Community discussions

 
babbage
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: v5.2 released

Mon May 16, 2011 10:31 am

Another issue with v5.2 running OSPF. After some time of uptime, my single instance of OSPF resets to default config like router id becomes 0.0.0.0 and other parameters becomes default.
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: v5.2 released

Mon May 16, 2011 1:22 pm

I installed 5.2 on a pppoe (bras) mk router.

Till now I see a bug. in PPP, active connection you can see new connecting pppoe client uptime starts from 39seconds and starts decreasing till reaching 0, then starts increasing! So funny :)

So it's user "yyy" connect. you can see it's alive for 39, 38, 37, 36, .... , 0 , 1, 2 ,.... uptime!

It seems it's like starting timer from -40seconds
I was not able to repeat it. What architecture is the PPPoE server and client? Any specific configuration?
 
Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: v5.2 released

Tue May 17, 2011 12:37 am

Support confirmed our memory leak is caused by SNMP, just an FYI for anyone out there suffering from the same
 
glucz
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:25 pm

Re: v5.2 released

Tue May 17, 2011 12:56 am

I installed 5.2 on a pppoe (bras) mk router.

Till now I see a bug. in PPP, active connection you can see new connecting pppoe client uptime starts from 39seconds and starts decreasing till reaching 0, then starts increasing! So funny :)

So it's user "yyy" connect. you can see it's alive for 39, 38, 37, 36, .... , 0 , 1, 2 ,.... uptime!

It seems it's like starting timer from -40seconds
I was not able to repeat it. What architecture is the PPPoE server and client? Any specific configuration?


I have seen a similar thing with OVPN uptime. I was able to make a screenshot and send it to support with supout. The issue is that the counter doesn't start from 0, but instead it will count from the current uptime value of ROS ... So In my case it said that the uptime was 19hrs ... I guess if the uptime value is large enough and the counter's underlying variable is unsigned, I can see this causing a backward count, but the initial value would be something random.
 
User avatar
asus
Member
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:42 am
Location: Mumbai, India

Re: v5.2 released

Tue May 17, 2011 7:41 am

There is some serious issue with pppoe connectivity in 5.2 & 4.17.

I downgraded to 5.0rc4 all issue solved but rc4 UM is not stable :(
 
kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 10:55 am

Re: v5.2 released

Tue May 17, 2011 8:11 am

There is some serious issue with pppoe connectivity in 5.2 & 4.17.

I downgraded to 5.0rc4 all issue solved but rc4 UM is not stable :(
Please describe this problem in more details.
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: v5.2 released

Tue May 17, 2011 9:47 pm

anyone running 5.2 is getting stuck bgp routes after peer down?

i have a two main bgp routers and thei are interconected via ibgp. on the first router i just lost a peer to an exchange point. so a lost about 5k routes from them. but the lost routes are stuck in both routers, the routing table didnt got updated with the lost routes.

Anyone with that problem too?
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
 
napismizpravu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 1:27 pm
Location: czech

v5.3 released

Wed May 18, 2011 11:34 pm

bad blocks 4.x,5.2> 0% ........ install RouterOS 5.3 (distib. 17.05.) bad blocks 4,2% ... RB433UAH
 
User avatar
mramos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:05 am
Location: S. B do Campo - SP - Brazil

Re: v5.2 released

Fri May 20, 2011 1:58 pm

bad blocks 4.x,5.2> 0% ........ install RouterOS 5.3 (distib. 17.05.) bad blocks 4,2% ... RB433UAH
BTW, I netinstalled 5.2 on a RB433 and at two RB450 because they had 0.3 ... 0.5% badblocks with the built in ROS (4.11 I guess). Even formatted NAND from boot menu (via RS232 console) to "zero" this readings.

But they still there.

Regards;
Marcus Ramos
Electronics Technician
(Microwave HW, RF, antennas, propagation)
S.Paulo - Brazil
 
babbage
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: v5.2 released

Mon May 23, 2011 5:45 am

I installed 5.2 on a pppoe (bras) mk router.

Till now I see a bug. in PPP, active connection you can see new connecting pppoe client uptime starts from 39seconds and starts decreasing till reaching 0, then starts increasing! So funny :)

So it's user "yyy" connect. you can see it's alive for 39, 38, 37, 36, .... , 0 , 1, 2 ,.... uptime!

It seems it's like starting timer from -40seconds
I was not able to repeat it. What architecture is the PPPoE server and client? Any specific configuration?


I have seen a similar thing with OVPN uptime. I was able to make a screenshot and send it to support with supout. The issue is that the counter doesn't start from 0, but instead it will count from the current uptime value of ROS ... So In my case it said that the uptime was 19hrs ... I guess if the uptime value is large enough and the counter's underlying variable is unsigned, I can see this causing a backward count, but the initial value would be something random.
You are absolutely correct. When the router reached a higher uptime no more of this issue.
 
isawyer
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 8:34 pm

Re: v5.2 released

Tue May 24, 2011 9:06 pm

I have tried ROS 5.2 on multiple boards: RB800, RB600, RB433, RB433AH. In each case I am no longer able to right click a registered client and use telnet. The terminal window opens and displays the following:

telnet: inet_pton failed for 00:00:00:00:00:00/telnet: Success
Trying 00:00:00:00:00:00...
Connected to 00:00:00:00:00:00.
Escape character is '^]'.

MikroTik v5.2
Login:


The login prompt is for the AP itself vs the remote client. I am able to telnet if I use the Telnet applet under tools.
 
makstex
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:31 am

Re: v5.2 released

Thu May 26, 2011 2:44 pm

Loses its default gateway through pptp provider after 5 minutes at full load - 98%. Only helps to reboot. Downgrade to version 4.17 solved the problem.
ps: 450G and 750G

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 57 guests