Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
iDen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

[suggestion] new snmp query for Interface like ifAlias

Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:48 pm

Hello everyone and especially RouterOS developers.

I'm setting up cacti for bandwidth monitoring and archiving in my network.(Using Dude as well but it's other kind of thing)
So when i'm adding devices like Cisco or Zyxell to Cacti SNMP poll, i can see aliases on interfaces e.g. comments/description for port:

like ifIndex=ether1 (or ifName, ifDescr) ifAlias=Upstream1

I can do thing like only with Coments in RouterOS for interface which are not binded to interface query in SNMP. Ex:
;;Upstream1
-----ether1

It would be nice to add another field in winbox "Interface Config Window" with name ~"IfAlias" and make it to be send with SNMP query ifAlias like other vendors do.
MTCNA
 
iDen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

Re: [suggestion] new snmp query for Interface like ifAlias

Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:19 pm

also not all interfaces sending proper SNMP queries
some interfaces remane with brocken names when in the same time other hundred interfaces got their names from query by snmp/cacti variables:

example:
Broken name:
|query_ifAlias| - Int: |query_ifName|(|query_ifIndex|)@RB450G-49

One working interface out of many others:
|query_ifAlias| - Int: ether2.85(44)@RB450G-49

Interfaces have same configurations: vlan interfaces.


query_ifAlias ------ not shown coz not set in mib.. (shown in cisco or zyxell devices, like MyHomePort, Proveder2, Upstream4 (simple desc/comment on int.))
MTCNA
 
iDen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

Re: [suggestion] new snmp query for Interface like ifAlias

Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:32 pm

also one interfaces shows only Upload
other interface shows only Download

Dude shows both Down/Up

cacti, poller, rrdtool checked and rechecked nothing wrong.

other interfaces ~20 with same config are just OK showing both Down/Up
but i've mentioned that this happens mostly on Ethrnet interfaces.......VLAN interfaces even on this Ethrnet are OK.
MTCNA
 
iDen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

Re: [suggestion] new snmp query for Interface like ifAlias

Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:34 pm

sorry, no matters which int.
it equall
one ETHERNET shows only UPload
and
one VLAN int on other ethrnet shows only DOWNload
MTCNA
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8388
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: [suggestion] new snmp query for Interface like ifAlias

Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:47 am

sorry, no matters which int.
it equall
one ETHERNET shows only UPload
and
one VLAN int on other ethrnet shows only DOWNload
check it with snmpwalk, just to be sure
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
iDen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

Re: [suggestion] new snmp query for Interface like ifAlias

Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:57 am

проверил

checked
snmpwalk shows correct results.
even checked snmpwalk from Dude, which shows exact structure of sent queries in tables with values.

but general subject of this article is to add Alias field inside interface configuration with its output snmp query ifAlias as other have. it would give perfect documentation ability for topologies. even for dude it would be able to show name of connected interfaces on links.

Best regards.
MTCNA
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8388
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: [suggestion] new snmp query for Interface like ifAlias

Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:30 pm

so what's problem to rename the interface?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
iDen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

Re: [suggestion] new snmp query for Interface like ifAlias

Wed Dec 22, 2010 7:46 pm

nope
all namings would be screwed.
what i have on cisco and zyxel

|Alias| - |Interface|(|ifIndex|)@|device| =>
Provider1backup - eth1(0)@c3550

You're suggesting to rename interface on mikrotik and it looks like this (tested):

|Alias| - Provider1backup|index|@RB450-G-47

variable which have no content aren't parced by cacti. so alias and index would be shown.
hope you understood nice example from cisco/zyxell

I really hope Mikrotik would add additional field to interface configuration and proper snmp query to it, "ifAlias" :roll:

Sincerely
MTCNA
 
iDen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 2:26 pm
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia

Re: [suggestion] new snmp query for Interface like ifAlias

Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:52 pm

i've seen that my feature request were implemented in RouterOS v5rc7
and haven't seen my name in wiki:Feature_Requests

Your partners:
Denis Iskandarov @ Caucasus Digital Network Ltd.
Tbilisi, Georgia
MTCNA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eworm, jebz, Kindis, naditarmbala, txfz and 81 guests