Community discussions

 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

ping & "invalid value for argument address"

Sun May 23, 2010 11:08 pm

I've experimenting with IPv6 and I am getting following error with a ping command:
[admin@Ranume] > ping ipv6.google.com
invalid value for argument address
[admin@Ranume] > 
What does it mean?
Is the MT (MikroTik RouterOS 5.0beta2) ping command supposed to work with IPv6 or not?
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: ping & "invalid value for argument address"

Mon May 24, 2010 12:32 am

[PPPoE7] > ping ipv7.google.com
invalid value for argument address
Its normal, mikrotik just cant find IP address for DNS name
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: ping & "invalid value for argument address"

Mon May 24, 2010 10:13 pm

[PPPoE7] > ping ipv7.google.com
invalid value for argument address
Its normal, mikrotik just cant find IP address for DNS name
How to make it find one?
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: ping & "invalid value for argument address"

Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:48 pm

[PPPoE7] > ping ipv7.google.com
invalid value for argument address
Its normal, mikrotik just cant find IP address for DNS name
Why it can not find it?
My other Linux systems using same DNS servers find it just fine.
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: ping & "invalid value for argument address"

Thu Jun 03, 2010 4:57 pm

Don't know if this has anything to do with it, but:
[tim@wifi03 ~]$ nslookup
> ipv6.google.com
Server:         68.1.18.229
Address:        68.1.18.229#53

Non-authoritative answer:
ipv6.google.com canonical name = ipv6.l.google.com.
> ipv6.l.google.com
Server:         68.1.18.229
Address:        68.1.18.229#53

Non-authoritative answer:
*** Can't find ipv6.l.google.com: No answer
This is a Linux box, not MikroTik.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: ping & "invalid value for argument address"

Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:40 am

only thing i can think of is check with other DNS server to resolve DNS.

DNS cahcer in RouterOS is capable to resolve IPv6 addresses correctly (AAAA entries)
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: ping & "invalid value for argument address"

Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:46 pm

only thing i can think of is check with other DNS server to resolve DNS.

DNS cahcer in RouterOS is capable to resolve IPv6 addresses correctly (AAAA entries)
Are you sure? It should express itself (more) clearly if it does not get a proper IPv6 address and not just talk about "invalid value...".
For instance on my linux box I get:
[root@haskaa ~]# dig @194.204.0.1 ipv6.google.com AAAA

; <<>> DiG 9.5.2-RedHat-9.5.2-1.fc10 <<>> @194.204.0.1 ipv6.google.com AAAA
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 38453
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 7, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 4

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ipv6.google.com.               IN      AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ipv6.google.com.        9370    IN      CNAME   ipv6.l.google.com.
ipv6.l.google.com.      300     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::67
ipv6.l.google.com.      300     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::68
ipv6.l.google.com.      300     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::69
ipv6.l.google.com.      300     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::63
ipv6.l.google.com.      300     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::6a
ipv6.l.google.com.      300     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::93

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
google.com.             332716  IN      NS      ns4.google.com.
google.com.             332716  IN      NS      ns1.google.com.
google.com.             332716  IN      NS      ns2.google.com.
google.com.             332716  IN      NS      ns3.google.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns2.google.com.         328879  IN      A       216.239.34.10
ns1.google.com.         339651  IN      A       216.239.32.10
ns4.google.com.         342174  IN      A       216.239.38.10
ns3.google.com.         344571  IN      A       216.239.36.10

;; Query time: 46 msec
;; SERVER: 194.204.0.1#53(194.204.0.1)
;; WHEN: Fri Jun  4 19:22:16 2010
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 358

[root@haskaa ~]# dig @194.204.22.2 ipv6.google.com AAAA

; <<>> DiG 9.5.2-RedHat-9.5.2-1.fc10 <<>> @194.204.22.2 ipv6.google.com AAAA
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 10469
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 7, AUTHORITY: 4, ADDITIONAL: 4

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ipv6.google.com.               IN      AAAA

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ipv6.google.com.        9219    IN      CNAME   ipv6.l.google.com.
ipv6.l.google.com.      264     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::63
ipv6.l.google.com.      264     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::67
ipv6.l.google.com.      264     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::68
ipv6.l.google.com.      264     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::69
ipv6.l.google.com.      264     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::6a
ipv6.l.google.com.      264     IN      AAAA    2a00:1450:8007::93

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
google.com.             159690  IN      NS      ns4.google.com.
google.com.             159690  IN      NS      ns1.google.com.
google.com.             159690  IN      NS      ns3.google.com.
google.com.             159690  IN      NS      ns2.google.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.google.com.         159689  IN      A       216.239.32.10
ns2.google.com.         159689  IN      A       216.239.34.10
ns3.google.com.         159689  IN      A       216.239.36.10
ns4.google.com.         159689  IN      A       216.239.38.10

;; Query time: 8 msec
;; SERVER: 194.204.22.2#53(194.204.22.2)
;; WHEN: Fri Jun  4 19:22:23 2010
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 358

[root@haskaa ~]# 
But my MT box (MikroTik RouterOS 5.0beta2) has errors with the same DNS servers:
[admin@Ranume] /ip dns> export
# jun/04/2010 20:44:09 by RouterOS 5.0beta2
# software id = LB5I-W12K
#
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=no cache-max-ttl=1w cache-size=2048KiB \
    max-udp-packet-size=512 servers=194.204.0.1,194.204.22.2
[admin@Ranume] /ip dns> /ping ipv6.google.com
invalid value for argument address
[admin@Ranume] /ip dns> 
What is really wrong with it?
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: ping & "invalid value for argument address"

Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:59 am

With 5.0beta3 the ping message has changed, but end result is still the same:
[admin@Ranume] > ping ipv6.google.com  
while resolving ip-address: could not get answer from dns server
[admin@Ranume] > ping 2a00:1450:8007::68
HOST                                    SIZE  TTL TIME  STATUS               
2a00:1450:8007::68                      56    55  43ms  echo reply           
2a00:1450:8007::68                      56    55  47ms  echo reply           
2a00:1450:8007::68                      56    55  42ms  echo reply           
2a00:1450:8007::68                      56    55  44ms  echo reply           
2a00:1450:8007::68                      56    55  50ms  echo reply           
2a00:1450:8007::68                      56    55  49ms  echo reply           
    sent=6 received=6 packet-loss=0% min-rtt=42ms avg-rtt=45ms max-rtt=50ms 

[admin@Ranume] > 
Only thing to conclude is either RB IPv6 DNS implementation is buggy or PING itself will ignore IPv6 name resolving.
Are there any plans to address that issue?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 57 guests