Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
johnny
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:12 am

Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:04 pm

Hi all,
I tried to bond 3 3g modems. Two 411 boxes, each with 3 modems. Eoip from every modem (3 tunnels), bonding interface that includes the eoip interfaces. I can see that the data is distributed on all 3 modems, but the bandwidth is slower then with one eoip tunnel.
I tried balance-rr and 802.3ad. Same result.
Can anyone help on this?

Thanks
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5961
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:31 pm

bonding is designed to work on ethernets, so it needs the same speed on all links. Otherwise aggregated bandwidth of the slowest link is used.
 
johnny
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:12 am

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:29 pm

Hi,
Thanks. But I used the same modem type, antenna, carrier on all links. O bandwidth test, all 3 modem gave the same bandwidth.
Is there anything I can do to aggregate 3G modems speed?
 
artie11
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 12:08 pm

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:09 pm

They may Sync at the same speed and have the same signal, However Actual data throughput is varied from transmit to transmit.

Your best option would be per connection load balance them, Which may not be what you need depending on the your application.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:00 pm

Load balancing 3G services via PCC is quite possible, I know this because I just moved into a new house and we're doing it while we wait for the ADSL line to be installed ;-)
IMG_2931.JPG
There's some good examples in the mikrotik wiki: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:PCC
Or you can checkout the tutorial I did for setting up load-balanced PPP services: http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com/?p=12

Hope this helps!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
brightwifi.com | mikrotik-routeros.com | MTCNA,MTCWE.MTCTCE | Give karma where due
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24387
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:12 pm

what board (enclosure) is that?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:48 pm

ALIX 6E1 board, with standard case. This is a year or 2 old board now :-)

http://pcengines.ch/alix6e1.htm
brightwifi.com | mikrotik-routeros.com | MTCNA,MTCWE.MTCTCE | Give karma where due
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24387
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Fri Apr 29, 2011 2:51 pm

oh no!
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ztz
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:46 pm

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Thu Mar 08, 2012 8:48 pm

Hey guys,

I know this thread is a little bit old, however I was wondering if anyone found any better solutions to the original poster's question. I have searched around the net with searches such as "broadband bonding," but I hoped to maybe find some other solutions around the forums.

Thanks
 
zapf
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:15 am

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Mon Mar 19, 2012 2:25 pm

Hey guys,

I know this thread is a little bit old, however I was wondering if anyone found any better solutions to the original poster's question. I have searched around the net with searches such as "broadband bonding," but I hoped to maybe find some other solutions around the forums.

Thanks
http://www.viprinet.com/en/

What country are you in?
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:15 am

It is possible to do this anywhere, best way though is to simply have a MikroTik device with multiple IP's in a data center with low latency to your 3G services.

This way each 3G link dials a connection (because we're assuming that the 3G IP addresses are dynamic so permanent tunnels are not an option) back to this data center housed device, which in turn completes the bonding process and forwards traffic out its own connection.
brightwifi.com | mikrotik-routeros.com | MTCNA,MTCWE.MTCTCE | Give karma where due
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:15 am

It is possible to do this anywhere, best way though is to simply have a MikroTik device with multiple IP's in a data center with low latency to your 3G services.

This way each 3G link dials a connection (because we're assuming that the 3G IP addresses are dynamic so permanent tunnels are not an option) back to this data center housed device, which in turn completes the bonding process and forwards traffic out its own connection.

will this link http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com/2009/0 ... ded-links/ mentioned by you work for bonding more than one 2G / 3G USB sticks?
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:35 am

Yes, that method was what I used at the time to load balance across the 3 x 3G sticks we had in place.

If you know that one stick has more bandwidth than the others simple adjust the ratio of your PCC rules to match this.

For example if one stick has 14Mbps and the others only get 7Mbps each you would have 4 PCC outcomes, with 2 of these outcomes utilising the first stick and 1 each for the remaining 2 sticks.
It's not a perfect balance but on average it works the best this way.
brightwifi.com | mikrotik-routeros.com | MTCNA,MTCWE.MTCTCE | Give karma where due
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Tue Aug 13, 2013 4:58 am

can you give how have you defined Ether Ports to be configured on the 3 USB sticks on a single USB connection from Routerboard?
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: Bonding Multiple 3G modems

Sat Aug 17, 2013 4:35 am

Yes, that method was what I used at the time to load balance across the 3 x 3G sticks we had in place.

If you know that one stick has more bandwidth than the others simple adjust the ratio of your PCC rules to match this.

For example if one stick has 14Mbps and the others only get 7Mbps each you would have 4 PCC outcomes, with 2 of these outcomes utilising the first stick and 1 each for the remaining 2 sticks.
It's not a perfect balance but on average it works the best this way.

do you have this setup script shown somewhere online?
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cdoyle4785, Google Feedfetcher and 69 guests