Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
teemx
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 9:58 am

HotSpot subnet

Fri Sep 09, 2005 1:07 pm

I have an HotSpot running with MT 2.8, with a real hotspot network of 10.0.0.1/24, dhcp-pool assigning 255.255.255.0 to all my hotspot user, but I would like to have 255.0.0.0 subnet to be assigned to my user, how can I do it? and where should I making change?

Please advice Mikrotik Master... Thank you.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6623
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:05 pm

Can you explain, why do you need this subnet ?
 
User avatar
timatics
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:50 pm
Location: Ames, Ia

Fri Sep 09, 2005 5:53 pm

under
ip dhcp-server network>
change 10.0.0.0/24 to 10.0.0.0/8

there has to be a better way to do what you are trying to do than channging the subnet mask. why are you wanting to do this?
 
teemx
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 9:58 am

Sat Sep 10, 2005 3:03 pm

We had numbers of Access Point (AP) setting up on our old networks with subnet 255.0.0.0, beside changing all the AP, is better to have the Hotspot subnet changed to matching them.

Thank you and will try on your suggested.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6623
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Sat Sep 10, 2005 6:35 pm

change address for pool and in IP address menu.

There probably will be a lot of waste broadcat traffic in your network.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jebz, Wangz, yanpi and 34 guests