Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

No Internet access through a PPP dial in Connection

Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:26 pm

Hi all,

I recently configured a X86 box to operate as a PPP server and PPPOE server. Users that connect via a PPPOE connection con connect to the internet without any problem. The PPP server and the PPPOE server bot use the same IP address pool and firewall rule. Is there any thing else I need to configure to enable PPP users to connect to the internet through this box? Pls advise.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: No Internet access through a PPP dial in Connection

Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:44 pm

I am still trying to get this to work. Basically I am just trying to configure the router to work as when in those days you only had dialup internet from an ISP. Pls help/advise on config. Thanks
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: No Internet access through a PPP dial in Connection

Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:15 am

Help Help.

After the dialinf PC connects, you can ping the local host. When you try to ping a dns server of the ISP, you get a response of "destination net unreacheable." I had configured the firewal to masquerade the IP address of the PPP connection to the out-interface. Does this setup work? Pls Help.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: No Internet access through a PPP dial in Connection

Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:25 am

I don't have much PPP experience and am unlikely to be able to help, but you might have more luck if you post your actual configuration rather than a pretty vague description that leaves people guessing.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: No Internet access through a PPP dial in Connection

Tue Aug 31, 2010 5:58 pm

Here is the relevant section of the config:

[admin@CMPTNS_BW_Cntrl] /interface ppp-server> print
Flags: X - disabled, R - running

3 name="ppp-in4" max-mtu=1450 max-mru=1450 mrru=disabled port=serial0
authentication=mschap2 profile=Dial-in modem-init="" ring-count=1
null-modem=no

[admin@CMPTNS_BW_Cntrl] /ppp profile> print
Flags: * - default
0 * name="default" local-address=172.20.0.20 remote-address=dhcp_pool1
use-compression=default use-vj-compression=default
use-encryption=default only-one=default change-tcp-mss=yes
dns-server=200.32.248.1,200.32.218.132

1 name="Dial-in" local-address=10.10.10.5 remote-address=Dial_In
session-timeout=58m use-compression=default use-vj-compression=default
use-encryption=default only-one=yes change-tcp-mss=default
dns-server=200.32.248.1,200.32.218.132

2 * name="default-encryption" use-compression=default
use-vj-compression=default use-encryption=yes only-one=default
change-tcp-mss=yes

[admin@CMPTNS_BW_Cntrl] /ip firewall nat> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
0 chain=srcnat action=masquerade src-address=172.20.0.0/16 out-interface=WAN

1 chain=srcnat action=masquerade src-address=10.10.10.5 out-interface=WAN



Hope this helps. Thanks.
 
econst
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:33 pm

Re: No Internet access through a PPP dial in Connection

Sun Sep 05, 2010 12:26 am

Any further ideas on this configuration?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Kevenkr, noko, nolat23 and 62 guests