Community discussions

 
Inssomniak
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:21 pm

Production router with ESXi ?

Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:30 pm

I was thinking of consolidating our various systems at our primary PoP with just one more powerful server and using vmware ESXi to run our core router and mail/web server, and asterisk server.

My idea was also to have a redundant license of mikrotik running that I could use to switch over to or automatically fail over to if the first router failed (Im open to ideas on this).

Anyone not recommend this? is running routerOS not a good idea in ESXi in a production environment?
 
agjini
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:43 pm

Re: Production router with ESXi ?

Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:40 pm

I think is a a good idea, the only problem HDD of server must be IDE so you cant use a high end server , I have tested but not in production, i was thinking same solution as you to have a failover access concentrator and core router, it will be very good if mikrotik support scsi in the future versions, so we can virtualize mikrotik in low cost but high realibility servers ex: dl360 you can find for 200 usd (used) it has two power supply and two scsi which can be configured raid mirror, etc..
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: Production router with ESXi ?

Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:51 pm

I dont know if the virtualization of the interfaces vary between esxi and vmware server version.
On Server version, there is a lot of CPU usage on interface virtualization for ROS (Because you can't install vmware tools on ROS). Over 30mbit i had packet losses on a xeon quad core 2.8ghz.
About stability, i have another VMware server Environment working stable but his traffic is below 20mbit usually.
/system resource> pr
                   uptime: 23w2d22h42m40s
                  version: "3.13"
              free-memory: 1794516kB
             total-memory: 1824000kB
                      cpu: "Intel(R)"
                cpu-count: 1
            cpu-frequency: 2825MHz
                 cpu-load: 34%
           free-hdd-space: 461292kB
          total-hdd-space: 497357kB
  write-sect-since-reboot: 112207
         write-sect-total: 112207
        architecture-name: "x86"
               board-name: "x86"
Up to your needs :)
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
User avatar
martini
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:13 am

Re: Production router with ESXi ?

Thu Jun 17, 2010 4:46 pm

On ESX mikrotik work very good, 4 RoS VM on server, more than 300 megabit traffic, 40% cpu usage (core-i7)
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: Production router with ESXi ?

Thu Jun 17, 2010 4:49 pm

Nice to know, worth a try :)
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8275
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Production router with ESXi ?

Tue Jun 22, 2010 10:13 pm

yeah, because
Over 30mbit i had packet losses on a xeon quad core 2.8ghz.
sounds like some hard/soft problem... %)
the only problem HDD of server must be IDE so you cant use a high end server
hm... I have a testing machine with RouterOS - ESXi host is having SATA drives only. you can use high-end platforms - you just need to create virtual IDE HDDs =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: Production router with ESXi ?

Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:38 am

yeah, because
Over 30mbit i had packet losses on a xeon quad core 2.8ghz.
sounds like some hard/soft problem... %)
I think so too..
ESXi uses para-virtualization so should be better
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Production router with ESXi ?

Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:52 am

do you get better NIC performance with e1000 drivers, by telling esxi that the guest is 64 bit?
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
Inssomniak
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:21 pm

Re: Production router with ESXi ?

Sat Aug 21, 2010 3:49 am

I did finally try this, and worked fine on the bench., but weird results in production.

350 users PPPoE

Using the e1000 network cards both physical and virtual.


Downloading large files just stops sometimes.
Speed test results are weird when customers run them, although no noticeable issues with their speed.

now since the vmware vmxnet3 driver is in the native 2.6 kernel maybe we can get that driver?
probably have to go back to physical machine.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 52 guests