Page 1 of 1

Hotspot &/or UM issues - Linux users not able to register...

Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:21 pm
by bigguns
Hi there,
I've got abit of a strange issue, I've just built a linux test machine and I decided to see what it would be like on the hotspot system I have running.

So I've connected the machine, and its got a hotspot IP address - local page loaded fine. Now when I use the linux machine to signup or goto user manager page - firefox can't seem to load the pages - instead it produces the "unable to connect" page.

To be completely honest, I don't know anything about linux systems - its was just more a test run for some software I was trying out. But either way I've found an issue out and I need to fix it now!

I can view any pages in my hotspot walled garden - apart from the UM pages.

The setup:
Userman - central database - separate from the hotspots - RB800 running ROS=5.1

Hotspots - each 'site' has its own RB450G controlling internet access. ROS 4.17

Linux machine - running Fedora 14 (desktop) 32bit - fully updated

Re: Hotspot &/or UM issues - Linux users not able to registe

Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 7:01 am
by reverged
Is this unique to the linux box?

I had the same problem with hotspot and um.
You cannot access the um pages from behind the hotspot using the default ports for http and https. Odd, but true.

So, what I did was this: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=50279

Or, change /ip services port for http or https to something other than 80/8080 and 443
Then access the um pages on the new port.

I also added a nat to send 443 traffic to 444, that way the url is just:
https://domain/user/signup/publicID and I don't need to put the port number.

What I don't like is that this opens the entire web server of the RB to the hotspot.
There has to be a better way.

EDIT: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/User_Mana ... _interface

Re: Hotspot &/or UM issues - Linux users not able to registe

Posted: Sun Apr 17, 2011 11:43 pm
by bigguns
Hi Thanks for your reply.

So far the only system which I've tested that has this problem is linux - I'm having a look at these links to see if I can apply this to my hotspot - but I have a complicated setup which may not allow me to do this....

I'll let you know how I get along.