Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:39 pm

saw it in the list but not able to download...
 
velvet
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Stuttgart - Germany

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:04 pm

 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8394
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:07 pm

What's new in 5.0beta6 (2010-Aug-10 13:22):

*) user manager is not working - will be fixed in next version;
*) intel 82576 (uncommon expensive chip) crash/reboot to be fixed in next release
OMG! Changelog now includes known bugs?!? great! at last =)

by the way,
Starting with RouterOS v5beta6 RouterOS supports up to 16 cores in your PC system (previous limitation was 8)
is not mentioned :(
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
adryfia
newbie
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:30 am
Location: Mataram, Lombok, Indonesia, NTB
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:11 pm

So this version not for hotspot with user manager?
 
juliano
just joined
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 10:46 pm

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:25 pm

403- Forbidden - not able to download
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8394
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Tue Aug 10, 2010 11:09 pm

yep... use Torrent for now =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:44 am

torrents worked for me
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:24 am

Announced channel width changing, but mising 14 and 28MHz value, is real to add it in next version ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:26 am

why those values?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
charliebrown
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:27 am

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 2:37 pm

Bit odd to be expecting tho channel widths but since someone raised it it would be nice to have support for those, Alot of licensed band's are 14mhz/28mhz wide and if we can use MT+R5hn+Freq Shifter to use licensed bands it opens up alot more bands for use. In New Zealand there are around 4ish bands that are 20mhz+ wide but another 9ish who are 14mhz wide.

Chalk one up on the wish list :lol:
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:14 pm

i have same idea, ISM and free bands / higher/ with mikrotik + freq. multiplier
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:16 pm

can you give us more information about this kind of channel width? for which band is it, and which standard defines it?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:21 pm

can you give us more information about this kind of channel width? for which band is it, and which standard defines it?
Normis..
i have confused on the HT extension and the channel bandwidth setting.

When the band set to be N_Only, and try to use the 40Mhz channel bandwidth, it shown not supported on that band.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:22 pm

40MHz is only for non-N cards.

extension channels can be found in the HT tab
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:28 pm

 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:31 pm

does RouterOS support that kind of interfaces?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:34 pm

R52N or other 11N card + frequency multiplier
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:35 pm

that's basically an external converter, doesn't count
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:40 pm

i dont know any "direct" 10GHz interface for mikrotik, for 10GHz multiplier you must use nstreme dual /separated rx and tx chains/ ant frequency converter in dish
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24609
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:41 pm

yeah, but my question was - why need 14Mhz channel ?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 3:43 pm

basicaly i dont need 14MHz, i need 28MHz for maximum throughtput, but in normal situation wit this extender 40MHz is bigger than maximal allowed 28MHz for 10GHz and 20MHz is too small :) 14MHz is bons when i have 28MHz width
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 4:31 pm

Normis..

Why the channel bandwidth is not able to set for 5Mhz, 10Mhz, 15Mhz, 20Mhz, 25Mhz, 30Mhz, 35Mhz, 40Mhz?
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 4:58 pm

and 28MHz for Czech
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:12 pm

basicaly i dont need 14MHz, i need 28MHz for maximum throughtput, but in normal situation wit this extender 40MHz is bigger than maximal allowed 28MHz for 10GHz and 20MHz is too small :) 14MHz is bons when i have 28MHz width
How you make it running in the 10Ghz? and where can source for the antenna? and, how far 10Ghz can go for it? throughput?
 
charliebrown
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:27 am

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:08 am

Just because there isnt a direct interface card (Maybe MT could make some???) doesnt mean the need for the channel width's isnt real, right now if we want to goto a licensed band we cant use MT, We would like to tho.

Is this a routerOS change or would the atheros drivers need work? To me its a nice to have feature but not urgent
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Thu Aug 12, 2010 10:29 am

In czech republic is 10GHz freeband, classic 10GHz radio can work to 30km / 120cm dishes, and we have manufacturers, that can do frequency converters to 10GHz, classic 10GHz radio can work +- 155Mbps, when you have R52n with frequency multiplier, use 2 cards in nstreme dual -- rx and tx chain to converter here http://pojitko.cz/index.php/fotogalerie/category/8-m0r you have some screens of link with frequency converter, code name of this is M0R, here you have some info http://www.pojitko.cz/index.php/projekt-mor
 
Insider
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 4:51 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:38 am

Just because there isnt a direct interface card (Maybe MT could make some???) doesnt mean the need for the channel width's isnt real, right now if we want to goto a licensed band we cant use MT, We would like to tho.

Is this a routerOS change or would the atheros drivers need work? To me its a nice to have feature but not urgent
It is not any extra ordinary driver needed. It is change of single registry in radio part. We already did it before in our Asura project with regular setting, but new bandwidth it did 75mbit instead of 50. It deviates a mask a bit, but it than passes better way ETSI regulatory domain as the top gets curved a bit. It is just matter of wannabe of Mikrotikis guys..
The throughput will grow up by bandwidth accordingly. :lol:

Any way I am eager to do it because we already gave up the role of FW developer, we hold our business, which is pure microwave business
Frequency microwave transvertors, design, development, manufacture
http://Pojitko.cz
 
charliebrown
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:27 am

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Sun Aug 15, 2010 5:44 am

So on the topic of licensed bands, anyone got any links to good freq converters? around say the 10-14ghz range
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Sun Aug 15, 2010 9:37 am

Write to Insider in previous post, is MANUFACTURER of 10GHz and other licenced radios / and converters/ http://www.pojitko.cz
 
Insider
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 4:51 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Sun Aug 15, 2010 12:18 pm

Actually, you can see Atheros mask on 10,5GHz with 28MHz mask on our front page, suiting ETSI 302217-2-2 regulatory, if Mikrotikis will do it, it will open up doors to semi pro radio relays market. We are then ready to make upbander radio for 9-14 GHz immediately, and up to 30GHz in range of a year. Actual results with single HT in N standard gives in dual nstreme 60mbps ine way in 20MHz mask. The 28MHz mask will give you 84+ mbits real world..

We are even able to split the frequencies of regular nstreme and will make simplex radio TX-ing one frequency RX-ing another one. Which is not very interesting, but... If Mikrotik will provide support for nstreme dual MP protocol (which will be realy big deal :) ) can be competitive with Wimax radios :)
It is already friendly for licensed bands in some countries, where frequency duplex for MP demanded.
I already tried to contact John from Mikrotikis, he spoke back to me back.. But no progress.. Any way we will be now for start support Mikrotiks platform purely, but in future it will more depend on feed back from modem part manufacturer developer, who we will follow, then else on platform only..

Mike
Frequency microwave transvertors, design, development, manufacture
http://Pojitko.cz
 
Stanislav Hrncir
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:35 pm
Location: CZ
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:36 am

+1 :)
 
Insider
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 4:51 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Thu Aug 19, 2010 3:18 pm

OK.. So.. Nstreme Dual on 10,5 GHz works fine. Now days power out is 0dBm, which is fine for links up to 10Km with some reasonable escape spare (cca 15dB with 2ft antennas). Speed is 65/65mbit with single HT and 20MHz channel gives net thruput 60mbit in top, average is about 58mbit one way. 40MHz mask gives 114mbits each way..

There is still some bug on protocol and 52N cards with N-standard 2,4GHz, as it has regular packet losses for approx 100ms each 7s.

Do the Mikrotikis crew make anything about it? Thanks For help
Frequency microwave transvertors, design, development, manufacture
http://Pojitko.cz
 
charliebrown
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:27 am

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Fri Aug 20, 2010 2:23 am

Hey Insider,

Sorry for the public post but I've emailed you guys a couple of times now after info/pricing for your gear. Can you give me a e-mail? mikrotik@tristram.cheer.com
 
Insider
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 4:51 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:32 pm

Sorry your mail wont work
<mikrotik@tristram.cheer.com>: Host or domain name not found. Name service
error for name=tristram.cheer.com type=A: Host not found

Hey Insider,

Sorry for the public post but I've emailed you guys a couple of times now after info/pricing for your gear. Can you give me a e-mail? mikrotik@tristram.cheer.com
Frequency microwave transvertors, design, development, manufacture
http://Pojitko.cz
 
charliebrown
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 3:27 am

Re: RouterOS V5.0Beta6 ....

Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:04 am

Sorry your mail wont work
<mikrotik@tristram.cheer.com>: Host or domain name not found. Name service
error for name=tristram.cheer.com type=A: Host not found

Hey Insider,

Sorry for the public post but I've emailed you guys a couple of times now after info/pricing for your gear. Can you give me a e-mail? mikrotik@tristram.cheer.com
Sorry stupid typo, mikrotik@tristramcheer.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: seriosha and 66 guests