Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
VViki
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:27 am

PPTP & IPv6

Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:03 pm

Hello all,

I am trying to achieve working IPv6 internet connection through PPTP VPN connection (from Windows 7 to RouterOS), but "public" (e.g. not local-link) IPv6 address is not assigned to client.

I have Mikrotik router with RouterOS (version 5 rc 8) at home, which has native IPv6 connectivity to internet. I have /48 scope assigned. At work, I have Windows 7 computer with only IPv4 connectivity (and company's firewall-limited internet connectivity). So my idea was to create VPN connection to my home router and I hoped, that I will be able to configure RouterOS to assign public IPv6 address to VPN client.

I tried to use PPTP (I want to try SSTP additionally), but Windows 7 client has only link-local IPv6 address assigned, not public.

I also tried to specify IPv6 scope for PPTP interface, but it is not possible (error 6).

I choose PPTP (or SSTP, but it is only available in Windows 7 while my friends/parents use mostly Windows XP), because I plan to use such mechanism for any computer, which has no IPv6 connectivity (this computer at work is only testing case) and PPTP VPN is working in most cases and is easy to configure on client side (in Windows)...

Please can you help me? Is it possible to do this with actual RouterOS version? Will be possible to do this with "final" IPv6 RouterOS implementation? Or, is it suitable idea/mechanism at all?

Many thanks,
VViki
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5961
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: PPTP & IPv6

Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:06 pm

yes it is possible. In ppp secret set remote-ipv6-prefix
 
VViki
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 11:27 am

Re: PPTP & IPv6

Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:11 pm

Many thanks, with remote-ipv6-prefix, Windows 7 "received" public IPv6 adress.

Please, is it somehow possible to define (in RouterOS) default IPv6 gateway for this VPN connection? By ipconfig /all, there is no default gateway for this VPN at all (no IPv4 default gateway, no IPv6 default gateway) and also network mask is set to 255.255.255.255 (which is incorrect I think)...

Thanks,
VViki
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5961
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: PPTP & IPv6

Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:18 pm

In properties of IPv6 of the VPN connection there should be “Use default gateway on remote network” option.
 
User avatar
greek
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Russia, 78rus

Re: PPTP & IPv6

Sun Aug 05, 2012 10:12 pm

I have the same problem.

PPTP + IPv6 (only) + Windows7 = only link-local address

Win7 does not see remote-ipv6-prefix, only link-local.

Debug shows only l-l address :

23:08:46 pptp,ppp,debug,packet <------>: rcvd IPV6CP ConfReq id=0x5
23:08:46 pptp,ppp,debug,packet <interface-identifier 5815:32f0:1a11:39b7>
23:08:46 pptp,ppp,debug,packet <------>: sent IPV6CP ConfAck id=0x5
23:08:46 pptp,ppp,debug,packet <interface-identifier 5815:32f0:1a11:39b7>

ps: 5.19
 
maxsustar
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:30 pm

Re: PPTP & IPv6

Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:40 pm

Same here. Version 5.20

But I noticed that correct route from IPv6 Pool is present and it points towards VPN interface on mikrotik, but the VPN client has only link-local address (tried on OSX and Windows 7 PPTP/L2TP clients).

The Wireshark trace shows the same as Greeks.
 
maxsustar
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:30 pm

Re: PPTP & IPv6

Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:35 pm

OK it was not a Mikrotik thing. On OSX PPTP/L2TP client does not react on router advertisement. On WIN7 works as it should.
 
jmorby
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:06 pm

Re: PPTP & IPv6

Tue Jan 28, 2014 5:34 pm

Did you find a way of making the OSX client's work / obtain an IPv6 address in the end?
 
Kola
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 11:42 am

Re: PPTP & IPv6

Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:36 pm

Google brings me here. I met the same problem - PPTP-client on Win7 doesn't get address from ipv6-prefix setted in PPP secret (nor in general ipv6 addresses).

But all it works just fine then I set ipv6 address on client (within prefix range) and global prefix length like 0 or 3. In the case gateway route is added through interface. Hope that'll help someone.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], C0ReDuMP, mkx, TheSirStumfy and 120 guests