Community discussions

 
mhosts
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:43 pm

Issue with x86 platform

Mon Jul 05, 2010 10:52 pm

I'm running a Level4 license on an x86 platform.

It's a supermicro chassis with an intel chipset and 2 gigabit ethernet interfaces.

My problem is that the router seems to stop responding every week or so. At first I suspected DDoS, but I've ruled that out.

I stopped using DNS service in the router as a suspect that may be causing a problem.

It's got 1gig of ram and The os is running on a 8GB USB 2.0 storage device. Could this be an issue?

When I reboot the server everything works fine again. But i'm not sure what the problem could be.

Does anyone know of anywhere i could look to troubleshoot this? I'm running limited logs also since I though that could have been an issue.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Issue with x86 platform

Mon Jul 05, 2010 11:47 pm

turn on resource graphing and look at the memory usage... is it climbing and climbing?

can you disable any more resources in the bios? secondary IDE, etc.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
PrvtPilot
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:46 am
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with x86 platform

Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:10 am

Hi,

Just setup a similar machine with results like yours.

By chance does your SuperMicro board have Realtek RTL8111C-GR Ethernet ports on it?

Dean
 
mhosts
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:43 pm

Re: Issue with x86 platform

Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:44 am

I'm not sure... I will look into this soon.

I just got back from a 2 hour trip to the DC. Switched it with a Brand new RB1000U.

A local dealer got 2 in today.. I was so lucky.

More details to follow on my crap x86 system. I have it at home and will play around with it tomorrow.
 
User avatar
Letni
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:16 am
Location: South Carolina

Re: Issue with x86 platform

Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:51 am

I was having this issue with RouterOS V4. V4 has been very unstable for us. A duplicate Supermicro router is running V3.30 without issue. I have reloaded the machine running V4 to V5Beta4 with good results so far.

-Louis
 
820
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 7:23 pm

Re: Issue with x86 platform

Thu Jul 08, 2010 5:05 pm

For - Letni. How long have you been testing V5Beta4 for, without a spontaneous reboot?
 
mhosts
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 4:43 pm

Re: Issue with x86 platform

Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:47 am

So I've done some more experimenting with the x86 system.

I removed all IP addresses and disabled all firewall rules.

I created a 192.168.0.0/30 subnet with a spare mikrotik rb450 I have at home.

When I ping the x86 system I'm getting 54% packet loss!! Ping times are ranging between 0-7ms also. Should be all under 1ms as it's only one 3 foot cat5 cable linking them.

System resources shows only 1% CPU utlilization and about 987 out of 1GB of ram free...

Anything I should do to keep narrowing down?

I also noticed this in the logs: login failure for user &[2~&[B&[B via local
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Issue with x86 platform

Sat Jul 10, 2010 1:57 am

Which super micro board? (system pcb)

I have seen one type, that when installed in a "front facing IO" case gets flakey...

You can tweek the case and the board will work for a while then die (mine was related to the drive) IDE.. / sata

looks like a micro crack or a surface mount componant issue....

Let me know...
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 84 guests