Community discussions

 
lcrhea25
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:30 pm

PPPoE Disconnecting users

Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:05 pm

I have problem that appears to be happening on more than 1 of my ap's. We have ap's at houses. The person at the house is hooked to the eth port and then we have an omni antenna providing service to customers. The eth port and wireless port are bridged. We are doing PPPoE to everyone off the bridge. Whenever the eth gets unplugged all PPPoE's are disconnected and it looks like they don't ever reconnect until the eth port has a link again. Different versions are doing that but have upgraded 1 to 5.4 and issue still happens. Does anybody have an answer to this or seen this issue before?

Thanks
Larry
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: PPPoE Disconnecting users

Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:30 pm

put Admin-MACs on your bridges.
 
lcrhea25
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: PPPoE Disconnecting users

Tue Jun 07, 2011 9:36 pm

what mac??? The mac of the device plugged into the eth port?
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: PPPoE Disconnecting users

Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:19 pm

just 'invent' some MACs that aren't used with your broadcast domain.

I usually use 00:00:5E:xx:yy:zz

where xx:yy:zz are the last six chars of one of your devices own MAC address.

eg: your RB's first MAC is 00:0c:42:03:af:23
then the admin-mac of your bridge may be: 00:00:5e:03:af:23
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: PPPoE Disconnecting users

Tue Jun 07, 2011 10:33 pm

just 'invent' some MACs that aren't used with your broadcast domain.

I usually use 00:00:5E:xx:yy:zz

where xx:yy:zz are the last six chars of one of your devices own MAC address.

eg: your RB's first MAC is 00:0c:42:03:af:23
then the admin-mac of your bridge may be: 00:00:5e:03:af:23
Sorry, but that is not good advice. The majority of 0000.5e/24 is used to map multicast IP addresses to MAC addresses. The rest is reserved for other purposes. If you ever deploy multicast you may have duplicate MAC addresses on your network, and that would be one hell of a thing to troubleshoot.

If you want to make up a MAC address use locally administered MAC addresses.
http://standards.ieee.org/develop/regau ... macgrp.pdf
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MAC_address
If that's too complicated, make up any MAC address that starts with 02. That's guaranteed to be something you're allowed to set yourself.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: PPPoE Disconnecting users

Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:23 am

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/s ... google.com

Mikrotik states, that 00:00:5e shall be freely usable...
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: PPPoE Disconnecting users

Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:28 am

Well, no. They say 00:00:5E:80:00:00 - 00:00:5E:FF:FF:FF is available. 00:00:5e:03:af:23 is most definitely not within that range. 00:00:5e:00:00:00 - 00:00:5e:7f:ff:ff is reserved for Internet multicast. See http://www.iana.org/assignments/ethernet-numbers

And I'd still argue very strongly that even though the EtherType of the ones above isn't going to be 0x0800, it would still be confusing. Locally administered MAC addresses are exactly for this purpose, and no reserved range or assigned OUI is going to clash with them, ever.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Re: PPPoE Disconnecting users

Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:59 am

What would be wrong with setting the admin-mac to the same mac that the ether1 port has?
Well, I guess I may not be seeing the big picture with the pppoe setup. But I do this with bridged AP's but I use the wireless interface mac for the bridge's admin-mac.
I'll have to try using the ethernet ports mac to see if it causes problems.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 19 guests