Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 2303
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Released 4.15

Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:40 pm

What's new in 4.15 (2010-Dec-13 12:37):

*) upgraded broken RB1000 bootloader which was included with v4.14;

What's new in 4.14 (2010-Dec-10 12:07):

*) radius - fixed Disconnect and CoA response signature generation;
*) radius - do not include NAS-Identifier & NAS-IP-Address in Disconnect and CoA responses;
*) added hotspot html variable "host-ip";
*) wireless nv2 - fixed station-wds mode multicast problem;
*) wireless nv2 - fixed occasional encrypted link stalls;
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: Released 4.15

Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:55 pm

Will not download - I can download RouterOS 3.30 or RouterOS 5.0rc5 but not RouterOS 4.15, torrent will not start and getting "http://download.mikrotik.com/netinstall-4.15.zip - 404 - Not Found" ??
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 2303
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Released 4.15

Mon Dec 13, 2010 9:30 pm

What mirror? For me is USA and other ok
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: Released 4.15

Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:18 pm

That is symptomatic for MT development - release a new version to release another one shortly to fix previous release.
I see lack of testing here. Also, once and once again why does not release notes list all changes?
 
User avatar
SeaburyNorton
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:39 pm

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 3:59 am

Upgraded from 4.14 to 4.15 on RB450G. Upgrade seemed to have failed, router simply never came back. After 17 minutes I pulled the power and then plugged back in. Router seemed to boot up just fine with new 4.15 version after that.


Are we SURE the 4.14 boot loader bug didn't affect other models?
 
wispwest
Member
Member
Posts: 477
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:48 am

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:06 am

The links are dead for this HTTP download (combined package) from the Mikrotik site. They must have found a bug... Although my email this morning from Mikrotik says 4.14 is now released, but on the website says 4.15?
 
illiniwireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:36 am
Location: USA

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:10 am

I tried to upgrade from 3.30 to 4.15 and it told me my license was invalid so I reverted back and all was well. Why did it do this? I've never had this happen before. I tried to update license but that failed as well. Anybody have an awnser. Thanks

Never mind found the answer farther down the forum.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 7:39 am

I tried to upgrade from 3.30 to 4.15 and it told me my license was invalid so I reverted back and all was well. Why did it do this? I've never had this happen before. I tried to update license but that failed as well. Anybody have an awnser. Thanks

Never mind found the answer farther down the forum.
you put the package into the wrong folder. FTP it to the root directory, and if you drag files from desktop, drop them into the FILES window, not Packages
Are we SURE the 4.14 boot loader bug didn't affect other models?
yes we are
The links are dead for this HTTP download (combined package) from the Mikrotik site. They must have found a bug...
No, the links are working (see above responses). If not sure, always use torrent download. It works.
Although my email this morning from Mikrotik says 4.14 is now released, but on the website says 4.15?

v4.14 was released ~12 hours earlier, you probably didn't check email during that time.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
OutdoorXplorer
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 5:43 am

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:06 am

I can't get any of the link working including torrent. Are the files removed?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:17 am

I can't get any of the link working including torrent. Are the files removed?
works fine for me, and other people.
Image
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jboban
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:27 am

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:37 am

Not for me, too... :?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:51 am

This isn't the first build thats been an emergency show stopper of a bug with RB's, How does something like this get past QA?

I feel sorry for whoever the user was that found this and had his config wipped, It took 60 hours post-release to release this information to the rest of us
 
abdu808
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:07 am

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:52 pm

Are we SURE the 4.14 boot loader bug didn't affect other models?
yes we are

433ah
i have bug boot loader 4.14 and 4.15
 
jboban
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:27 am

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:30 pm

The download links are valid now. Thank you!
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:10 am

The download links are valid now. Thank you!
IF this happens again: when you click on the link, DNS load balancing makes sure you get a different server every time. If you happened to get a server which didn't finish updating it's files yet, you got a 404 error. Just refresh and try again, you will get a better server. We are making the system a little different now, so that the server is not offered if the files are not there yet.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: Released 4.15

Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:22 am

This isn't the first build thats been an emergency show stopper of a bug with RB's, How does something like this get past QA?

I feel sorry for whoever the user was that found this and had his config wipped, It took 60 hours post-release to release this information to the rest of us
Mikrotik,
I thought we had this discussion before? Did you get the memo?
Doug
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:27 am

This isn't the first build thats been an emergency show stopper of a bug with RB's, How does something like this get past QA?

I feel sorry for whoever the user was that found this and had his config wipped, It took 60 hours post-release to release this information to the rest of us
Mikrotik,
I thought we had this discussion before? Did you get the memo?
Sorry about that. The problem was with one specific RouterBOARD model, and not after upgrade - only after Bootloader upgrade. So the problem is not in RouterOS, it was with the RB1000 bootloader that RouterOS included. The problem did not affect RB1000 users that didn't upgrade the bootloader.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: Released 4.15

Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:23 am

Hello,

I've just upgraded my RB433 from 3.30 to 4.15 and after installation when I open my RB in Winbox I got this message:
ROUTER HAS NO SOFTWARE KEY
-------------------------------------------------------------------

Your router does not have any valid key.
Please, get valid key from http://www.mikrotik.com
and enter it at "System | License".

If you already have paid for this license, please,
press "Update Key" in "License Window"

Router will stop functioning after 23h and 40m if no valid key is entered.
I've tried System > License > "Update License Key"
But in status I get: "failed: Invalid request received!"
Last edited by m4rk0 on Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:25 am

email support with your supout.rif file to solve the key issue
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: Released 4.15

Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:31 am

email support with your supout.rif file to solve the key issue
Please check...
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
illiniwireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 12:36 am
Location: USA

Re: Released 4.15

Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:39 am

m4rk0 just downgrade to 3.30 then update license and then upgrade to 4.15
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:57 am

m4rk0 just downgrade to 3.30 then update license and then upgrade to 4.15
bad idea. it's better to update the license when you are on v4
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
reddaddy32
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:26 pm

Re: Released 4.15

Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 pm

Did upgrade to 4.15 but now ipsec is gone, is it in a new place or do I need to load an optional package for it?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:24 pm

don't you have an "ip -> ipsec" menu?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
reddaddy32
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:26 pm

Re: Released 4.15

Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:27 pm

No its not, but i found it under the security file in the "all packages download"
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:28 pm

which files did you use when upgrading to this version? the combined package, or separate packages?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
reddaddy32
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:26 pm

Re: Released 4.15

Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:33 pm

I used the combined packages files.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:34 pm

what kind of device is that (architecture), and did you install this package manually before, or you also used only the big package?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
reddaddy32
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:26 pm

Re: Released 4.15

Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:43 pm

It is a RB750, first I installed the combined package "routeros-mipsbe-4.15.npk" through the files tab in the winloader, next I installed the "system-4.15-mipsbe.npk" out of the All Packages file and that got ipsec back.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:32 am

Well, MT. Thank you very much! :(

After a week almost trying to save my business I find now this bootloader bug has probably caused all my misery!

I have this rb1000 as my 210 clients border router connecting to 3 adsl lines and one fibre with client shaping.

Since this rb1000 still has the unsolved (by MT!) issue of random malfuncioning of ehterports I decided to finally put ros4.14 on it in the hope that this "stable" version is doing better in that issue.

After the upgrade I found my ntp package missing for the time server. So uploaded that separate (is not included in the npk package) and rebooted my most important unit of my net....

That is when disaster struck! :(

It took me two hours in the middle of the night in a freezing remote location to find out my complete system was erased!!
And then it took me an hour to realize that everytime when I made IP level access to the router and rebooted it all settings were yet again gone....

I decided to replace the rb1000 by another one, completely unconfigured! Running 4.11.
I decided not to upgrade this one and I also decided not to use a 3 month old backup since my network was basically completely rebuild in the last weeks anyway due another issue.

Meaning I had to write the complete new config of this rb1000 which costed me together with a second guy 6 hours just to get clients internet access back again with their subscribed limitations.

Spend the rest of the week to finish the config and troubleshoot issue again since all had to be done out of my head! (Fail over, firewall filter, mangle, QoS, Policy routing etc. etc.)

This was the last time I trust a "stable" version to be stable unless proven by many others it is....
 
User avatar
tomekmak
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 8:40 am
Location: Poland

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:41 am

I'm just tired of being beta-tester with 4.xx, loosing time and customers.
I got few hundreds of RB's and PC's and im not going to buy more of them.
MT OS was fine till 4.xx comes out. Latest stable for me is 3.30, all next releases are betas.
I just switched with wireless to other very popular solution, and im totally happy.
Incoming year will be a "replacement year". Good bye.
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:34 pm

I dont't understand why you don't test new software versions before you install them in the field.
Where I work we have 1000s of Juniper routers and 1000s of Cisco switches and routers. They all have their problems. Especially Juniper.. Their software for the SRX routers/firewalls is still pretty buggy. There is not a single release where everything works as it should, so we always test them before using them in the field.

Personally (me and a few friends living in the same area) are using several RB600's, RB450G's, RB250GS's and RB411ARs with R52N wifi cards to build a local network. We are using different 4.x versions and use OSPF, nstream, LDP/VPLS, QoS, NAT etcetera.. Everything works like a charm.
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:54 pm

I don't know why MT Staff doesn't test software on all RBs before releasing new version as Stable...
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
User avatar
tomekmak
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 8:40 am
Location: Poland

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 2:37 pm

I dont't understand why you don't test new software versions before you install them in the field.
Where I work we have 1000s of Juniper routers and 1000s of Cisco switches and routers. They all have their problems. Especially Juniper.. Their software for the SRX routers/firewalls is still pretty buggy. There is not a single release where everything works as it should, so we always test them before using them in the field.

Personally (me and a few friends living in the same area) are using several RB600's, RB450G's, RB250GS's and RB411ARs with R52N wifi cards to build a local network. We are using different 4.x versions and use OSPF, nstream, LDP/VPLS, QoS, NAT etcetera.. Everything works like a charm.
Dude, MT's staff claim that 4.xx is stable. Check all forums - load's of bugs, instability and so on.
Also u said that u have "several" MT's - i got them a lot more. And im sure Ciscos and Junipers are less buggy.
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 2:59 pm

Please do not feel being attacked :)
In my experience Juniper on the SRX platform is worse than ROS 4.x. Some versions have problems with dropping IPv6 traffic, some versions drop only IPv6 tunneled traffic, some versions don't allow IPv6 to be configured on a physical interface and some not on a virtual interface. Some have problems with crashing DHCP client and server. We see some SRX's with dying ports and fans.
All of the Juniper routers en Cisco switches are running the same version of the software. Before use we test them thoroughly for all the features we need. The Juniper SRX is the only platform for which there is still no software that allows to use all the features we want without running into some bugs. Even though Juniper say's it's a stable platform.
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:09 pm

Dude, MT's staff claim that 4.xx is stable. Check all forums - load's of bugs, instability and so on.
Also u said that u have "several" MT's - i got them a lot more. And im sure Ciscos and Junipers are less buggy.
http://praetorianprefect.com/archives/2 ... nal-crash/ 8)
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1818
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:08 pm

You have to test ROS-Version implement it and stay with it if there is no
reason for a change. Before spreading a version we wait, wait, test it
in lab, test it in a corner of the net and then roll it out to new systems.
Old systems stay where they are until there is a reason to update them.


[admin@gw17] > system resource print
uptime: 64w4d11h52m
version: "3.30"
free-memory: 61136kB
total-memory: 516844kB
cpu: "e500v2"
cpu-count: 1
cpu-frequency: 1333MHz
cpu-load: 12
free-hdd-space: 38032kB
total-hdd-space: 61440kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 55931731
write-sect-total: 82210289
bad-blocks: 3
architecture-name: "powerpc"
board-name: "RB1000"


BGP Full Feed, iBGP, OSPF, 100MBit/s at the Moment.

[admin@gw17] > system resource print
uptime: 64w4d11h52m
version: "3.30"
free-memory: 61136kB
total-memory: 516844kB
cpu: "e500v2"
cpu-count: 1
cpu-frequency: 1333MHz
cpu-load: 12
free-hdd-space: 38032kB
total-hdd-space: 61440kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 55931731
write-sect-total: 82210289
bad-blocks: 3
architecture-name: "powerpc"
board-name: "RB1000"

BGP Full Feed, iBGP, OSPF, Backup System.
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:22 pm

I dont't understand why you don't test new software versions before you install them in the field.
You know, the only real test is a live environment. I already had several 10ths of rb's working with 4.14 without problems. Because on other boards this version ran without any further problems for my setups AND according the website this version IS STABLE, AND on the forum at the time no topics around that should warn me I figured it to be safe to put it on my rb1000.
I wanted to do so because I am getting sick of this board randomly dropping one of its Ethernet ports. (A problem existing on this forum but nobody seems to have an answer to it.... :( This is another issue that MT not seems to be able to sort.)

Anyway, I uploaded the board with v4.14 and rebooted it and it ran. It ran for two days until I discovered that my clocks on several boards weren't updated anymore. So searched for the problem and found the 4.14 package did not install the ntp server again.
So I took that package and uploaded it into my rb1000 and rebooted it. Then all went down the drain...


So, to repeat your question why I didn't test the upgrade before I can only repeat that I took all reasonable precautions in a normal situation.
If I would have uploaded the firmware onto my ´reserve´ rb1000 I still would not have found the issue until the first time it needed a reboot.

If every time a new "STABLE" version is brought out and I have then to test it on the same router under the same circumstances and for some days for ALL my routers in ALL their different setups I might as well forget all about upgrading.... You would never be able anymore to build and run a network.


The bottom line is: If MT has two families of firmware running, one development and one "stable" then the user should be able to rely on the promise the stable version can be used! It just sucks it can't and that is not my fault! Is it the development dept. of MT that has not been doing it homework!
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:33 pm

You have to test ROS-Version implement it and stay with it if there is no
reason for a change.
I had a reason for a change (failing ether interface) and I have only 1 rb10000 in my network anyway.
So your point, which is a point in general, is not a point in this particular situation.

My problem with the randomly failing ether interface of this rb1000 also existed in some other boards where they seem to be disappeared after the upgrade to 4.14 so my hope was that would also be the case in my one and only and most important rb1000. Hence the reason I did the upgrade.

Apart from that, there are still plenty of items to be upgraded or corrected or just to be improved to justify continous upgrades for all my routerboards.
Think about new winbox options, think about nv2, etc.
Functionality has been improved over time and I can hardly wait until 5.x is stable enough to use it. It already has improvement in it I have been waiting for a long time and some are really needed to.
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1818
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:53 pm

You have to test ROS-Version implement it and stay with it if there is no
reason for a change.
I had a reason for a change (failing ether interface) and I have only 1 rb10000 in my network anyway.
So your point, which is a point in general, is not a point in this particular situation.

My problem with the randomly failing ether interface of this rb1000 also existed in some other boards where they seem to be disappeared after the upgrade to 4.14 so my hope was that would also be the case in my one and only and most important rb1000. Hence the reason I did the upgrade.

Apart from that, there are still plenty of items to be upgraded or corrected or just to be improved to justify continous upgrades for all my routerboards.
Think about new winbox options, think about nv2, etc.
Functionality has been improved over time and I can hardly wait until 5.x is stable enough to use it. It already has improvement in it I have been waiting for a long time and some are really needed to.
You're right. My post was a reaction to the all others are better posts.
I would prefer MT doing more testing, too. What you could do for avoiding
this Problem is to wait until someone other got the Problem ;-)
 
jboban
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 2:27 am

Re: Released 4.15

Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:46 pm

IF this happens again: when you click on the link, DNS load balancing makes sure you get a different server every time.
Of course. If you get in trouble, here is good start point for Load Balancing 8)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Mon Dec 20, 2010 8:03 am

WirelessRudy did you upgrade the bootloader? If not, this is completely unrelated to the mentioned issue with bootloader. The "problem" does only one thing - reverses the function of the reset button. If you have any other problems, it's not because of this.
After the upgrade I found my ntp package missing for the time server
NTP is included in the System package. What you uploaded is NTP server. If you just need the client, you didn't have to install anything.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Muqatil
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 574
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:03 pm
Location: London - UK
Contact:

Re: Released 4.15

Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:22 am

Normis, can you provide nv2-wireless.npk packages for 4.15 like you did for 4.13? Thanks
Renato Bernardi

skype: medtech5
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Mon Dec 20, 2010 12:04 pm

Normis, can you provide nv2-wireless.npk packages for 4.15 like you did for 4.13? Thanks
in "all-packages" zip file
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 2303
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Released 4.15

Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:06 pm

What's new in 4.16 (2010-Dec-20 10:21):

*) fixed problem - could not update license for
old style 7 digit software-id's;
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
WirelessRudy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3089
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 5:54 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Released 4.15

Mon Dec 20, 2010 6:20 pm

WirelessRudy did you upgrade the bootloader? If not, this is completely unrelated to the mentioned issue with bootloader. The "problem" does only one thing - reverses the function of the reset button. If you have any other problems, it's not because of this.
After the upgrade I found my ntp package missing for the time server
NTP is included in the System package. What you uploaded is NTP server. If you just need the client, you didn't have to install anything.
My rb1000 as border router is also the time server for all my router's on the network. It is only because two days later I got messages with way out of time stamps that I started looking into the rb1000 again. I found the ntp package missing in the rb1000 which was updated only two days before with the full 4.14 npk package.
So, I uploaded the separte ntp package (for the time server funcionality) and off course you then have to reboot the router. That was the last time my rb1000 done anything usefull for me!

I already downgraded its software back to 4.11 but still everytime I boot it all configs are gone...

I presume I have to upload a complete new 4.11 via netinstall?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24418
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:45 am

I'll ask this question again, in case you missed it:
WirelessRudy did you upgrade the bootloader?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
n21roadie
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1896
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Limerick,Ireland

Re: Released 4.15

Tue Dec 21, 2010 12:16 pm

My rb1000 as border router is also the time server for all my router's on the network
Just a quick comment, as all of my MK has internet access and configured each NTP client for time sync, i didn't want a internal time server going down and having time errors on logs during a fault finding process,
N21roadie,
Network 100% MT for Now?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fractals, Google [Bot], raivisbucis and 140 guests