Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
JCesar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:57 am

RB750 ether5 port FAIL?

Thu Oct 14, 2010 11:45 am

i have 1 RB750 some day ago the port 5 is unable to connect i try to reset configuration, but don't work, the led 5 still off ... any help is welcome
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: RB750 ether5 port FAIL?

Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:33 pm

Contact your reseller and get it exchanged.
 
JCesar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:57 am

Re: RB750 ether5 port FAIL?

Fri Oct 15, 2010 7:23 am

Contact your reseller and get it exchanged.
Thanks fewi, i will try thanks

thanks too for this rules that you post on http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=43469 very helpful
i was wondering if you can give any help on this

how i can detect a WAN Fail and change all current conections to working WAN .. you can give any clue? please :) thaks!!

RB750 3.29 (another one)
Regards
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: RB750 ether5 port FAIL?

Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:45 pm

Unless you have your own IP space and AS and are running multihomed BGP those connections are NAT'd to public IPs associated uniquely with just one circuit. NAT only happens once at the beginning of a connection. Since you can't change what IP address a connection was NAT'd to, and since the other WAN circuit is going to throw away traffic with the wrong IP source IP address (even if it accepted it return traffic wouldn't come back through that circuit) you cannot swing over established connections to a different circuit.
Even if miraculously you could change the source IP address after NAT the endpoint out on the Internet would discard traffic because from its point of view it doesn't know what connection the packets belong to as the source IP changed.

In short: you can't solve that problem.
 
JCesar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:57 am

Re: RB750 ether5 port FAIL?

Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:54 pm

In short: you can't solve that problem.
oki fewi, thanks a lot for you time. Im a noob with mikrotik and and I still have a long way

i was wondering about if you can give an advice about load balance choice NTH/PCC?
current i have load balance NTH with masquerade i use this tuto http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NTH_load_ ... pproach%29

1.- before i have only one hotpot on the mikrotik RB750 in the POINTA, but i have some issues with the printers LAN use MAC authentication,then i do the configuration that show in the next diagram

and this is a diagram from my scenario

Image
loaded with ImageShack.us

Thanks again for you help
regards
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: RB750 ether5 port FAIL?

Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:04 pm

Just to be clear: the connections on failover problem isn't Mikrotik specific - that would be a problem with any vendor. It's a problem due to how TCP/IP works.

I'm not sure what your PCC/Nth question is.
 
JCesar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:57 am

Re: RB750 ether5 port FAIL?

Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:18 pm

thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: crazyperson, erlinden, fgont, Google [Bot], jetherson and 110 guests