Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
pkelly1603
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:13 pm

Routing using interface as gateway w/DHCP

Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:15 pm

In routerOS, when setting a route, instead of adding a gateway IP address, you can select the only an interface.
- If that interface is PPPoE, routerOS will automatically set the GW to the PPPoE GW when it connects
- If that interface has a /30 network on it, routerOS will automatically set the GW to the other available address on the /30

So why can't routerOS automatically find the default gateway address when DHCP is running on that interface and assign it to that route?
 
pkelly1603
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: Routing using interface as gateway w/DHCP

Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:38 am

Mikrotik, any reason why you would not make this work?
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Routing using interface as gateway w/DHCP

Fri Apr 29, 2011 1:40 am

Maybe I'm missing something here, but when you set add-default-route on a DHCP client to yes, a default route will be added to the routing table with the gateway set to the IP served to the client via DHCP.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
pkelly1603
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 78
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:13 pm

Re: Routing using interface as gateway w/DHCP

Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:20 am

Yes but I don't want to add a default route, I want to add a specific route.

It would be really nice if instead of an add default route checkbox, they had a "+" that came up with the same options as adding a static route. This would solve many problems.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8324
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Routing using interface as gateway w/DHCP

Tue Aug 16, 2011 6:10 pm

actually, single 'routing-table' option for DHCP default route would be enough: you always can create separate routing table with default route, and then use routing rules to send only specific traffic to that routing table...

MT? =)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BitHaulers, rogerking1 and 110 guests