Page 1 of 1

Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus others.

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 1:11 pm
by bigguns
Hi there,
I've been asked by one of customers - to completely block world of war craft the game. I've tried various rules to do this, but the game seem to be still getting access. I have a feeling this is the do with the another related issue, whereby I wasn't able to completely block a computer's access. - Post: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=42463

Is there a L7 (or something) rule I can use to block world of war craft on a specific IP address or across the whole network?

Thank you.

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:30 pm
by SurferTim
Have you tried blocking the main communication port for WoW? TCP port 3724

/ip ffirewall filter
add chain=forward action=drop protocol=tcp dst-port=3724 src-address=xx.xx.xx.xx

xx.xx.xx.xx is the ip of the computer on which you wish to stop WoW.

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:39 pm
by macgaiver
Blizzard Entertainment own specific address ranges - so find them out and block all communication to them. I know that cause i'm prioritizing it over all other traffic - making sure that all packets get though my QoS no matter what.

Why do you need to block such a nice game? If children play too much - just stop paying for it :)

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:43 pm
by SurferTim
Not all "children" are children. Some are employees that should be doing their work instead of playing a video game! :(

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:47 pm
by macgaiver
Sorry, but then it is more management problem, not network filter problem. As soon as you will restrict this game - they will move to other.

You need to fight it at the root of the problem.

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:55 pm
by bigguns
Hi Thanks for your inputs guys; I don't really need to ask why this customer wants to ban the game as it not my place to ask.
I've got the rules on the unit but the pass through is still occuring for some reason; I really can't figure out why my firewall isn't blocking these rules I've made.

I think its time to send a support file to Mk.

When I get back I'll post my rules up and see if anyone can see anything I'm missing.

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:04 pm
by SurferTim
Do a Google search for "world of warcraft port". Posts on the WoW user forum verifies without TCP port 3724 open, the game will not work. TCP 3724 for the game data, UDP 3724 for the voice. Did you try the rule above for blocking port 3724? In case it was not obvious, use the src-address for your local computer/network, and dst-port=3724. The src-port will probably not be 3724.

As a test, you might want to try this:
/ip firewall filter
add chain=forward action=add-src-to-address-list dst-port=3724 protocol=tcp address-list=WoW

Move this rule to the top. Then use WoW. See if anything ends up in the WoW list here
/ip firewall address-list

ADD: Do you have any entries in "/ip firewall mangle"?

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 8:05 pm
by Chupaka

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 9:02 pm
by bigguns
Thank you for your help guys - I'm running the test to see if the simple firewall rule is picking up the ports. Failing that Chupaka useful resource of l7 extract will be put in place!

Karma to all.

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:21 pm
by bigguns
Do a Google search for "world of warcraft port". Posts on the WoW user forum verifies without TCP port 3724 open, the game will not work. TCP 3724 for the game data, UDP 3724 for the voice. Did you try the rule above for blocking port 3724? In case it was not obvious, use the src-address for your local computer/network, and dst-port=3724. The src-port will probably not be 3724.

As a test, you might want to try this:
/ip firewall filter
add chain=forward action=add-src-to-address-list dst-port=3724 protocol=tcp address-list=WoW

Move this rule to the top. Then use WoW. See if anything ends up in the WoW list here
/ip firewall address-list

ADD: Do you have any entries in "/ip firewall mangle"?
Ok so good news the firewall is detecting this string and marking correctly. Based on this what rule would you use to drop it - because the one I've made isn't dropping the connection.

And yes I'm using a mangle rule on the LANs

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:00 am
by Chupaka
it's adding it to address list (action=add-src-to-address-list)
change it to 'action=reject reject-with=tcp-reset' or something

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:05 am
by bigguns
Hmm, ok I was using the reject rule - I guess that is where I was going wrong.

Thanks for your help (again!)

Re: Blocking WoW (world of war craft) Not working - plus oth

Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:45 am
by Muqatil
If you are trying to block Official WoW you can block by address list from this list http://www.wowwiki.com/EU_English_realms_info - http://www.wowwiki.com/US_realm_list_by_datacenter )