Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Trezona
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:34 pm

Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:50 am

Hello,

Would it be possible to reset the counters individually in the Interface list?

The only way i can do this at the moment is to reboot the mikrotik device...

Thanks.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8393
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:10 pm

yeah, I was always wondering, what "/interface ethernet reset-counters" is... does it change at least something?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
Trezona
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:34 pm

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:25 pm

yeah, I was always wondering, what "/interface ethernet reset-counters" is... does it change at least something?..
No! sorry, thats not what i meant!

What i failed to add was there is no "Reset Counters" or "Reset All Counters" in Winbox under Interfaces/interface....
 
lorell
newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 3:15 am

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:22 am

OK. Seriously, how do I reset the RX error count on an ethernet interface?
/interface ethernet reset-counters
...seems to do nothing. 5.0rc7 on x86.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Wed Feb 02, 2011 4:15 pm

that can only be done using CLI at the moment with this command
/interface ethernet reset-counters <interface>
 
DonGould
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:50 am

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:01 am

Command doesn't seem to work on an RB750.

Image
New to RB750G - 1 Jan 2011 - so be nice and sorry for the idiot questions, I'll do my best to read the wiki if you just point me to the right pages. :)
 
Xerbi999
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 8:33 am

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Sun May 08, 2011 8:36 am

An Update would be nice on this. It neither works on a RB433 (ROS 4.17)
 
DonGould
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 7:50 am

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Sun May 08, 2011 11:27 am

An Update would be nice on this. It neither works on a RB433 (ROS 4.17)
I couldn't get it to work on 5.1 on my 750 when I upgraded either. Some of the counters did seem to reset, but not all.

D
New to RB750G - 1 Jan 2011 - so be nice and sorry for the idiot questions, I'll do my best to read the wiki if you just point me to the right pages. :)
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Fri May 13, 2011 1:00 pm

on interface counters it has to be driver supported. Some interfaces support that, some do not or do not yet.

Like Rb800, RB433 has this feature supported.
(/system ethernet reset-counters ether1)

edit:forgot to montion - use latest RouterOS version. in this case 5.x
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8393
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Fri May 13, 2011 1:29 pm

will you add that to VLAN driver? ppp interfaces?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
BrianHiggins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 600
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:07 am
Location: Norwalk, CT
Contact:

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:17 pm

will you add that to VLAN driver? ppp interfaces?..

Any update on resetting PPP interfaces? Clearly that isn't drive dependant...
-Brian

http://www.aditumims.com
Complete web based ISP in-a-box solution, designed specifically for Multi-Tenant properties, works great for WISPs too.
 
russman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 7:23 pm

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Fri May 10, 2013 8:03 pm

I'm running 5.22 on x86 and I it takes the /interface ethernet reset-counters ether1 command but it does nothing still.
 
postavik
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:01 am

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Sun Jan 12, 2014 7:24 am

RouterOS 6.7. The problem still remains...
 
Krisken
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:35 am

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Mon Jun 30, 2014 12:18 pm

Even with routerOS 6.15 is remains on my RB2011UAS.

The modem of my ISP is connected on port 10 and i have a provider with a datalimit (100GB/month). So it would be nice if i could see how much i've already downloaded/uploaded etc...
 
Zilog
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 20, 2014 6:22 pm

Re: Resetting Counters in the Interface List

Fri Jan 30, 2015 4:36 pm

Resetting PPP interface would be nice!

What i found out...and it's works for me
Remove the PPP interface and undo the remove.
by scrip:
/interface disable PPP1;
:delay 1s;
/interface ppp-client remove PPP1;
:delay 1s;
:undo;
:delay 1s;
/interface enable PPP1;

Prevent If the router has a power loss or whatever under the "resetting"...
can make a startup Boot script to recover or enable the PPP interface if it's required...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Easpeak, eworm, Google [Bot], gotsprings and 92 guests