Community discussions

 
mknnoc
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:40 am
Location: cambodia

Does Mikrotik still run without Flash?

Mon May 24, 2010 8:26 am

Let say we use netinstall to install ROS on flash. Then we let the server to boot from flash.
After booting successful, we take out the flash. Does the Mikrotik router still run?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Does Mikrotik still run without Flash?

Mon May 24, 2010 8:36 am

we had a router (on early v2.9, AFAIR), that stopped working after reboot (it was working a few months w/o reboot). after disassembling of HDD we saw that the head scratched a groove on the HDD plate, so HDD was fully broken
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
mknnoc
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:40 am
Location: cambodia

Re: Does Mikrotik still run without Flash?

Mon May 24, 2010 8:52 am

So, It work if we don't reboot it?

I think flash may not be broken after unplug.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Does Mikrotik still run without Flash?

Mon May 24, 2010 9:15 am

why not just try? =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Does Mikrotik still run without Flash?

Mon May 24, 2010 5:53 pm

the symptoms of a failed disk show what you will find. Soon admin with blank password will be allowed to login, vpn tunnels will start experiencing problems, etc. it will continue to run crippled.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8319
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Does Mikrotik still run without Flash?

Mon May 24, 2010 6:14 pm

yep, I forgot that... our VPN server have lost the HDD (don't know why, it's 1U server...) - and after that I was able to login only with 'admin' and blank password until reboot... but users were connecting successfully to PPTP with RADIUS authentication =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: Does Mikrotik still run without Flash?

Mon May 24, 2010 9:14 pm

if you disconnect flash after booting - server will work , you need to disable write logs to HDD, but you cant conect to server throw winbox or ssh

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 87 guests