Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Skaught
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 9:31 pm

What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Mon Jun 07, 2010 7:55 pm

I am trying to build an EOIP tunnel through another firewall.

I need the port number and protocol that EOIP uses to configure the firewall in the middle.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:10 pm

From the manual:
The EoIP protocol encapsulates Ethernet frames in GRE (IP protocol number 47) packets (just like PPTP) and sends them to the remote side of the EoIP tunnel.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/EoIP
 
Skaught
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 9:31 pm

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:55 pm

Is someone going to add it to the wiki article?

It says it uses GRE like pptp but I tried to map the pptp port to no avail.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:18 pm

There is no port.

PPTP runs a control channel on tcp/1723 and data flows over GRE, which is IP protocol 47. EoIP, like PPTP, runs over GRE (IP protocol 47) but doesn't have a control channel.
 
Myron
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:17 am
Location: Boracay, Philippines

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Tue Jun 08, 2010 5:51 am

There is no port.

PPTP runs a control channel on tcp/1723 and data flows over GRE, which is IP protocol 47. EoIP, like PPTP, runs over GRE (IP protocol 47) but doesn't have a control channel.
hi fewi i am new in mikrotik i have some question about the EoIP tunnel as i read the documentation http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Interface/EoIP that the tunnel must be same subnet, now im wondering because both mik <<<<>>>mik has a same dhcp both sides what would be the implication if this two mik will establish the connection.

1. it could possible ip conflict because same subnet of both sides?
2. pc client both sides must be static or dynamic?

client pc --- mik1 >>>>EoIP <<<<mik2 ---- client pc

thanks fewi
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Tue Jun 08, 2010 6:34 am

Yes, there'd be an IP conflict. Presumably hosts on either side would prefer the host on their side as that ARP reply would come much sooner, I guess.

You can use DHCP on both sides, just make sure the pools don't overlap.
 
Myron
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:17 am
Location: Boracay, Philippines

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Tue Jun 08, 2010 6:55 am

Yes, there'd be an IP conflict. Presumably hosts on either side would prefer the host on their side as that ARP reply would come much sooner, I guess.

You can use DHCP on both sides, just make sure the pools don't overlap.
thanks fewi for quick response, i think the best solution as you said dont make the pool range dont overlap in both sides.

tnx
 
Myron
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 253
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:17 am
Location: Boracay, Philippines

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:36 am

Yes, there'd be an IP conflict. Presumably hosts on either side would prefer the host on their side as that ARP reply would come much sooner, I guess.

You can use DHCP on both sides, just make sure the pools don't overlap.
hi fewi good afternoon i try a several test both mik, i saw packets sending tx/rx in eoip interfaces, bridge port and so forth, the problem is in the dhcp because both mik has 192.168.1.0/24 dhcp and it shows dhcp error in mik2 (red color) in mik1 no error shows in dhcp, where do i missed the configuration?

thanks
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Wed Jun 09, 2010 5:29 pm

I don't know. I guess in the DHCP configuration, if that's showing red. Post it here.
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:21 pm

Can eoip tunnel true nat, i tryed but i can't
 
foxpdll
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: What port and protocol does EOIP use?

Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:32 pm

Some NAT do not work with GRE protocol.
It nat TCP or UDP but it dont NAT GRE protokol
For example Ericson NAT do not nat GRE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Elliot, eworm, MSN [Bot] and 141 guests