Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
larmaid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:06 pm

dynamic bandwidth control

Wed Aug 31, 2005 6:13 pm

need help please.....
im using mt v2.7
i want to make 2 network : 10.10.1.0/16 and 10.10.2.0/16
with a diffrent config.
10.10.1.0 (dynamic) bandwidth 120kbps
10.10.2.0 (dynamic) bandwidht 128kbps
i've already done this:

1. (in queue simple) /add dst-address=10.10.1.0/16 interface=lan max-limit=120
when i print in queue simple it become dynamic

2. (in queue tree) /add name=http parent=lan flow=abc-http max-limit=120

3. (firewall mangle) / add action=passtrough mark-flow=abc-http protocol=tcp dst-port=80

but when i look in interface monitor-traffic lan
it still unlimited...i mean over 120kbps

is there something wrong or is not right...! please help....!

btw what is abc-http....?

thanks........

edward
i like it
 
User avatar
andrewluck
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:26 pm

Edward

You have to throttle traffic on the interface that it's leaving the router. If you have a WAN interface in your setup you need to apply the queues on that.

abc-http is just a name, it could be anything.

Regards

Andrew
 
User avatar
larmaid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:06 pm

Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:19 pm

i've try to set the network queue in wan...but nothing happens still the same..?
:(
you said i must set in wan and not in global-out..?
is it in global-out or wan that i have to queue...?
:shock:
and in monitor-trafic which interface to view the queues..is it wan(public) or lan(local)..?
what is the diffrent in webproxy and firewall...?
which rule if i want to block a network...?
sorry if i have too many questn>...!
btw thanks for the reply...
i like it
 
User avatar
andrewluck
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Wed Sep 07, 2005 1:33 pm

If you're trying to limit traffic into those two LANs then you are correct, you need to queue on the LAN interfaces. If you queue on global out, then all traffic that meets your mangle rules will be limited. This may be what you want, or it may not.

If you're using NAT, then you have to mangle traffic with connection marks, then mangle those with flow marks.

Are your mangle rules matching traffic?

Two things: upgrade; re-read the examples in the manual that show bandwidth limiting.

Regards

Andrew

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hatred, sindy, theonemikrotik and 116 guests