Community discussions

 
prologic
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 6:30 pm
Location: Australia, Queensland, Brisbane
Contact:

RouterOS + Radiusmanager and NAS/Remote Disconnections

Sat May 22, 2010 8:54 pm

Hi All,

I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on a problem I
have with RadiusManager (1) and a medium-sized wifi network
(fully routed) all running MikroTik Router OS (of varying versions)
and using RouterBoard hardware.

The problem is, since upgrading to the latest version of RadiusManager
version 3.7.0 automatic disconnections of pre-paid users
do not work, neither do manual disconnections via the
ACP (Admin Control Panel). Neither methods "NAS" nor
"Remote" methods work <period>.

I'm uncertain what other information I should provide for the
moment, but if anyone might have some insight, please reply
to this post and help me solve this! (Sadly DMA Soft Lab are
unhelpful and will only provide technical support in the form
of remote fixes without advising you of the problem or it's
solution ...).

Thank you,

cheers
James

1. http://www.dmasoftlab.com/cont/home
 
prologic
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 6:30 pm
Location: Australia, Queensland, Brisbane
Contact:

Re: RouterOS + Radiusmanager and NAS/Remote Disconnections

Mon May 24, 2010 9:44 am

Hi all,

Just an update to this Issue.

After some helpful advice from DMA Soft Lab and some
debugging of my own, I've been able to work out that
this in fact might be a problem with MikRoTik Router OS

My problem seems to be related to this thread:

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... w=previous

I get these messages in the radius,debug logs for the NAS
in question:

16:12:17 radius,debug received remote request from 172.16.0.1:1258 with unknown address, dropping
16:12:22 radius,debug received remote request from 172.16.0.1:1258 with unknown address, dropping
16:12:27 radius,debug received remote request from 172.16.0.1:1258 with unknown address, dropping

The solution however eludes me and is not the same as the thread above.

Any ideas ?

cheers
James
 
prologic
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 6:30 pm
Location: Australia, Queensland, Brisbane
Contact:

Re: RouterOS + Radiusmanager and NAS/Remote Disconnections

Mon May 24, 2010 10:07 am

FYI, we can get this (POD) to work on only 1 of our NAS.

# echo "User-Name=28_1a" | radclient -x 10.0.0.2:1700 disconnect ...
Sending Disconnect-Request of id 44 to 10.0.0.2 port 1700
User-Name = "28_1a"
rad_recv: Disconnect-ACK packet from host 10.0.0.2 port 1700, id=44, length=31
NAS-Identifier = "ap1"
NAS-IP-Address = 10.0.0.2

This particular NAS however is on teh same subnet as our Radius
Server. The other NASes in our network are not.

cheers
James
 
tyronzn
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Durban,South Africa
Contact:

Re: RouterOS + Radiusmanager and NAS/Remote Disconnections

Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:14 pm

This might be a tad late but i can sympathise with you as i'm experiencing same issue with radius manager and mikrotik.I think it seems to be the case if the subnet differs from the subnet in which your radius manager resides.When i create a pppoe server on the radius manager's lan the remote disconnect packets come through perfectly.All my highsites connect to my radius manager via pptp tunnels and authentication etc works perfectly except remote disconnect packets.interim updates have been set to 1 minute intervals and for the life of me i can't understand why it shouldn't work.Will have to sleep on it and perhaps the answer might spring to mind
 
happydaddy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:18 am

Re: RouterOS + Radiusmanager and NAS/Remote Disconnections

Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:30 pm

Hi

i am having the same problem on my mikrotik ospf network. Is there a solution to this ?

thanks
 
happydaddy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:18 am

Re: RouterOS + Radiusmanager and NAS/Remote Disconnections

Fri Sep 02, 2011 4:51 pm

ok found a tempory fix.Hopefully one of the experts can shed some light.

The error i was getting was:

16:12:17 radius,debug received remote request from 10.0.2.1:1258 with unknown address, dropping

this error was generated from router ip 10.0.2.2 when my client was supposed to be disconnected from PPPOE session

My ospf network is as follows

10.0.2.2------10.0.2.1---------10.0.48.1----------10.0.48.2______________10.0.200.1_____________10.0.200.2(freeradius)
Router1-------Router2----------Router3-----------Router4(ETH1)_________Router4(ETH2)_____________RADIUS BOX

TEMP FIX
i added a second radius server in mikrotik 10.0.2.1 First radius obviously 10.0.200.2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests