Community discussions

 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

RS232 signal across a wireless link

Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:27 am

Hello,

I need to make a project to pass a RS232 signal of one "relé" (I don't know this in .uk...perhaps relay..) between 2 buildings. This Relé has 2 states.. open or close and i need to put this open/close signal in the remote building of the link. Can I connect it directly to rs232 of a third routerboard?

I'll put a link and I can put more routerboards if I need it.


anyone can help me¿?
Thanks
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
netrat
Member
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: RS232 signal across a wireless link

Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:21 pm

No you'll need a serial over IP solution.

http://www.perle.com/products/Terminal-Server.shtml
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: RS232 signal across a wireless link

Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:06 pm

Can you explain how is the comunication with this?

If I get an open signal in A-side, it sends X through the wireless link and later in B-Side i get the open signal in the conversor?

How is the configuration of this conversors? I mean.. have IPs, routes?

Thanks,
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
gdorm
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 7:14 pm
Location: Sofia,Bulgaria

Re: RS232 signal across a wireless link

Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:17 pm

Name name say it all :) Serial Over IP mean it have one IP and route on it and there are different types of how much RS232 ports are on it.
 
flaguna
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:34 pm

Re: RS232 signal across a wireless link

Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:12 am

Hola Martin,

Lograste éxito en este proyecto haciéndolo con Mikrotik?

Agradezco comentarios, saludos.
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: RS232 signal across a wireless link

Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:48 am

Ya no me acuerdo que proyecto era ; ))))))

We used rs232 conversor to pass sensor signals, but not to open a "relé"
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: RS232 signal across a wireless link

Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:03 am

If it RS232 there is no difference.
RS232 is standardized.
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC
 
flaguna
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:34 pm

Re: RS232 signal across a wireless link

Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:58 pm

Ya no me acuerdo que proyecto era ; ))))))

We used rs232 conversor to pass sensor signals, but not to open a "relé"
thanks for your quick response. regards.
 
flaguna
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:34 pm

Re: RS232 signal across a wireless link

Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:29 pm

If it RS232 there is no difference.
RS232 is standardized.
Hello onnoossendrijver.
thanks for your quick response.
the idea is to use the RS232 port the Mikrotik, not use RS232/IP gateway add to Mikrotik.
the premise is founded, have one equip that do all=> Wireless RS232 converter and inversely.
It is possible with Mikrotik?
​​​continue to dialogue, thanks, regards.
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: RS232 signal across a wireless link

Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:13 pm

Ah... Ok.. I misunderstood.
I believe this feature was recently added to a beta release and removed one release later because it's was not stable.
So I don't think it's possible unfortunately.
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 60 guests