Page 1 of 1

IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed?

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:07 am
by Docteh
I'm experimenting with IPv6 today just seeing how things work.

As part of 6to4 stuffs I added an address on the interface, and my Windows 7 desktop grabbed an IPv6 ip that can speak to the main router.
/ipv6 address add address=2002:4072:XXXX:2::1/64 interface=ether1 advertise=yes disabled=no

I've also gone ahead and activated IPv6 package on a x86 also running 4.17, and i'm wondering if I can make it automagically get an ipv6 address or if I need to manually assign one to it.

This guide mentions OSPFv3 but I'd like to just plop another router into the same ipv6 segment for fiddling around with.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:My ... v6_Network

Hmm I wonder if I can set up OSPFv3 to just do IPv6...

Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:14 am
by fewi
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP ... figuration
Note: Due to restrictions of IPv6, address auto-configuration can not be performed on routers. Routers require manual address configuration.

Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed

Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 5:59 am
by Docteh
Ah. Thanks, I didn't notice that bit.

I'll have to read up on the peculiarities of IPv6. Looks like OSPFv3 doesn't like router->router and router->clients routes on the same interface. It doesn't advertise the router->client routes

Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed

Posted: Thu May 26, 2011 10:04 pm
by ysam
Note: Due to restrictions of IPv6, address auto-configuration can not be performed on routers. Routers require manual address configuration.
What restrictions? Do you have a roadmap for autoconfig on routers?

In normal situations a client router (750 for example) should receive RAs from ISP via PPPOE and autoconfig ipv6 address on pppoe interface. Then the router should be able to receive ipv6 address prefix for lan interface via dhcpv6 from isp. Then it will advertise it and send RAs on lan so that the client devices behind router can autoconfig.

That is a typical scenario..

Normis can you comment on this?

Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed

Posted: Thu May 26, 2011 10:39 pm
by fewi
http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc4862
This document specifies the steps a host takes in deciding how to
autoconfigure its interfaces in IP version 6 (IPv6).
[...]
The autoconfiguration process specified in this document applies only
to hosts and not routers. Since host autoconfiguration uses
information advertised by routers, routers will need to be configured
by some other means.
2. Terminology
IP - Internet Protocol Version 6. The terms IPv4 and IPv6 are used
only in contexts where necessary to avoid ambiguity.
node - a device that implements IP.
router - a node that forwards IP packets not explicitly addressed to
itself.
host - any node that is not a router.
The RFC makes it very clear that nodes that act as routers are NOT to use SLAAC for IPv6 address configuration. In other words, routers that derived their interface IPv6 address from SLAAC cannot act as routers on that link. The RFC pretty explicitly says so.

You CAN use DHCPv6, but DHCPv6 is NOT SLAAC. Sadly ROS doesn't implement DHCPv6 yet. Once it does there is theoretically nothing in the way of receiving a prefix via DHCPv6, assigning an address in that prefix on an interface, and sending RAs on that interface.

Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed

Posted: Fri May 27, 2011 1:42 am
by ysam
What a relief :(

Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed?

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:26 am
by oreggin
What about this? I can't use SLAAC however I disabled IPv6 forwarding. I tried on RoS ver 6.37.3
So my box is only router(board) in its name but not in its functionality as ipv6 forwarding disabled so it is a host device. So please make it possible to can get IPv6 address with SLAAC. This would be good for bridge mode access-points too, and for BW test servers sitting on SLAAC served LAN segments.

Thanks,
oreggin

Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed?

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:45 pm
by Sob
If you disable forwarding, router will get address using SLAAC. The catch is, you won't see neither address nor default route anywhere. It's there, but it's hidden. If you try to e.g. ping some external address, it will work.

Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed?

Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:09 am
by R1CH
This is pretty crazy, I just tried this on some internal devices which aren't routing, and the address is invisible from both winbox and CLI! Surely this is a bug? Why would the address or route not show anywhere?

Re: IPv6 stateless autoconfiguration, can ROS get autoconfed?

Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2017 2:36 pm
by Sob
It is a bug, but you can also view it as missing feature. And not exactly a high priority one, because most RouterOS devices won't be configured this way. And if you really need it, it's there and it works, you just don't see it. It's not convenient, but it's usable. I'm sure they will fix it eventually.