Community discussions

 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Routerboard as a modem

Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:50 am

My setup is working fine most of the time but I would like to make it easier if possible.

My setup:
- 3G USB modem connecting to RB411U (also DHCP server)
- UBNT radio connecting to Ethernet port on RB411U (radios set as transparent bridge)
- UBNT radio connecting to a LAN port on my home router (router configured in bridge mode)
- Wired and wireless device connect to home router

I would like my setup to be more of a traditional setup. The RB411U would act like the modem and connect to the WAN port of my home router. This router would also be the DHCP server.

Is this at all possible?
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:07 am

What do you mean by "modem"? In telco terms a modem is a device that modulates and demodulates analog signals to carry digital information. A dial up thing going over the PSTN. RouterBOARDs can't do that.

Would it be possible for you to make a network diagram of what you have now (devices, their links, their names, what they are, their IP addresses) and another one of where you'd like to be?

I think you just want to run WAN links into the 411 unit and use it as an upstream router of whatever your "home router" is. That is, of course, possible. What needs doing sort of depends on what exactly that "home router" is, though.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:15 am

Thanks for the reply Fewi.

By modem, I mean having the 411U plugged into the WAN port of my home router like say an ADSL modem would and not connect to a LAN port. By home router, I mean the router I have in my home.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:23 am

Right. It'd be a router. Not a modem.

How this will work depends on your home router, as I said. What is it? What manufacturer? Model? The biggest challenge is that many home routers insist on applying source NAT between their LAN and WAN ports. Then the 411 would have to NAT you again out to the Internet. That would result in double NAT, which is not only bad practice, but may also break some protocols (though stuff like email and web surfing will work).

If you want specific help with this project you're going to have to post a heck of a lot more details. Otherwise the best answer anyone can give you is "yup, generally speaking that'll work". Keep the 411 as it is apart from changing the IP address on its Ethernet interface, plug it into the WAN port of your home router, and either configure a DHCP server on the Ethernet interface as per http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/DHCP_Server, or just use static addresses between the two.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:30 am

My router is a Ubiquity PowerAP-N router.

Here is some info. Please let me know what else you would like.
[admin@Lamp Post] > /ip  pool print detail 
 0 name="dhcp_pool1" ranges=192.168.88.6-192.168.88.254


[admin@Lamp Post] >> /ip dhcp-server print detail   
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid 
 0   name="dhcp1" interface=ether1 lease-time=3d address-pool=dhcp_pool1 
     bootp-support=static authoritative=after-2sec-delay 

[admin@Lamp Post] >> /ip dhcp-server network print detail 
 0 address=192.168.88.0/24 gateway=192.168.88.1 
   dns-server=208.67.222.222,208.67.220.220


[admin@Lamp Post] >> /ip dns export 
# jan/02/1970 10:02:44 by RouterOS 5.2
# software id = V9I9-BAQY
#
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=no cache-max-ttl=1w cache-size=2048KiB \
    max-udp-packet-size=512 servers=208.67.222.222,208.67.222.220


[admin@Lamp Post] >> /ip address print detail 
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
 0   address=192.168.0.1/32 network=192.168.0.1 interface=ether1 
     actual-interface=ether1 

 1 D address=58.165.11.141/32 network=10.112.112.125 interface=BigPon
     actual-interface=BigPond


[admin@Lamp Post] >> /ip route print detail   
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, 
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme, 
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit 
 0 ADS  dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=10.112.112.125 
        gateway-status=10.112.112.125 reachable BigPond distance=1 scope=30 
        target-scope=10 

 1 ADC  dst-address=10.112.112.125/32 pref-src=58.165.11.141 gateway=BigPond 
        gateway-status=BigPond reachable distance=0 scope=10 

 2 ADC  dst-address=192.168.0.1/32 pref-src=192.168.0.1 gateway=ether1 
        gateway-status=ether1 reachable distance=0 scope=10


[admin@Lamp Post] >> /interface print 
Flags: D - dynamic, X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #     NAME                                            TYPE             MTU   
 0  R  ether1                                          ether            1500  
 1  R  BigPond


[admin@Lamp Post] >> /ip firewall export    
# jan/02/1970 10:04:59 by RouterOS 5.2
# software id = V9I9-BAQY
#
/ip firewall connection tracking
set enabled=yes generic-timeout=10m icmp-timeout=10s tcp-close-timeout=10s \
    tcp-close-wait-timeout=10s tcp-established-timeout=1d tcp-fin-wait-timeout
    10s tcp-last-ack-timeout=10s tcp-syn-received-timeout=5s \
    tcp-syn-sent-timeout=5s tcp-syncookie=no tcp-time-wait-timeout=10s \
    udp-stream-timeout=3m udp-timeout=10s
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat disabled=no out-interface=ether1
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat disabled=no out-interface=BigPond
/ip firewall service-port
set ftp disabled=no ports=21
set tftp disabled=no ports=69
set irc disabled=no ports=6667
set h323 disabled=no
set sip disabled=no ports=5060,5061
set pptp disabled=no
I can only get internet from my 3G provider. Their USB modem is plugged into my 411U USB port and I have not been able to find a 3G router that supports my modem. This then plugs into a LAN port of my router to share with my network. The 411U is the DHCP server currently.
I would like to PowerAP router as the DHCP server and have the 411U plugged into the WAN port of the PowerAP.

Again, let me know what else you would like to know.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:44 am

Remove this NAT rule:
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat disabled=no out-interface=ether1
Run this to remove all the existing config that is no longer needed and to configure a /30 on your ether1 interface, with a DHCP server.
/ip address
remove [find interface=ether1]
/ip dhcp-server network
remove [find]
/ip dhcp-server 
remove [find]
/ip pool 
remove [find]
/ip address
add interface=ether1 address=172.31.255.254/30
/ip pool
add name=dhcp-pool range=172.31.255.253
/ip dhcp-server 
add interface=ether1 address-pool=dhcp-pool disabled=no
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=172.31.255.252/30 dns-server=172.31.255.254 gateway=172.31.255.254
Then plug the WAN port of your PowerAP into ether1 of your 411, and configure your PowerAP however you'd need to in order to have it be a DHCP server for 192.168.1.0/24 and carry .1 on that network, and connect via its WAN port via DHCP. If you can - I have no experience with UBNT gear - turn off all NAT on the power AP and add the following command on your 411:
/ip route add dst-address=192.168.1.0/24 gateway=172.31.255.253
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:23 am

Thansk for the help Fewi.

I do not wish the 411 to be the DHCP server... Is this correct still?
address=172.31.255.252/30 dns-server=172.31.255.254 gateway=172.31.255.254
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:32 pm

I was assuming you'd want it to give a DHCP address to the WAN interface of the PowerAP, as is common with home routers. It isn't acting as a DHCP server to your home network, as you can clearly see the range on the DHCP server only covers one lease (for the PowerAP itself). If you don't want that remove the entire DHCP configuration and configure a static IP address and gateway on the PowerAP.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:50 am

Thanks for the help Fewi.

I tried what you posted but I don't have internet access then and WinBox cannot find the 411U.
I ran the Windows Network diagnostics and it said my network seemed to be fine but could not access the internet. When setting the 411U without the DHCP address, it says there are DNS issues.

Any idea what I'm missing?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24277
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:05 am

why do you need two routers? the mikrotik router can do all the things your other router does.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:20 am

Because my MikroTik router is 2 kilometres from my house where I can get 3G reception.
 
RogerWilco
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:02 am
Location: Australia

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:24 am

Anyone?
 
HermanK
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 8:05 pm

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:09 pm

I also need some help whith my setup:

I have a RB411u and a ZTE MF 190 modem connected via usb, the modem does connect but i dont know how to setup so that i can connet to the internet.
I am running a dhcp server and one wireless card and also using the lan cable.

Can any one help?


Many thanks.
 
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 254
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 9:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: Routerboard as a modem

Wed Nov 02, 2011 3:23 pm

i have the same settings i need hw to make the computers in my ether1 to access the internet using the usb modem.

thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 78 guests