Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
huntah
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:24 pm

ROS4.9 and Hotspot Bridge multiple RB433 Problem

Wed May 26, 2010 8:42 pm

Hello,

since we upgraded to ROS 4.9 there is strange behaviour on our routers. The ip bindings for hotspot seem to fail randomly (The pings from main router timeout, Connectivity to webcams fails etc..). When we disable hotspot it instantly works again (pings, webcam etc..) even if we turn hotspot back on it works for some time (1minut.. sometimes longer 1h, 24h...).

Our configuration is as follows:
1. Main RB433 with hotspot brige (ether2 and wlan1). Running hotspot, dhcp server (interface hotspot) and connectivity to internet
2. Three RB433 all with hotspot bridge (wan and wlan1). WAN assigned static DHCP address (MAC reservation) from Main router.

In version 3.30 everthing worked without a problem. Last week we upgraded to 4.9 and above problems happend.
In hotspot server we have IP bindings (bypassed) for WAN interface of other routers. We also added IP Bindings for MAC address of hotspot but it doesnt help much. Sometimes it works and sometimes not..
It should always work or never... this is strange..

Anybody else have similiar problem/setup?
Were can I download 3.30 version or previous builds?

Any help, suggestions would be greatly appriciated.

Huntah
 
huntah
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:24 pm

Re: ROS4.9 and Hotspot Bridge multiple RB433 Problem

Wed May 26, 2010 8:50 pm

Looking some more on this problem it seems it only happens when client connects to wireless interface (wlan1)...
We are using TPLink wireless radio cards MK finds them as ATHEROS AR5413..

Huntah
 
huntah
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 271
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 3:24 pm

Re: ROS4.9 and Hotspot Bridge multiple RB433 Problem

Sun May 30, 2010 11:34 pm

I have been testing different things in past week, hoping for an answer but here is what I have figured out.
The attached image is my network.
Main RB433 has internet connection and is running hotspot on the interface hotspot (Bridge consisting of Wlan1 and Eteher2).
Other routers have the same hotspot bridge but with interfaces WAN and WLAN. The names of the interfaces are irrelevant but I have named them for easyer identification..
On the hotspot server I have made IP Bindings for WAN interface of Routers 2 to 4, but MAC address is changing sometimes it shows MAC for WAN interface and sometimes for HOTSPOT (bridge interface).
It does not matter if I put IP address on bridge or WAN interface of Routers 2-4. When MAC changes I cannot access routers 2-4 from Router 1 as long as I am running hotspot server. If I disable hotspot server I can connect and the ping comes back with replies.

This was a working live setup for over I year on ROS v3.x (3.15-3.30). It worked with now problems.
So I have downgraded one router (RB433 - 2) back to 3.30 and for now it is working again with no problem only one MAC is popping up in hotspot hosts..

I think the problem starts when people connect to WLAN interfaces...

Can anybody confirm my problems?
Did Mikrotik changed something in bridging?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
trevorlc1234
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:46 am

Re: ROS4.9 and Hotspot Bridge multiple RB433 Problem

Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:03 am

I don't know if this is the same issue you are having but it sounds similar. I have a Mikrotik RB433AH doing the gateway and hotspot service. I have a ubiquity NSM2 briding to the hotspot. Off this NSM2 I have a local BulletM2 omni spreading the sig. Example. RB433 (HotSpot) = 10.5.50.1 ---> NSM2 (Station/Bridge) = 10.5.50.10 ------> BulletM2 Omni (AP mode) = 10.5.50.11. When I connect to the BulletM2's SSID associate to it, get DHCP of example 10.5.50.234. I can opena webpage and get the hotpsot login, I can't ping 10.5.50.11, but I can ping 10.5.50.1. So I log in, and start pinging 10.5.50.11, still can't ping it, but I can ping 10.5.50.10. then when I open another webpage, I get the login page again. So I checked in the RB433AH, under hotspot, I can see that it added a active session for a MAC address and also a cookie for a MAC address. Well the MAC is not my laptops MAC address, its the MAC address of 10.5.50.10, the NSM2 bridge device. So that the Router is seeing the bridge as the transmitting device and adding a session/cookie for that device and not my laptops MAC. Obviously this will cause problems when a second user connects via this bridge/omni setup and I haven't figured out a way around it. If I add a IP bindings, won't that let everyone that connects through that bridge past the login and bypass the hotspot login? I saw that you were doing someting like that but I guess it did not work for you. Somehow I have to tell the RB433 hotspot to fully allow the bridge and AP to pass traffic to the hotspot, but ensure that the packets still arrive looking like they came from the laptop connecting client, thus adding the correct session and cookie information? Any ideaS?
 
he1ium
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:30 am

Re: ROS4.9 and Hotspot Bridge multiple RB433 Problem

Tue Jun 08, 2010 1:07 am

I have been having similar issues for a couple months now. We use Hotspot with Walled Garden for website Whitelisting at our 300+ locations. Hotspot running on a router with wireless bridged to ethernet ports causes random issues constantly. Mikrotik recommend using RSTP (among a lot of failed recommendations) on the bridge but the problems continued. It's to the point where we may start looking for a new router solution. Don't get me wrong, I love using Mikrotik products, but we can't have these issues constantly on an enterprise network.
 
tetecko
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:44 pm

Re: ROS4.9 and Hotspot Bridge multiple RB433 Problem

Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:07 pm

I have been having similar issues for a couple months now. We use Hotspot with Walled Garden for website Whitelisting at our 300+ locations. Hotspot running on a router with wireless bridged to ethernet ports causes random issues constantly. Mikrotik recommend using RSTP (among a lot of failed recommendations) on the bridge but the problems continued. It's to the point where we may start looking for a new router solution. Don't get me wrong, I love using Mikrotik products, but we can't have these issues constantly on an enterprise network.

Hi,
which type of wireless card you use ?

Tomas
 
bigguns
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:03 am

Re: ROS4.9 and Hotspot Bridge multiple RB433 Problem

Tue Jun 08, 2010 6:52 pm

I don't know if this is the same issue you are having but it sounds similar. I have a Mikrotik RB433AH doing the gateway and hotspot service. I have a ubiquity NSM2 briding to the hotspot. Off this NSM2 I have a local BulletM2 omni spreading the sig. Example. RB433 (HotSpot) = 10.5.50.1 ---> NSM2 (Station/Bridge) = 10.5.50.10 ------> BulletM2 Omni (AP mode) = 10.5.50.11. When I connect to the BulletM2's SSID associate to it, get DHCP of example 10.5.50.234. I can opena webpage and get the hotpsot login, I can't ping 10.5.50.11, but I can ping 10.5.50.1. So I log in, and start pinging 10.5.50.11, still can't ping it, but I can ping 10.5.50.10. then when I open another webpage, I get the login page again. So I checked in the RB433AH, under hotspot, I can see that it added a active session for a MAC address and also a cookie for a MAC address. Well the MAC is not my laptops MAC address, its the MAC address of 10.5.50.10, the NSM2 bridge device. So that the Router is seeing the bridge as the transmitting device and adding a session/cookie for that device and not my laptops MAC. Obviously this will cause problems when a second user connects via this bridge/omni setup and I haven't figured out a way around it. If I add a IP bindings, won't that let everyone that connects through that bridge past the login and bypass the hotspot login? I saw that you were doing someting like that but I guess it did not work for you. Somehow I have to tell the RB433 hotspot to fully allow the bridge and AP to pass traffic to the hotspot, but ensure that the packets still arrive looking like they came from the laptop connecting client, thus adding the correct session and cookie information? Any ideaS?
I've actually come across the ping issue as well without placing any firewall protection. The problem does seem to be random and occurs mainly when ping command is first launched. But it does mean that other users are protected from each other aswell.
 
VicRace
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:17 pm

Re: ROS4.9 and Hotspot Bridge multiple RB433 Problem

Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:35 pm

I had a problem related to this using 4.9 and RB411 in a simple configuration that simply bridged the wlan and ether interfaces.

At start-up the bridge assumed the MAC address of the wlan interface. When a station associated the bridge would switch its MAC address to the one of the ether interface. The DHCP client running on the bridge was not impressed.

A week later when I tried to reproduce the problem and generate supout.rif I wasn't able too.

Now when I define a bridge, Iinclude something like this:
admin-mac=[/interface ethernet get ether1 mac-address ] auto-mac=no

Anyone know if the problem has been fixed in recent versions of RouterOS?
 
itmethod
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:44 pm

Re: ROS4.9 and Hotspot Bridge multiple RB433 Problem

Thu Apr 21, 2016 6:18 am

I Have a similar issue. ether1 in a bridge whether by itself or with ether2 is not able to get an ip via dhcp while, ether1 not in a bridge can.
this is using ROS v. 6.34.4 and 6.35 even with a firmware update to 3.24

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bpwl, bradfordbb, codesnake, Ettercap, vblprs and 140 guests