Community discussions

 
pradeepvardhineni211
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:38 am

x86 based MT ROS not working properly

Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:57 pm

Hi,

I'm facing a very big problem with my Mikrotik x86 system.below is the system hardware configuration,

processor: 2*xeon 3.06 GHz(total 4 core)
Mother Board:Intel server board SE7501BR2
Ram:2*1 Gb DDR2
HDD:80 Gb sata
ROS:3.25 with one in-built gigabit ethernet controller and 3 normal 100 Mbps ethernet controllers.

and my problem is each and every day I need to restart the system 3-4 times because suddenly it will stop responding i.e, there will no data transfer happening on the interfaces and there is no errors in the logs also at this time the CPU utilization also only 40-50% and 1800 Mb ram is free.

Can anybody help in fixing this issue.

Thanks in Advance
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: x86 based MT ROS not working properly

Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:55 pm

try either 3.30 or 4.11 and report back.
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
dadosonic
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 3:55 pm

Re: x86 based MT ROS not working properly

Mon Sep 13, 2010 9:17 am

I have a similar problem with my core router. CPU load is max 27-28% but MT crashes randomly. When it chrashes I can see PC through IP Neighbour but I can not log on it. It looks like all ethernets or partially down because somethims I can ping it but there is no traffic at all. Mikrotik has serious issues with v.4.x. Last good working was v.3.30 and after that I have a lot of problems.

version: "4.9"
free-memory: 1806208kB
total-memory: 1945692kB
cpu: "Intel(R)"
cpu-count: 4
cpu-frequency: 2838MHz
cpu-load: 13
free-hdd-space: 1848856kB
total-hdd-space: 1916304kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 2497293
write-sect-total: 2497293
architecture-name: "x86"
board-name: "x86"
platform: "MikroTik"
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: x86 based MT ROS not working properly

Mon Sep 13, 2010 3:44 pm

Simply put, there is many other things that you have to look at vs, does RouterOS load on my x86 system. Check your bios settings, check to make sure your equipment has proper buss design etc.

There are also a number of other x86 based solutions. I actually make one, http://www.mikrotikrouter.com. Notice that ours is the only one you can run v2,v3 or v4 on, as well as we are a MFM program parter. We have over 4+ years of development and reliability on these units, so this might be a direct replacement for your existing x86 box. You can see other MFM program partners at http://www.mikrotik.com/mfm.php?category=1
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kevinl and 50 guests