Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
ejmerkel
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:26 pm

SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:01 pm

After upgrading 4 PC x86 boxes from 5.0rc7 to ROS 5.2, I noticed my cacti graphs stopped working.

I checked and rechecked all my SNMP settings and also notice I am no longer able to snmpwalk these devices. Below is the log output from one of the boxes when I try to snmpwalk it. Basically "snmpwalk -v2c -c MyCommunity IP_Address" just times out but obviously the x86 device is seeing the requests.

Is this a bug?
09:49:09 script,error
09:49:14 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:49:14 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:49:14 snmp,debug get .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.1.9
09:49:14 snmp,debug grouping OIDs
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.1.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.2.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.3.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.4.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.5.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.6.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.7.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.8.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.9.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.10.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.11.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.12.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.13.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.14.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.15.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.16.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.17.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.18.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.19.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.20.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.21.9<
09:49:14 snmp,debug oid >.22.9<
09:49:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:49:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:49:22 snmp,debug getnextgetbulk .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2 reps:0 nonreps:0
09:49:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:49:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:49:22 snmp,debug getnextgetbulk .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.2 reps:0 nonreps:0
09:49:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:49:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:49:22 snmp,debug getnextgetbulk .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2.1 reps:0 nonreps:0
09:49:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:49:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:49:22 snmp,debug getnextgetbulk .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.2.65536 reps:0 nonreps:0
09:49:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:49:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:49:22 snmp,debug getnextgetbulk .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2.2 reps:0 nonreps:0
09:49:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:49:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:49:22 snmp,debug getnextgetbulk .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.2.131077 reps:0 nonreps:0
09:49:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:49:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:49:22 snmp,debug get .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.131077
09:49:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:49:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:49:22 snmp,debug get .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.131077
09:50:14 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:50:14 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:50:14 snmp,debug get .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.1.9
09:50:14 snmp,debug grouping OIDs
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.1.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.2.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.3.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.4.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.5.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.6.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.7.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.8.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.9.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.10.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.11.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.12.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.13.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.14.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.15.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.16.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.17.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.18.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.19.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.20.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.21.9<
09:50:14 snmp,debug oid >.22.9<
09:50:18 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:50:18 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:50:18 snmp,debug get .1.3.6.1.4.1.14988.1.1.1.1.1.7.10
09:50:18 snmp,debug error: no such name
09:50:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:50:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:50:22 snmp,debug getnextgetbulk .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2 reps:0 nonreps:0
09:50:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:50:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:50:22 snmp,debug get .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.6.131077
09:50:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:50:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:50:22 snmp,debug get .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.2.3.1.5.131077
09:50:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:50:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:50:22 snmp,debug getnextgetbulk .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2.1 reps:0 nonreps:0
09:50:22 snmp packet from: 192.168.10.41 version: 0
09:50:22 snmp community: MyCommunity
09:50:22 snmp,debug getnextgetbulk .1.3.6.1.2.1.25.3.3.1.2.2 reps:0 nonreps:0
 
User avatar
NoXy
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:07 am
Location: Hungary

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Mon May 02, 2011 4:19 pm

I've same problem, 5.2 PPC. Since upgrade I've no SNMP :(
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 25288
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Tue May 03, 2011 11:16 am

I've same problem, 5.2 PPC. Since upgrade I've no SNMP :(
please also contact support with detailed problem description and supout.rif file made at the time of the problem
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6263
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Tue May 03, 2011 11:31 am

could any of you give some more details about the problem?

i tried on PPC and x86
$ snmpwalk -c public -v 1 mt
with success
 
ejmerkel
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 8:26 pm

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Tue May 03, 2011 3:11 pm

I have submitted a ticket to support. I can report that I have two other x86 units that were upgraded from 5.1 to 5.2 and SNMP seems to be working. However the ones that were upgraded from 5.0rc7 to 5.2 directly seem to be having the issue. Perhaps the configuration got corrupted during the upgrade? It appears to me like there is an extra "/snmp" section to my config. See the last part of the config that I can't rid of. I've tried removing all SNMP settings and re-adding them.

/snmp> export
/snmp
set contact="MetaLINK Technologies" enabled=yes engine-id="" location="Sherwood Tower" \
    trap-community=XXXXX trap-target=0.0.0.0 trap-version=1
/snmp community
add address=10.11.0.0/24 authentication-password="" authentication-protocol=MD5 \
    encryption-password="" encryption-protocol=DES name=XXXXX read-access=yes security=none \
    write-access=no
/snmp
set contact="MetaLINK Technologies" enabled=yes engine-id="" location="Sherwood Tower" \
    trap-community=XXXXX trap-target=0.0.0.0 trap-version=1
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Tue May 03, 2011 5:13 pm

I have the same issue and I'm talking with support at the moment about it.
SNMP disappeared after upgrade from 4.6 to either 5.1 or 5.2.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
ilius168
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 3:54 am

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Mon May 09, 2011 5:09 pm

reported about snmp since 5.0, snmp v1 doesn't work but snmp v2 does. some other snmp such as available disk space not working neither in both version........
BUGS??
 
rotten777
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 5:21 am

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Tue May 10, 2011 3:48 am

nevermind fixed it with a secure snmp setup... weird
 
ElectricCat
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:46 pm

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Tue May 10, 2011 10:39 am

I've got the problem that the SNMP OID 1.3.6.1.4.1.14988.1.1.1.4.0 (mtxrWlRtabEntryCount) does not return what it intended for - it tells me that I have 0 registration table entries, while there are 6 clients registered there. It began when I upgraded my RB600's RouterOS from 4.16 to 5.2. Rolling it back solved the problem, but I want to use 5.2 there :)
 
avm2nn
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:47 am

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Tue May 10, 2011 11:17 am

Begining with v5.x there's one difference (critical for us) in the way how mtik snmp server process the GetNextRequest in case when OID is not full.

================================================
In v3.x and 4.x to get a signal level of some client from RegTable we could use "short" form of GetNextRequest (without pointing OID of wlan interface at the end) and got answer about that signal level of that client (with added number of wlan interface at the end ..)

IP 10.52.0.1.58435 > 10.52.0.20.161: GetNextRequest(40) .1.3.6.1.4.1.14988.1.1.1.2.1.3.0.12.66.98.71.136[|snmp]
IP 10.52.0.20.161 > 10.52.0.1.58435: GetResponse(42) .1.3.6.1.4.1.14988.1.1.1.2.1.3.0.12.66.98.71.136.4=[|snmp]

(If there is no such client in RegTable at that moment, it is offline for ex., we checked it parsing part of OID in snmp answer ..)

=================================================
Since 5.x - if GetNextRequest does not contain oid of interface number at the end, mtik snmp server reply is "noSuchName":

IP 10.52.0.1.49767 > 10.52.0.19.161: GetNextRequest(40) .1.3.6.1.4.1.14988.1.1.1.2.1.3.0.12.66.102.192.92[|snmp]
IP 10.52.0.19.161 > 10.52.0.1.49767: GetResponse(40) noSuchName@1 .1.3.6.1.4.1.14988.1.1.1.2.1.3.0.12.66.102.192.92=[|snmp]

But this OID (with .4 at the end) exist in the RegTable:
snmpwalk -v1 -c test 10.52.0.19 SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.14988.1.1.1.2.1.3
...output ommited...
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.14988.1.1.1.2.1.3.0.12.66.102.192.92.4 = INTEGER: -5
...output ommited...
===============================

Is that behaviour of snmp server ROS 5.x bug or feature ? ))
 
avm2nn
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:47 am

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Fri May 13, 2011 8:44 am

Anybody here? Any support? :)
 
ElectricCat
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:46 pm

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Fri May 13, 2011 9:18 am

Anybody here? Any support? :)
I think, we have to call the support team, not forum :) I'll create a ticket about 0 wireless clients in registration table

UPD: Done. 2011051366000199
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6681
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Fri May 13, 2011 1:52 pm

Hey guys, thank you very much for your reports!
Finally we were able to trace the problem, issue will be fixed at RouterOS v5.3.
 
felipesilveira
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 9:14 pm

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Sat May 14, 2011 1:56 am

Hello sergejs

when the 5.3 release will be available? I need this because I have to check PPPoE connections (I use it via SNMP)

I have just bought a 5.2 license (today) and I'm not comfortable to downgrade to 4.17 version

Thanks in advance!
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8679
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Sat May 14, 2011 11:38 am

write to support@ - they (most likely) will give you test version of 5.3
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
jami
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:40 am

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Thu May 19, 2011 1:43 am

I have a problem with cacti graph from queue simple. Sometimes the graph didn't show anything (0). When I tried query again in cacti device, the graph show normal (after graph show spike until 20-50mbps, although the real traffic just 500kbps). But after couple hours, back show nothing...

I need upgrade to version 5.x because I need to limit IPv6 with queue simple. Thanks.
cacti mikrotik queue simple.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
jonatasmv
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 2:06 pm

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Fri May 27, 2011 8:59 pm

The problem has a solution? I did upgrade to 5.4 today and I still have incomplete data collections of simple queues. What it is necessary to provide support?
 
ElectricCat
newbie
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:46 pm

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Sat May 28, 2011 10:59 am

The problem has a solution? I did upgrade to 5.4 today and I still have incomplete data collections of simple queues. What it is necessary to provide support?
Did you wrote to MikroTik support team? :) Send them the description of your problem and attach the supout.rif file made just before you sent the email
 
chipus
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:11 pm

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:43 pm

Router OS v. 5.7

problem still here.



My fix for this problem use this option:
-Cc Do not check whether the returned OIDs are increasing. Some agents (LaserJets are an example) return OIDs out of order, but
can complete the walk anyway. Other agents return OIDs that are out of order and can cause snmpwalk to loop indefinitely. By
default, snmpwalk tries to detect this behavior and warns you when it hits an agent acting illegally. Use -Cc to turn off
this check.
 
joko96pw
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:12 am

Re: SNMP problem after 5.2 upgrade

Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:17 am

SNMP still has problem in v5.7 , i'm using RB1000 . The graph will appeared when i stays open for winbox queue windows. As soon as winbox closed, graph will not show again . Any workaround guys ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bokous, dtv2, Semrush [Bot], thenexontv, w1552270 and 46 guests