Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Ethernet problems

Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:54 pm

I wonder why most problems I have had with routerboards is Ethernet port related? I have new (2 months) RB433AH on a 190' tower that is working wirelessly but the ethernet port has stopped working. I have power cycled it several times but the ethernet won't work. I need it to work since it connects to another Rb433AH by Ethernet. I have 2 boxes on the tower.

Does anyone know of a way to fix this without climbing 190' and replacing the box?

HELP

david
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: Ethernet problems

Thu Mar 03, 2011 8:52 pm

the ethernet port is now working. I have not done anything since it quit. is there a command to see system uptime? I can see wireless users connect time but don't see anything for ethernet uptime.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Ethernet problems

Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:03 pm

Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: Ethernet problems

Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:47 pm

The ethernet port is down again. I am going out to the tower and power cycle the Rb433Ah. I hope it fixes it but don't have a lot of hope that it will.
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: Ethernet problems

Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:01 pm

I Just got back from tower site. I power cycled and also left unpowered for a few minutes. The box powers up and the radio works but if the ethernet is down it can communicate with the other RB433AH in the other box on the tower.

I have had several problems with Microtik boards Ethernet ports. They don't seem to be very hardy. Does anyone know how to fix flaky ethernet ports?

Thanks

david
 
User avatar
jager
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:44 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Ethernet problems

Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:06 pm

Do you have proper grounding on your tower?
 
User avatar
macsrwe
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 969
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 5:43 am
Location: Arizona, USA
Contact:

Re: Ethernet problems

Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:17 pm

Do you maybe have environmental issues? As we all know, water always flows downhill except when it climbs straight up an ethernet cable.
 
User avatar
BrinkNetworks
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:31 pm
Location: Edmond, OK
Contact:

Re: Ethernet problems

Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:37 pm

I've seen most ethernet problems be resolved by doing a few things.

Use a cable that is sheilded and has a "Drain Wire". Wind blowing across the cabling on the tower will cause static electricity buildup and without drain wire it can damage the ethernet port. Note that the drain wire should only be grounded at one end.

In addtion to the drain wire - the gel filling prevents (though doesn't completely stop) moisture from flowing through the cable.

Image

Do a google search for the following -

1000FT Cat5e Direct Burial & UV STP Shielded w/ Double Jacket Outdoor Bulk

If the problem is persistent you can try installing and ether surge device like this...

http://www.titanwirelessonline.com/PCB- ... isg-48.htm

I will say that the ether surge device can actually degrade the signal on the wire and make the link unstable over long runs...so be sure to throughly test it once you have it installed.

Finally, in addition to the POE runs that you have going to the base of the tower....you can run an additional line directly from one radio to the other for redundancy in case the first one dies. One way to configure the network redundancy is to create an EtherBridge on both radios that initially only includes the main port. If the main connection dies...you can Mac Telnet into the backup port from IP Neighbors (thank you Mikrotik!) remove the dead port from the bridge and add the backup port.

Hope that helps.
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: Ethernet problems

Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:25 am

I want to thank everyone for there suggestions.
The tower is grounded. The other Rb433AH is on the tower and works fine. Both use direct burial Cat 5e but have no drain wire.

I will replace the failing RB433AH board this weekend.

I am thinking about drilling a small hole in both cases at the bottom and running a Ethernet cable between the RB433 boards and hook up to ethernet port2 or 3. I will still use port1 for POE and communication from my notebook to the boards from the ground.

Thanks

David
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: Ethernet problems

Wed Mar 16, 2011 10:38 pm

we will replace the box on the tower with the Rb433AH tomorrow. I am also going to run a ethernet cable from Ethernet2 to hook up both Rb433AH to each other as a backup.

I am playing with it here in the shop. I can't figure out how to bridge the two RB on Ethernet2. The interface show it is connected and I have assigned 10.10.2.1 and 10.10.2.2 to the RB's on eth port 2. I can't ping the other rb unless the ethernet1 cable is connected to the switch. I am sure it is a route issue. on the first RB i have the static route 0.0.0.0/ set to the ipaddress of it feeder backhaul. it works fine. on the 2nd RB i have it's route set to the ip address of the ethernet1 and they talk fine. this is the way it has alway worked. I need help configuring the backup ethernet connection between the two enclosers on the tower.

Currently both ethernet1 cat5 cables run down the tower and plug into a switch so they can pass trafic between them.
 
User avatar
m4rk0
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: BA

Re: Ethernet problems

Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:29 am

Hello,

I have similar problem when it's strong wind on tower. I lose connection over ether port on few RBs, not on all...
http://www.mreza-wisp.ba/
Please, give Karma if I fix your problem
Certified MTCNA
 
cederom
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 10:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Ethernet problems

Fri Dec 14, 2018 11:14 pm

The same here, on my brand new RB4011 after not full 24h all ethernet ports stopped working, they do not get back even after factory defaults reset.. simple home setup where TP-LINK router worked and still works fine when connected in place of MikroTik..

Looks like shitty manufacturing and faulty devices coming from a factory? :-(
--
CeDeROM, SQ7MHZ, http://www.tomek.cedro.info

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Florian, kocouj1, sindy, void2412 and 80 guests