Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
coffeecoco
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:17 pm

webproxy/proxy can i force users to use it?

Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:04 am

webproxy/proxy can i force users to use it?
maybe with the hotspot system?
 
coffeecoco
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:17 pm

Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:05 am

also does the cacheing system on default does it cache everything or MUST i specify what to cache i have it set to any ?
 
User avatar
netcomp
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:55 pm

Sun Oct 23, 2005 4:12 am

Yep, ofcourse,

I personaly use 'manualy settings on client side', on firewall forward rules, I Reject every tcp request on port 80, so clients internet won't work without proxy heheh, also you can use 'transparent proxy'

see ya
 
User avatar
larmaid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:06 pm

Sun Oct 23, 2005 7:03 am

@netcomp do you having problem with webproxy.....
cause i do.
why is that when the webproxy running normal then about 1 week after suddenley it wont work...!

is it webproxy need to be clear cache
i like it
 
coffeecoco
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:17 pm

Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:28 am

please give me an idea how to force them MUST i do what u sugested netcomp ?with blocking port 80 ?
 
coffeecoco
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:17 pm

Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:05 pm

webproxy/proxy can i force users to use it?
maybe with the hotspot system?

and how
 
User avatar
netcomp
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:55 pm

Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:17 pm

larmaid - I have a script on my web proxy which reboots every 24h so I never have problems with anything hehe

incomm - I have a network of approx 100 users so I manualy set every user to use proxy's (Internet explorer - use proxy server x.x.x.x port 8080)

If you have biiig network, I won't recomend this cause it is time consuming, also when clients format their pc's you have to teach them how to put proxys, so it would be simpler to use transparent proxy, read the instructions on http://www.mikrotik.com

If you do prefer manual usage, just block tcp port 80 like this:

/ ip firewall rule forward

add src-address=10.0.0.0/24 dst-address=:80 protocol=tcp action=drop \
comment="Drop port 80 for everybody" disabled=no

if you do want to enable any client to use port 80, you just put one action=accept before this which blocks everybody

add src-address=10.0.0.22/32 dst-address=:80 protocol=tcp action=accept \
comment="Accept port 80" disabled=yes

see ya
 
coffeecoco
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 1:17 pm

Sun Oct 23, 2005 3:02 pm

yes, but i did what it says i can still pass traffic on websites i have blocked on thewebproxy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], evghoul and 131 guests