;-)

Ian
the only other option is to use "svn co https://svn.fonosfera.org/fon-ng" and add a microtik "output" (makefile)

information could be retrieved here : http://nuwiki.openwrt.org/oldwiki/OpenW ... otik/RB100

if you succeed into building & flashing it onto your Mikrotik...then you have a "fonera" using microtik firmware
only thing then is to ask Fon to add your microtik mac adress to their approved fonlist

but I guess microtik firmware is by default much more enhanced than fon/openwrt firmware (no idea!)
 
ibeeby
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 8:49 am
Location: Matlock, England
Contact:

Re: Anyone using a Mikrotik router with FON?

Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:17 am

Interesting - it might be possible to load OpenWRT in a MetaRouter - I'll keep reading - thanks for the input.

Ian
 
User avatar
marlow
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 6:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Anyone using a Mikrotik router with FON?

Sun Aug 26, 2012 7:22 pm

Hi Ian,

did you get anywhere with this. A virtual image for Mikrotik boards to run Fon access one would actually really be a sweet idea.

/M
Communication is the beginning of understanding
-- AT&T
 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

Re: Anyone using a Mikrotik router with FON?

Mon May 12, 2014 1:37 am

Is there already some news about this?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 113 guests