Community discussions

MikroTik App

fastmesh
just joined
Topic Author

OpenDNS - Catch all DNS traffic

Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:56 pm

Hi!

How can i make it so the 450G i have catches all DNS traffic and points it to our opendns account?

I know how to do it in dd-wrt with a simple command but i am new to mikrotik, and its safe to say i have a lot to learn. I have a 450G that was setup by a really great guru, but im all alone now.
So basically i dont want anyone to by able to bypass our dns. (i know that smart techies can probably find a way past it, but for 80% of the folks out there...)

Its v 3.25.
(do you know if i update it, will i need to pay a license fee? also, if i update it, will all settings stay in tact? If it doesn't, im screwed.)

Also, i just purchased another 450G, and i am thinking i will just load the same firmware 3.25 on it and copy the backup file from the 3.25 and then make a few small changes to ips. is this a dumb idea for a mikrotik noob? If i downgrade my new one, which comes with a license, is the license backwards compatible?

Thanks!

fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: OpenDNS - Catch all DNS traffic

Sun Jul 03, 2011 12:07 am

Let's take this bit by bit - that's a lot of different questions for one post.

For DNS, set up your router to use OpenDNS and to allow remote requests so it can act as a caching DNS forwarder: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/DNS

Then force all DNS traffic going through the router to use the internal forwarder, which in turn will use OpenDNS:
/ip firewall nat add chain=dstnat in-interface=LAN protocol=udp dst-port=53 action=redirect
Consult the NAT wiki for details on what the rule does.