Community discussions

 
mcrose
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:00 pm

ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Fri Apr 08, 2011 9:32 pm

After updating a test router from 4.x to 5.0 monitoring scripts started failing with invalid OID errors on the free memory test. Upon investigating it appears that the router's memory state OIDs have changed between versions. There's no mention of this in the changelog. However, perhaps this note from rc8 is related:

*) snmp - fixed memory leak for OID 1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2;

Is this a bug or working as intended?

In addition, /system resource print oid no longer gives the cpu load OID, though it does respond to the same OID as in 4.x.

5.0: > /system resource print oid
uptime: .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0
total-hdd-space: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.131073
used-hdd-space: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.131073
total-memory: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.65536
used-memory: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.65536

4.x: > /system resource print oid
uptime: .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0
total-hdd-space: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.1
used-hdd-space: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.1
total-memory: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.2
used-memory: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.2
cpu-load: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2.1
 
duvi
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:47 am

I was facing the same problem using the RCs too.

I contacted support about it, mentioning that this seems like a bug to me, but didn't get an answer to WHY the oid's have changed.
 
mcrose
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Sat Apr 09, 2011 12:59 am

And it's just the indices too. No clue why this is needed, honestly. Are we supposed to be reading this as a table, parsing the values by model to make some sort of sense of the results in case they change again? Alternately, are these new indices going to be permanent or subject to change at some future time?
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Sun Apr 10, 2011 2:49 pm

facing the same problem using fresh 5.1:

[bda@MikroTik] > system resource print oid
uptime: .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0
total-hdd-space: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.131073
used-hdd-space: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.131073
total-memory: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.65536
used-memory: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.65536

No cpu oids, but old still works...
God bless UNIX!
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Sun Apr 17, 2011 3:25 pm

Dear developers, please comment problems we found... It is very difficult to use boxes without snmp memory\disk data...
God bless UNIX!
 
bda
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:07 am
Location: Russia,Moscow

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10 pm

Does anybody have any news about this problem?
God bless UNIX!
 
jo2jo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:25 am

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:20 am

Im looking for an answer to this also.

How do we get the OID for CPU usage on ROS 5.x +

tks
:beep :beep :beep
 
becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:26 am

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Tue Sep 25, 2012 8:26 am

ros code

[admin@MikroTik] > system resource cpu print oid
 0 load=.1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2.1
 
trunet
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:55 am

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:30 pm

I'm having the same problem as you are reporting. Bought a brand new rb2011uas-2hnd-in and upgraded to routeros 6 soon as it arrived.
[admin@trunetroutersp01] >  /system resource print oid  
        uptime: .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0
  total-memory: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.65536
   used-memory: .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.65536
[admin@trunetroutersp01] >
snmpwalk on .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1 returns:
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.1.65536 = INTEGER: 65536
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.1.131073 = INTEGER: 131073
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.2.65536 = OID: iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.1.1
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.2.131073 = OID: iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.1.4
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.3.65536 = STRING: "main memory"
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.3.131073 = STRING: "disk: system"
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.4.65536 = INTEGER: 1024
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.4.131073 = INTEGER: 1024
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.65536 = INTEGER: 131072
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.131073 = INTEGER: 126976
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.65536 = INTEGER: 28316
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.131073 = INTEGER: 15712
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.7.65536 = Counter32: 0
iso.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.7.131073 = Counter32: 0
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Thu Jun 13, 2013 5:22 pm

have you read the last post?
system resource cpu print oid <- right for CPU load
system resource print oid <- wrong for CPU load
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
trunet
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:55 am

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Thu Jun 13, 2013 8:11 pm

did you read my post? or better, did you read the post SUBJECT?

I'm talking about memory and disk OIDs, not CPU.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:17 am

so, what is exact problem? according to your post, OIDs shown in 'print oid' command are correct, aren't they?..
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
trunet
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:55 am

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Fri Jun 14, 2013 4:22 am

yes they are, but it's different from older versions like 5.x and 4.x. on these versions, OIDs ends with .1 and .2 instead of .65536 and .131073. it broke backward compatiblity with some cacti templates I found and I had to manually adjust it.

for me, break compatibility without a good reason is bad.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8305
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Fri Jun 14, 2013 4:59 pm

[offtop]does anybody using v4 want to upgrade to v6?[/offtop]

and according to topicstarter, the change was from v4.x to v5.0, it was at least 2 years and 2 months ago. I don't think they will revert the change which is used by everybody for years :)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
mcrose
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: ROS 5.0 -- new OIDs for memory-total/memory-used?

Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:12 pm

To be fair, the old OIDs worked for years too :P

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 57 guests