Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Add driver

Sat Oct 01, 2005 12:59 am

I always wonder about this command.

/driver add copy-from=

I have not seen any drivers for download, so why this command?
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Add driver

Mon Oct 03, 2005 10:14 am

I always wonder about this command.

/driver add copy-from=

I have not seen any drivers for download, so why this command?
It is used to load some old ISA cards and also the ISDN drivers.
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:42 pm

Thanks for the answer uldis. Is the driver included in the installation, or do I need to upload them to the RouterOS? IMHO, I think you should make more drivers available even if you do not official support them. I can see several reason to buy more licenses just for my personal interests, not to mention on my workplace. I believe that there is more than just me that could have use for those drivers. The lack of some drivers actually force me to use something else.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:21 am

this command is only for ISA ethernet cards and ISDN modems, as Uldis already wrote you. they are included in the OS and you just need to load them. this command does't have anything to do with wireless cards or PCI ethernet cards, it is impossible to make what you ask. for each card we have to make a configuration page, a menu, options, and test it. we don't just `load the driver`.
 
Borage
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 10:19 pm

Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:09 am

Thanks, that explained a lot. I didn't knew that there is a separate menu for every cards.
Last edited by Borage on Wed Oct 05, 2005 1:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:28 am

not for every card, but for example wireless cards - atheros, prism, cisco, orinocco - all have different configuration settings. you have to also read information from EEPROM and output it. this is not so easy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], brixsat, saltynomad and 46 guests