Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
wagnerdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:44 am

Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:19 am

Hi, I am facing a strange problem that I do not know if you already have a solution or "work around".
When I open the Winbox through Wine (Linux) all buttons are a black border and the window are difficult to understand, attached is an example screen.
I've done tests with newer and older versions of Winbox.exe and Wine (1.2 and 1.3).
Someone could tell me anything?

Thank you in advance any help.
Captura_de_tela.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5950
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:12 pm

It looks like changed appearance of default theme. Open winecfg and check 'Desktop integration' tab
 
wagnerdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:44 am

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Wed Apr 20, 2011 3:41 pm

I checked I do not have any customization or theme installed.
 
User avatar
butche
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 6:14 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Fri Apr 22, 2011 9:27 am

I am seeing this, too. At one time, there was a problem with the fonts (you need msttcorefonts installed). I have installed 2 versions of these fonts and still this problem persists. I just removed my .wine directory to ensure that my wine customizations were not causing this issue. I am using Fedora 14 (new install) with wine 1.3.17. I would be very happy to see any help on this front, as this is really a painful way to use winbox. I generally use CLI for my own routers, but I use winbox to "remember" customer passwords. PLEASE, if anyone has some ideas, I'm game to try anything.
--
Butch Evans
Mikrotik Certified Trainer
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
BLOG: blog.butchevans.com
http://store.wispgear.net/
 
User avatar
butche
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 6:14 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Tue May 10, 2011 10:00 am

I think I'm on the track to fixing this issue. When I debug wine as it is loading winbox, it is looking for (and not finding) these font files: vgaoem.fon,vgafix.fon,serife.fon

Anyone have an idea where I can find these?
--
Butch Evans
Mikrotik Certified Trainer
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
BLOG: blog.butchevans.com
http://store.wispgear.net/
 
User avatar
EMOziko
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 9:42 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Tue May 10, 2011 11:40 am

There is no hope. Cus mikritik said: "winbox and the dude working perfect on wine and you dont need linux native versions". LOL

and other LOL for mikrotik cus they are using linux kernel for there software for free and they are not making linux native clients for this software.
We want new versions of The Dude!!!!!!!
 
bburley
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:22 am
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Tue May 10, 2011 12:27 pm

I think I'm on the track to fixing this issue. When I debug wine as it is loading winbox, it is looking for (and not finding) these font files: vgaoem.fon,vgafix.fon,serife.fon

Anyone have an idea where I can find these?
You might find this interesting;

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315338

Perhaps the other files are in there too.
 
bburley
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 7:22 am
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Tue May 10, 2011 12:35 pm

This is even more interesting;

http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.p ... 32748.html
BladeforgerJanuary 21st, 2009, 07:38 PM
Well it appears I was looking at the wrong thing altogether. The fix was to alter a line in ~/.wine/system.reg.
It had some ridiculous number there and I changed it to 60 dpi just to be safe. here is what it looks like now:

[System\\CurrentControlSet\\Hardware Profiles\\Current\\Software\\Fonts] 1225516090
"FIXEDFON.FON"="vgafix.fon"
"FONTS.FON"="vgasys.fon"
"LogPixels"=dword:00000060
"OEMFONT.FON"="vgaoem.fon"

Much better, I hope this helps someone out there.:guitar:
It did help someone else out there... ME! Thanks. This helped me fix the problem of turning the screen resolution up way too high to see all of the screen... just as described in the original post.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SilverPotatoJanuary 22nd, 2009, 05:15 PM
This is easy!

If you have a separate boot for Windows (2K, XP, or Vista) you just copy the fonts from the C:\Windows\Fonts\ folder into your Wine's windows\fonts\ folder.

Simple as that.
 
User avatar
butche
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 6:14 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Tue May 10, 2011 10:01 pm

There is no hope. Cus mikritik said: "winbox and the dude working perfect on wine and you dont need linux native versions". LOL
I don't need a native Linux version. I just need to find the proper fonts.
--
Butch Evans
Mikrotik Certified Trainer
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
BLOG: blog.butchevans.com
http://store.wispgear.net/
 
User avatar
butche
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 6:14 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Tue May 10, 2011 10:06 pm

You might find this interesting;

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315338

Perhaps the other files are in there too.
I've seen that one as well as the other one you mentioned. I don't have a windows xp (or windows anything for that matter) CD. I don't use Windows, so those are not an option. Thanks for the ideas and your search, though.
--
Butch Evans
Mikrotik Certified Trainer
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
BLOG: blog.butchevans.com
http://store.wispgear.net/
 
User avatar
maximan
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:10 am
Location: Rio Cuarto, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Wed May 11, 2011 5:06 pm

I have the same issue. I install ubuntu 10.10 about 1 month ago and since it I have the black wine. I try to reinstall fonts, configuration of registry, themes and it don't work.

M.
MKE Solutions > Professional Support IT (Spanish / English)
FastNetMon / FNM Manager: DDoS Detection Tools.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Fri May 13, 2011 8:51 am

it is a long shot, but if you have Intel card you should try to upgrade your drivers. There are reports of different windows programs having these black artefacts in simple UI interface using wine on different flavours of Linux.

check if you are running xf86-video-intel 2.12.0 or newer if so, try to downgrade to 2.11.0
 
darkwarrior
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:40 pm

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Mon May 16, 2011 4:15 pm

Hello, i'm using Ubuntu 11.04 and for solve my problem I added to the registry of Wine:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\X11 Driver]
"ClientSideWithRender"="N"

Create a file test.reg with this key, and on terminal:
regedit test.reg

My problem was solved.
 
User avatar
maximan
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 549
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:10 am
Location: Rio Cuarto, Argentina
Contact:

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Mon May 16, 2011 7:58 pm

Hello, i'm using Ubuntu 11.04 and for solve my problem I added to the registry of Wine:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\X11 Driver]
"ClientSideWithRender"="N"

Create a file test.reg with this key, and on terminal:
regedit test.reg

My problem was solved.

Thanks!!! This was the solution. I give your karma.

M.
MKE Solutions > Professional Support IT (Spanish / English)
FastNetMon / FNM Manager: DDoS Detection Tools.
 
wagnerdd
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:44 am

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Mon May 16, 2011 8:33 pm

Finally, many thanks to all friends, problems solved.
 
User avatar
butche
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 6:14 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Mon May 16, 2011 8:42 pm

it is a long shot, but if you have Intel card you should try to upgrade your drivers. There are reports of different windows programs having these black artefacts in simple UI interface using wine on different flavours of Linux.

check if you are running xf86-video-intel 2.12.0 or newer if so, try to downgrade to 2.11.0
I downgraded to Fedora 13, which uses the intel driver verion 2.11.0 and this solved my problem as well.
--
Butch Evans
Mikrotik Certified Trainer
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
BLOG: blog.butchevans.com
http://store.wispgear.net/
 
User avatar
butche
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 6:14 pm
Location: Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Mon May 16, 2011 8:46 pm

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\X11 Driver]
"ClientSideWithRender"="N"
Awesome! Where in the world did you find this? I've googled for WEEKS!
--
Butch Evans
Mikrotik Certified Trainer
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
BLOG: blog.butchevans.com
http://store.wispgear.net/
 
darkwarrior
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:40 pm

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Mon May 16, 2011 10:39 pm

I'm was searching for problem in winbox, but i've found in freedesktop.org forums.
A little lucky.
 
User avatar
dschulz
just joined
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 6:17 pm
Location: Hohenau, Paraguay

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:32 am

Finally!! :D :D I've been looking for a solution to this problem for a long time!

Thanks darkwarrior!!
 
jasperman
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 11:57 pm

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Wed May 28, 2014 6:22 pm

Hello, i'm using Ubuntu 11.04 and for solve my problem I added to the registry of Wine:

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\X11 Driver]
"ClientSideWithRender"="N"
Old thread, I know, but I had a similar problem after upgrading to Ubuntu 14.04 and this workaround fixed it. Winbox fonts changed, text fields were incomplete, and text cursor was misplaced, so when I typed something, new text appeared in a different place than the cursor. Like this:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Petzl
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2013 12:14 pm

Re: Winbox + Wine = Black Borders

Wed May 28, 2014 8:03 pm

Do you all know that you need to put a gateway in your fixed ip configuration in order to use mac discovery in wine ?

if you use dhcp there is no problem

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 111 guests