Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.6)

Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:56 pm

Any hint on how to remove interfaces from OSPF ?

RB800 running v5.6
[engenharia@MikroTik] > /routing ospf interface print
Flags: X - disabled, I - inactive, D - dynamic, P - passive
 #    INTERFACE                                               COST PRIORITY NETWORK-TYPE   AUTHENTICATION AUTHENTICATION-KEY
 0 DP loopback0                                                 10        1 broadcast      none
 1 D  ether1                                                    10        1 broadcast      none
 2 D  ether1                                                    10        1 broadcast      none
 3 D  vlan2                                                     10        1 broadcast      none
 4 D  ether3                                                    10        1 broadcast      none
(snip)

[engenharia@MikroTik] > routing ospf interface remove 0
no such item (4)
[engenharia@MikroTik] >
[engenharia@MikroTik] > /system resource print
                   uptime: 19m51s
                  version: 5.6
              free-memory: 219892KiB
             total-memory: 256320KiB
                      cpu: e500v2
                cpu-count: 1
            cpu-frequency: 799MHz
                 cpu-load: 9%
           free-hdd-space: 465560KiB
          total-hdd-space: 520192KiB
  write-sect-since-reboot: 8189
         write-sect-total: 2506813
               bad-blocks: 0%
        architecture-name: powerpc
               board-name: RB800
                 platform: MikroTik
[engenharia@MikroTik] >
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:00 am

Look at the first column. That interface is dynamic, so you can't remove it.

Either remove the entry under "/routing ospf interface" that says "all" and add specific entries for the interfaces you want OSPF to run on, or edit the entries under "/routing ospf network" to only match IP addresses on interfaces you want OSPF to run on. I think the first option is cleaner.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:09 am

Thanks for the suggestion.

I'm unsure on how to find the "interface=all" entry.
"/routing ospf interface print" is not showing all entries.
It seems ROS is having trouble scanning the OSPF interface list.
I have also tried both commands below, but they never end.
/routing ospf interface remove [find interface=all]
/routing ospf interface remove [find]
Look at the first column. That interface is dynamic, so you can't remove it.

Either remove the entry under "/routing ospf interface" that says "all" and add specific entries for the interfaces you want OSPF to run on, or edit the entries under "/routing ospf network" to only match IP addresses on interfaces you want OSPF to run on. I think the first option is cleaner.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:23 am

Post the output of "/routing ospf export".
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:26 am

The command freezes on the following point.
[engenharia@MikroTik] > /routing ospf export
# jan/01/1970 22:49:46 by RouterOS 5.6
# software id = 80HX-K4N1
#
/routing ospf instance
set default disabled=no distribute-default=never in-filter=ospf-in metric-bgp=auto metric-connected=20 metric-default=1 \
    metric-other-ospf=auto metric-rip=20 metric-static=20 name=default out-filter=ospf-out redistribute-bgp=no \
    redistribute-connected=no redistribute-other-ospf=no redistribute-rip=no redistribute-static=no router-id=1.1.1.1
/routing ospf area
set backbone area-id=0.0.0.0 disabled=no instance=default name=backbone type=default
add area-id=0.0.0.1 disabled=no instance=default name=area1 type=default
Post the output of "/routing ospf export".
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:51 am

That doesn't seem right. Just having an instance and an area defined shouldn't activate OSPF, you need to define interfaces and networks defined as well.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:10 am

Sorry, I failed to make it clear, by "the command freezes" I meant it never returns a result past that point, and the command prompt is not issued again. It seems the command is having trouble scanning the "routing ospf interface" portion of configuration. Please see below.
[engenharia@MikroTik] > /routing ospf instance export
# jan/01/1970 23:31:06 by RouterOS 5.6
# software id = 80HX-K4N1
#
/routing ospf instance
set default disabled=no distribute-default=never in-filter=ospf-in metric-bgp=auto metric-connected=20 metric-default=1 \
metric-other-ospf=auto metric-rip=20 metric-static=20 name=default out-filter=ospf-out redistribute-bgp=no \
redistribute-connected=no redistribute-other-ospf=no redistribute-rip=no redistribute-static=no router-id=1.1.1.1
[engenharia@MikroTik] >
[engenharia@MikroTik] >
[engenharia@MikroTik] > /routing ospf area export
# jan/01/1970 23:31:13 by RouterOS 5.6
# software id = 80HX-K4N1
#
/routing ospf area
set backbone area-id=0.0.0.0 disabled=no instance=default name=backbone type=default
add area-id=0.0.0.1 disabled=no instance=default name=area1 type=default
[engenharia@MikroTik] >
[engenharia@MikroTik] >
[engenharia@MikroTik] > /routing ospf network export
# jan/01/1970 23:31:18 by RouterOS 5.6
# software id = 80HX-K4N1
#
/routing ospf network
add area=area1 disabled=no network=0.0.0.0/0
[engenharia@MikroTik] >
[engenharia@MikroTik] >
[engenharia@MikroTik] > /routing ospf interface export
# jan/01/1970 23:31:23 by RouterOS 5.6
# software id = 80HX-K4N1
#
### (The command is frozen at this point -- Everton) ###
That doesn't seem right. Just having an instance and an area defined shouldn't activate OSPF, you need to define interfaces and networks defined as well.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:26 am

Oh! Sorry, I misunderstood. My bad.

I think you should email support@mikrotik.com with a supout.rif (http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Su ... utput_File) and a description of the problem as well as a link to this topic. That is definitely not right, and needs looking at by the official support team (which may or may not see this thread, these are user forums and official support may not respond here).
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
JorgeAmaral
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:53 pm
Location: /ip route add type=blackhole

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 4:33 pm

Well, i think that there are two issues here:

One is that on ospf network you have 0.0.0.0/0, and Mikrotik OSPF implementation adds the interfaces automatic.

The print command need´s to be addressed to Mikrotik support team.

Meanwhile, you should put the only the networks where you need ospf.

Kindly regards,
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:33 pm

No, the Mikrotik OSPF implementation does not add interfaces automatically. All interfaces have been explicitely added to OSPF thru "/routing ospf interface add interface=all". Problem is, I am unable to undo it.

The 0.0.0.0/0 network on OSPF is working fine, as expected.
Well, i think that there are two issues here:

One is that on ospf network you have 0.0.0.0/0, and Mikrotik OSPF implementation adds the interfaces automatic.

The print command need´s to be addressed to Mikrotik support team.

Meanwhile, you should put the only the networks where you need ospf.

Kindly regards,
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:59 pm

The 0.0.0.0/0 network on OSPF is working fine, as expected.
maybe, RTFM?..
network (IP prefix; Default: ) - the network prefix associated with the area. OSPF will be enabled on all interfaces that has at least one address falling within this range. Note that the network prefix of the address is used for this check (i.e. not the local address). For point-to-point interfaces this means the address of the remote endpoint.
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:26 pm

Chupaka,
You are right, removing the 0.0.0.0/0 network from OSPF fixed things.

Jorge Amaral,
Sorry, my bad, it seems you had spotted the root problem, but I failed to understand your help.

Thanks a lot guys,
Everton
The 0.0.0.0/0 network on OSPF is working fine, as expected.
maybe, RTFM?..
network (IP prefix; Default: ) - the network prefix associated with the area. OSPF will be enabled on all interfaces that has at least one address falling within this range. Note that the network prefix of the address is used for this check (i.e. not the local address). For point-to-point interfaces this means the address of the remote endpoint.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:32 pm

again, you can use 0.0.0.0/0 and then statically add necessary interfaces with appropriate settings, following by
/routing ospf interface
add disabled=no interface=all network-type=point-to-point passive=yes
this will disable OSPF on all dynamically added interfaces
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:37 pm

again, you can use 0.0.0.0/0 and then statically add necessary interfaces with appropriate settings, following by
/routing ospf interface
add disabled=no interface=all network-type=point-to-point passive=yes
this will disable OSPF on all dynamically added interfaces
But that is exactly what he's having a problem with. When he runs the command to remove the entry he has that enables OSPF on all interfaces, the command never finishes and dies, just like when printing the interface list. At least that's what was posted above, where he describes that "/routing ospf interface { remove [find] }" fails.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:43 pm

unfortunately, I cannot repeat that hang on my test v5.6...

esmarques, can you make supout.rif? I'd like to look at it: chupaka [shift+2] gmail.com :)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:45 pm

Yeah, I can't reproduce on 5.5 or 5.6, either. Might be RB800 specific, I don't have any of those.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:45 pm

When he runs the command to remove the entry he has that enables OSPF on all interfaces, the command never finishes and dies
by the way, as he said, removing '0.0.0.0/0' solved the problem, so he doesn't have any static interface settings, AFAICS
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:17 pm

again, you can use 0.0.0.0/0 and then statically add necessary interfaces with appropriate settings, following by
/routing ospf interface
add disabled=no interface=all network-type=point-to-point passive=yes
this will disable OSPF on all dynamically added interfaces
You described what I was trying to achieve when I hit the problem. Since I have lots of VLAN interfaces to handle, I now suppose that to control OSPF interfaces thru the use of network statements seems safer...?
Last edited by esmarques on Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:19 pm

Sure, in which state should I make the supout.rif?
unfortunately, I cannot repeat that hang on my test v5.6...

esmarques, can you make supout.rif? I'd like to look at it: chupaka [shift+2] gmail.com :)
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:31 pm

Sure, in which state should I make the supout.rif?
I just want to look at /rou ospf interface section - maybe supout generator won't hang on it =)
I now suppose that to control OSPF interfaces thru the use of network statements seems safer...?
well, not =) I'm using exactly the way I described. because you explicitly set OSPF interfaces, and any interface that can appear dynamically in list will be passive (i.e. disabled for OSPF)
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Tue Aug 09, 2011 5:37 pm

Hi Chupaka,

I have sent you the supout.rif files for the affected Mikrotik RB800 routers.

Now that I can work-around the problem by removing the 0.0.0.0/0 network from OSPF, the remaining issue is that exporting OSPF interfaces is unable to finish (it freezes):

/routing ospf interface export

If you find anything meaningful, please let me know.
I just want to look at /rou ospf interface section - maybe supout generator won't hang on it =)
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:18 pm

huh... nothing useful for me - both 'ospf' and 'export' sections contain just one word: "failure:"

when I saw first supout, I thought it has broken flash (nand, or whatever they have), and clean reinstall with config import would help; but then I saw that second router has exactly the same symptoms %)

they even both have broken 'ppp' section - I thought it was some problem of my RIF file decoder, but online "Supout.rif reader" on MT site shows empty section... how old are those devices?
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
esmarques
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:59 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:33 pm

Well, both boxes have been bought a few weeks ago. Don't know for how long they have been in the reseller's stock though. :-)
huh... nothing useful for me - both 'ospf' and 'export' sections contain just one word: "failure:"

when I saw first supout, I thought it has broken flash (nand, or whatever they have), and clean reinstall with config import would help; but then I saw that second router has exactly the same symptoms %)

they even both have broken 'ppp' section - I thought it was some problem of my RIF file decoder, but online "Supout.rif reader" on MT site shows empty section... how old are those devices?
 
User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 8321
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Minsk, Belarus
Contact:

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:48 pm

you may try to send supout to support@, maybe they can help
Russian-speaking forum: https://forum.mikrotik.by/. Welcome!

For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.
 
User avatar
astounding
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:17 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:31 am

In running OSPF and RouterOS version 5.6 on RB411 boards and RB750GL boards, I keep repeatedly encountering command freezes, but usually only when OSPF is having a problem establishing a neighbor relationship on one or more interfaces. For example, /ip route print will hang if OSPF is in this semi-responsive state. And /router ospf export will hang. Oddly, even /log print froze on me when OSPF was struggling (and failing) to establish a neighbor relationship with a Cisco. Also /router ospf route print will hang.

It's as if accessing the kernel routing table was blocking, waiting for some other process to release a resource. (But that doesn't explain the /log print command freezing. That one is a real head scratcher.)

Once a CLI session hangs, I have to disconnect and reconnect. It has never recovered, no matter how log I give it, even if OSPF finally recovers and establishes a neighbor relationship.

I really wish I know how to consistently create or cause (reproduce) this problem. It's intermittent and inconsistent. (Not the freezing. Once OSPF is in a confused semi-responsive state, freezing WILL happen if I execute any of the CLI commands mentioned above.)

Aaron out.
 
User avatar
astounding
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 12:17 am

Re: Failure removing interface from OSPF (RB800 v5.5 and v5.

Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:44 pm

Nevermind on my most recent OSPF CLI-freeze issue. Turns out an intermediate bridge was dropping packets. At last my sessions are happy and my CLI is too.

Aaron out.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 73 guests