Community discussions

 
rip
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:55 pm
Location: Poland

OSPF is so buggy ?

Wed Nov 02, 2005 7:04 pm

Hi!

Does anyone use OSPF in little much more complex way than in mirkotik manual (3 routers)?

I have 10+ mikrotiks routers in networks working with OSPF in one are, and what I can tell is that mikrotik is someting that you realy don't want in your network. Mikrotiks OSPF to work fine, need to reboot everyting , if any network topology is changed (mostly, but sometime it work).

I have send so many rif files to suppor, and only thing I get from them is:
"Do you have these problems in 2.9.4 ?"
2.9.4, hahah, 2.9.5,2.9.6 no diference...

So, do you people have problems with OSPF ? Or is it just my imagination ?

Best regards

RIP
 
moly
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:14 pm
Contact:

Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:42 am

I have the same. In version 2.9.7. Sometimes in OSPF neighbors table stay neighbor router i init state and ospf connection not working.
 
mmc
newbie
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:44 am

Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:09 pm

same to me,
but try routing-test - still not satifies but works much better.
one of the main important features for ospf in routeros would be a switch to restart the ospf routing engine wihtout rebooting the whole box...

Wolfgang
 
eflanery
Member
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 10:11 pm
Location: Moscow, ID
Contact:

Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:37 pm

I can often get OSPF to restart cleanly by disabling all OSPF Networks, then re-enabling them. This seems to work ~90% of the time.
:local NETS [/rou ospf net find disabled=no]
:foreach NET in NETS do={/rou osp net disable $NET}
:delay 5
:foreach NET in NETS do={/rou osp net enable $NET}
 
of.many.one
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:16 am
Location: Provo, Utah
Contact:

Re: OSPF is so buggy ?

Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:29 am

I'm having similar problems. I agree that disabling the OSPF networks and re-enabling them tends to get things going again, though not always. I have two MikroTik router boards on an ethernet network with two Cisco routers. The Cisco's go to a full state with the MikroTik's and vice versa. This happens consistently and with no problem. The issue is the MikroTik's trying to communicate with each other. They get stuck in a "2-Way" state with each other.

I have the Cisco's set up as ABR's for Area 0 and Area 1 and I have the MikroTik's in Area 1. Their OSPF communication with each other is just plain flaky.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 98 guests