Community discussions

 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Need help with Radius CoA

Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:46 am

Dear developers, I've got problem with Radius CoA.

Details: Radius server send CoA request for some current session:
09-28/09:38:19  INFO [nas-con-insp-PodNasConnectionInspector-rtr22] connections - [ 000006; test6@virtual; 74450 ] CoA packet on 10.13.28.160:1700
Packet type: CoA-Request
Identifier: 5
Authenticator: {B7 63 55 33 AE 41 D4 9D 96 A5 6D C3 53 AD 04 28}
Attributes:
  User-Name=test6@virtual
  Acct-Session-Id=81a00216
  Mikrotik-Rate-Limit=2048k/2048k
But Mikrotik answers with CoA-NAK:
09-28/09:38:19  INFO [nas-con-insp-PodNasConnectionInspector-rtr22] connections - [ 000006; test6@virtual; 74450 ] CoA packet response:
Packet type: CoA-NAK
Identifier: 5
Authenticator: {D7 50 54 4C D3 73 53 B8 B1 FF AB DC 77 49 90 02}
Attributes:
  NAS-Identifier=rtr22
  UNKNOWN[-1-101]={00 00 01 96}
  NAS-IP-Address=10.13.28.160
From mikrotik router log it looks like this:
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet received CoA-Request with id 4 from 10.13.28.155:54615 
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet     Signature = 0x52e4a2dcb66f976557505bb714a308b9 
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet     User-Name = "test6@virtual" 
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet     Acct-Session-Id = "81a00216" 
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet     MT-Rate-Limit = "2048k/2048k" 
09:38:14 radius,debug received remote request 47 code=CoA-Request from 10.13.28.155:54615 
09:38:14 radius,debug sending CoA-NAK to remote request 47 
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet sending CoA-NAK with id 4 to 10.13.28.155:54615 
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet     Signature = 0x20941ef675e523b2bf8cdb3773bac73b 
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet     Error-Cause = 406 
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet     NAS-Identifier = "rtr22" 
09:38:14 radius,debug,packet     NAS-IP-Address = 10.13.28.160 
Please help me to find out the problem...
God bless UNIX!
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Tue Sep 28, 2010 12:31 pm

Sorry for bumping, but i am seriously need help. Does MT support CoA for PPPoE?
God bless UNIX!
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:12 am

Sorry for bumping, but i am seriously need help. Does MT support CoA for PPPoE?
Sorry... but does anybody know? Is it possible?
God bless UNIX!
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:42 pm

Doesn't seem that it is supported. Error 406 means unsupported extension, which is sent when disconnect or CoA is unavailable. See RFC3576 section 3.1. The attributes you are sending are listed as supported by the Mikrotik wiki so that shouldn't be the issue.

But maybe email support@mikrotik.com to confirm as that is the authoritative resource, and then post the official response back here so others with the same issue can find it.

Edit: though, isn't it Mikrotik-Rate-Limit rather than MT-Rate-Limit? Then again it would be taken from the dictionary if it's showing up in the logs so I don't know that that could be the problem. Maybe just make sure that your RADIUS server is sending vendor 14988, type 8, string.
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:50 pm

Doesn't seem that it is supported. Error 406 means unsupported extension, which is sent when disconnect or CoA is unavailable. See RFC3576 section 3.1. The attributes you are sending are listed as supported by the Mikrotik wiki so that shouldn't be the issue.

But maybe email support@mikrotik.com to confirm as that is the authoritative resource, and then post the official response back here so others with the same issue can find it.

Edit: though, isn't it Mikrotik-Rate-Limit rather than MT-Rate-Limit? Then again it would be taken from the dictionary if it's showing up in the logs so I don't know that that could be the problem. Maybe just make sure that your RADIUS server is sending vendor 14988, type 8, string.
I am already mail to support, but have no answer... Still waiting for official response.

Thanks for your attention about radius attributes... I will investigate them again.
God bless UNIX!
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:12 pm

Dear developers! Could you please help me to find out an answer on this topic?
God bless UNIX!
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Fri Oct 01, 2010 3:33 pm

Dear developers! Could you please help me to find out an answer on this topic?
Can anybody help me! Anybody!
God bless UNIX!
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:27 pm

Sorry for bumping again... Can anybody find out, does CoA work on PPPoE sessions?
God bless UNIX!
 
eneimi
Member
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:55 pm

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:51 pm

As of the last stable version of UM and even into version 4 test, no it does not.
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:13 pm

As of the last stable version of UM and even into version 4 test, no it does not.
yes, i`ve got official support answer: pppoe coa is not supported... very, very bad...
God bless UNIX!
 
jacovant
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 12:11 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:57 am

This also does not work for the hotspot. So it seems COA is NOT supported at all....

Mikrotik, when will support for this be added?
Jaco van Tonder
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:14 am

PPPoE does not support CoA. Only DM (disconnect message) are supported for PPP.
CoA are supported for HotSpot only.

Disconnect Messages disconnects PPPoE client, while different settings should be applied on RADIUS server.
PPPoE client redials and gets new settings from RADIUS server.
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:14 pm

PPPoE does not support CoA. Only DM (disconnect message) are supported for PPP.
CoA are supported for HotSpot only.

Disconnect Messages disconnects PPPoE client, while different settings should be applied on RADIUS server.
PPPoE client redials and gets new settings from RADIUS server.
Does MT 5.0rc4 have PPPoE CoA support? How can I understand this: "radius - fixed Disconnect and CoA response signature generation"? What does it mean?
God bless UNIX!
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Sat Dec 04, 2010 2:46 pm

Sorry again for bumping, but can anybody answer? Maybe Mikrotik stuff help me?
God bless UNIX!
 
kara
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:10 pm
Location: Russia, Stavropol

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:16 pm

+1 to topic starter

we also need this feachure
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6616
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: Need help with Radius CoA

Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:54 am

Does MT 5.0rc4 have PPPoE CoA support?
No.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 76 guests