Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Transparent Bridge, using EoIP tunnel - How-to question!

Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:19 am

Last step:
Move the IP addresses from Ethernet to bridge interfaces:
[admin@AP] ip address> set [find interface=ether1 ] interface=bridge1
[admin@AP] ip address> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
  #   ADDRESS            NETWORK         BROADCAST       INTERFACE
  0   10.0.0.215/24      10.0.0.0        10.0.0.255      bridge1
  1   10.1.0.1/24        10.1.0.0        10.1.0.255      wlan1
[admin@AP] ip address>

[admin@Station] ip address> set [find interface=ether1 ] interface=bridge1
[admin@Station] ip address> print                                                                                    
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
  #   ADDRESS            NETWORK         BROADCAST       INTERFACE                                                   
  0   10.0.0.216/24      10.0.0.0        10.0.0.255      bridge1                                                     
  1   10.1.0.2/24        10.1.0.0        10.1.0.255      wlan1                                                    
[admin@Station] ip address>
What is the reason for doing it ? I didn't do it and my sistem is working perfekt the idea of the constructions is:



LAN1 - eth - ROS - wlan 5.x ~~~~~ wlan 5.x - ROS - eth - LAN2

Where LAN1 and LAN2 should see each other without any problem :).

Get from: http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/ho ... to.content

Now the ip addresses are:

Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 ;;; added by setup
10.33.124.20/25 10.33.124.0 10.33.124.127 Builtin
1 10.124.124.2/30 10.124.124.0 10.124.124.3 Senao


and on the other side:

Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 ;;; added by setup
10.33.124.10/25 10.33.124.0 10.33.124.127 Builtin
1 10.124.124.1/30 10.124.124.0 10.124.124.3 Senao
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6621
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:30 am

you ask about setting IP address for Bridge ?

you can as well configure it for one of the interfaces in the bridge.
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Fri Sep 16, 2005 10:40 am

you ask about setting IP address for Bridge ?

you can as well configure it for one of the interfaces in the bridge.
Ok soo, the 5 step is unduly.
That was the questions - thanks.
 
User avatar
savagedavid
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 310
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:58 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Fri Sep 30, 2005 9:13 am

I tried this out with 2.9rc7. After about an hour the bridge went crazy and started flooding the network with packets (brought the whole network down until I figured out what it was.) I removed the bridge and now it is back to normal.

I set it up exactly as in the how-to. (I am very new to Microtik)
 
aviper
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 5:48 pm

Sun Oct 02, 2005 10:41 pm

I tried this out with 2.9rc7. After about an hour the bridge went crazy and started flooding the network with packets (brought the whole network down until I figured out what it was.) I removed the bridge and now it is back to normal.

I set it up exactly as in the how-to. (I am very new to Microtik)
rc = Release Candidate. It is not stable version. Use 2.8.x ot 2.9.x instead.
 
wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: Transparent Bridge, using EoIP tunnel - How-to question!

Mon Oct 03, 2005 5:06 am

Last step:
Move the IP addresses from Ethernet to bridge interfaces:
[admin@AP] ip address> set [find interface=ether1 ] interface=bridge1
[admin@AP] ip address> print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
  #   ADDRESS            NETWORK         BROADCAST       INTERFACE
  0   10.0.0.215/24      10.0.0.0        10.0.0.255      bridge1
  1   10.1.0.1/24        10.1.0.0        10.1.0.255      wlan1
[admin@AP] ip address>

[admin@Station] ip address> set [find interface=ether1 ] interface=bridge1
[admin@Station] ip address> print                                                                                    
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
  #   ADDRESS            NETWORK         BROADCAST       INTERFACE                                                   
  0   10.0.0.216/24      10.0.0.0        10.0.0.255      bridge1                                                     
  1   10.1.0.2/24        10.1.0.0        10.1.0.255      wlan1                                                    
[admin@Station] ip address>
What is the reason for doing it ? I didn't do it and my sistem is working perfekt the idea of the constructions is:



LAN1 - eth - ROS - wlan 5.x ~~~~~ wlan 5.x - ROS - eth - LAN2

Where LAN1 and LAN2 should see each other without any problem :).

Get from: http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.8/ho ... to.content

Now the ip addresses are:

Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 ;;; added by setup
10.33.124.20/25 10.33.124.0 10.33.124.127 Builtin
1 10.124.124.2/30 10.124.124.0 10.124.124.3 Senao


and on the other side:

Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
# ADDRESS NETWORK BROADCAST INTERFACE
0 ;;; added by setup
10.33.124.10/25 10.33.124.0 10.33.124.127 Builtin
1 10.124.124.1/30 10.124.124.0 10.124.124.3 Senao
The IP address is for management purposes only.. Bridges operate at layer 2 and have no need or use for an IP address. The only reason for assigning the IP address to the bridge interface is to be able to remotely manage the device from all interfaces in the bridge. Whether your connecting from the WLAN interface or an ethernet interface.

If you only want to be able to access the router from the ether1 interface then the way you set it up is fine and suites your needs.

"There's more than one way to skin a cat."

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anav, flohman, MSN [Bot], mur and 99 guests