Page 1 of 1

Connection 2 Cisco 575 or more

Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:27 pm
by HellMind
I got a machine with a gb network card
I want to connect it to 2 cisco 575 or more modems LRE

Right know I use a switch, connecting the 3 devices, but I get packet loss on a 575 gw.

How can I solve this?
the packet loss disapear if I unplug a 575 from the switch.

Adding a network card isn't what I want since maybe in a future I will need more links.

A friend told me I should use a RB750 instead a switch, but how should I configure it?

I think I need to isolate all the modems and bridging them to the machine port.

What do you recommend?

Re: Connection 2 Cisco 575 or more

Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:33 pm
by fewi
LRE ports default to half duplex. Have you accounted for that?

Re: Connection 2 Cisco 575 or more

Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:46 pm
by HellMind
LRE ports default to half duplex. Have you accounted for that?
What should I do knowing that?

Re: Connection 2 Cisco 575 or more

Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:54 pm
by HellMind
I think the problem is this, bot modems got the same mac (so they are working transparent)
stratovarius:~# arp -n
Address HWtype HWaddress Flags Mask Iface
190.2.43.x4 ether 00:0b:46:e4:ba:80 C eth0
190.210.56.x8 ether 00:0b:46:e4:ba:80 C eth0

Re: Connection 2 Cisco 575 or more

Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 12:01 am
by adrianatkins
or:-

ip neigh show

Just thought i should chuck that in there, cos a lot of cut-down Linux systems do not support 'arp' from the command line.

Re: Connection 2 Cisco 575 or more

Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2010 12:13 am
by HellMind
ip neigh show
190.2.43.x4 dev eth0 FAILED
190.210.56.x8 dev eth0 lladdr 00:0b:46:e4:ba:80 REACHABLE

And sometimes


ip neigh
190.2.43.x4 dev eth0 lladdr 00:0b:46:e4:ba:80 STALE
190.210.56.x8 dev eth0 lladdr 00:0b:46:e4:ba:80 REACHABLE

If i ping 190.2.43.x4 using a source address in the subnet belonging to that i get packet loss
---

stratovarius:~# ping -I 190.2.43.x9 google.com
PING google.com (209.85.195.104) from 190.2.43.x : 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from eze03s01-in-f104.1e100.net (209.85.195.104): icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=8.94 ms
64 bytes from eze03s01-in-f104.1e100.net (209.85.195.104): icmp_seq=2 ttl=56 time=8.15 ms
64 bytes from eze03s01-in-f104.1e100.net (209.85.195.104): icmp_seq=3 ttl=56 time=7.84 ms
64 bytes from eze03s01-in-f104.1e100.net (209.85.195.104): icmp_seq=4 ttl=56 time=7.65 ms
64 bytes from eze03s01-in-f104.1e100.net (209.85.195.104): icmp_seq=5 ttl=56 time=7.38 ms
64 bytes from eze03s01-in-f104.1e100.net (209.85.195.104): icmp_seq=6 ttl=56 time=15.7 ms
64 bytes from eze03s01-in-f104.1e100.net (209.85.195.104): icmp_seq=7 ttl=56 time=8.52 ms
^C
--- google.com ping statistics ---
7 packets transmitted, 7 received, 0% packet loss, time 6022ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 7.388/9.184/15.791/2.742 ms

---

stratovarius:~# ping -I 190.2.43.x9 190.2.43.x4
PING 190.2.43.x4 (190.2.43.x4) from 190.2.43.x9 : 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 190.2.43.x4: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=10.9 ms
64 bytes from 190.2.43.x4: icmp_seq=38 ttl=255 time=7.24 ms
64 bytes from 190.2.43.x4: icmp_seq=57 ttl=255 time=5.72 ms
^C
--- 190.2.43.134 ping statistics ---
58 packets transmitted, 3 received, 94% packet loss, time 57029ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 5.726/7.969/10.936/2.187 ms

Re: Connection 2 Cisco 575 or more

Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 5:37 am
by HellMind
Anybody got some setup like mine?

Re: Connection 2 Cisco 575 or more

Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:17 am
by HellMind
If Cisco LRE 575 works transparent

Maybe, I can bond 2 of them